User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

Scarbrough Hotel, Leeds

Bishopgate Street
Leeds
LS1 5DY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Very handy for the main railway station, and offers a good selection of local and national real ales to thirsty travellers from a total of 11 handpumps on various parts of the bar. Large, roughly 'L'-shaped bar with the sort of traditional furniture and decor you would expect to find in a Nicholsons. Some patio seating out front. A fine spot for a quick pint when quiet, but probably best avoided when really busy.

On 3rd June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Impressively facaded Nicholsons pub over the road from the station. The interior has many of the usual Nicholsons touches and regular visitors to their outlets will know what to expect – an abundance of wood and glasswork. Apparently was two rooms a few years back and it’s a shame this hasn’t survived as the current set-up is rather impersonal. There’s a theatrical element to the place due to its past history as a music hall venue. A good range of ales (usually 6+) alongside a cider and perry. Has been GBG-listed for the last few years and understandably so; my pint of Moor was in good shape. Due to its location there’s a very transient nature to the place and it gets rammed at peak times, not helped by a distinct lack of seating so I presume they are welcoming of the vertical custom. Serves food, with pies being a speciality; indeed there is a pie and pint blackboard tallywhacker which is a nice touch.

A worthwhile stop when quiet.

On 1st September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Large Nicholsons pub close to the station. This used to be one of my regular stopping off pubs in Leeds when I worked here and stayed at the nearby Marriott. It's all one large room now and was packed on Friday night at about 10:30. For some strange reason they had moved all the outside seating and tables into the pub and stacked them up even though the pub was open and full. This resticted access to the bar and several tables. What a strange thing to do. Efficient bar staff were working around this though and the main saving grace on this visit was a pint of Junction Brewhouse Porter which was in excellent nick. Not a pub for the faint hearted on a Friday night and it wasn't up to its usual standard. But I'll still call back as it's usually better than this.

On 29th June 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2939 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Large pub with a fine exterior just outside the main Leeds railway station. Eight pulls with a range of mainstream and micro brewery beers, Tetley Cask and Timothy Taylors Landlord apparently always on plus a changing range of guests. On my visit in August, they had the newly crowned Champion Beer of Britain, Rudgate Ruby Mild, and very good it was too. Standard sort of keg range, Carling, Strongbow, Guinness, Heinekin and Stella, although the signs and drinks menu suggested that was not the whole story. They are proud of their pies here and have a sign listing the number sold so far that week: 81 when I was there plus 2151 pints of beer sold. Big L shaped room with possibly an original bar counter front, the room is decorated in traditional pub style. Mixed group of punters ranging from some older couples to a large but well behaved group of lads starting their weekend a bit early.

Update September 2010
popped in for a quick one between trains last Saturday night, the place was rammed with a good mix of punters, and beer quality was well up to the mark for a GBG2011 listed pub. In spite of the crowds the service was prompt and efficient. There was a notice up saying it will be the only Leeds outlet for York's Junction Brewhouse starting from the 13th October.

On 28th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2462 recommendations about 2253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Scarborough Hotel

Ok hotel style bar near/below the station.

Good beer and worth a trip whilst waiting for trains.

On 11th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Scarborough Hotel

A well known Real Ale Pub near the station (leave by main exit, cross Road and down the steps). Tetley and 5 guests with anextensive food offering, check out the pies.
Well worth a visit and along with the Brewery Tap a good alternative whilst waiting for a train too the Spoons house on the station.

On 14th May 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Scarborough Hotel

Probably didn't see the Scarbrough at its best when I visited as there wern't many in and it was quite quiet. Also unfortunately I only had time available to stay for the one. Six hand pumps on the go and I resisted to see how well the London Pride had travelled from my home town and went for the Dale Side Old Leg Over instead, which was in excellent nick.

On 16th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1779 recommendations about 1721 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Very comfortable and friendly pub right outside the railway station.Four real ales on and those I had were perfect.Handy if you're waiting for a train.

On 6th October 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]

Page: 1 2