User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Is the Coronavirus affecting pub trade? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Scarbrough Hotel, Leeds

Bishopgate Street
Leeds
LS1 5DY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

I often call in here when changing trains at Leeds, or after a Leeds Rhinos game before catching my train back to Sheffield. The beer selection always includes either an old favourite (such as Black Sheep Bitter, Great Heck Dave or Rudgate Ruby Mild) or something I'm interested in trying. Beers are always in top condition, though a little more expensive than I would pay in Sheffield (around £3.90 to £4.20 a pint). Staff are efficient although often too busy for any more than just polite exchanges. There's a small drinking area on the pavement in front, but it's limited to as many people as there are seats - as I discovered when asked to move back inside a couple of years ago (very politely, it's got to be said). Probably the best Nicholsons pub that I've been to.

On 30th January 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2609 recommendations about 2462 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Closed 14-29th October 2019 for a refurbishment.

On 7th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Handy for the station. If you removed the Nicholsons clutter from the outside, it would show off its handsome, tiled exterior to the maximum.

Inside, its wooden panelling in a large, airy room with a long bar. A very Nicholsons corporate feel. Transient population, waiting for the trains.

Beer was excellent - good beer guide 2019 recommended and a very fine example of Black Sheep.

Visit Blogged at http://bit.ly/2GIt0cz

On 13th February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

A nice enough Nicholson's pub. It has a long, lengthways bar with 9 handpumps in the middle. Apart from the Nicholson's usuals it had a decent selection of beer. Black Wolf Florida Black stout was decent. The decor is wood panels. There did, however, seem to be limited seating as the pub is thin.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

This place started life as a manor house before converting to a pub in 1826. It takes its name from an early owner, Henry Scarbrough, although perhaps its best known proprietor was Fred Wood, owner of Leeds City Varieties theatre. Nowadays, the pub is run by the Nicholson's chain and it offers visitors to Leeds a good starting or finishing point for those passing through the train station which is just over the road. The glazed tile exterior is a real highlight and makes for an enticing prospect as you approach. You enter into a spacious, wide bar area, which has been remodelled in recent times, with the line of the previous servery still apparent on the floor. The present day servery is now compactly fitted along the back wall with ample space for vertical drinking opposite and some high table and stool seating under the front windows. On either side of the bar, the room offers sizeable seating areas. To the right there is a bare boarded space with a large display cabinet on the wall and an upturned barrel with stools around it acting as a focal point. The wall panelling here is particularly attractive and this extends into a rear segment of the room which has been carpeted and boasts a comfortable padded banquette as well as a collection of pictures and posters for the City Varieties. Boards here explain that the pub was often used to audition potential acts and it has been suggested that the local name for the pub, 'Taps' or 'Scarbrough Taps', derives from the days when tap dancers would audition in this room. To the left of the bar is a bright and spacious area with lots of standard seating and another banquette along the front wall. There is a display case full of champagne bottles and a small tiled fireplace at this end of the room. The whole pub is fitted with dark wood, most notably the panelling and the servery, and this is complimented by a decorative ceiling painted in similar shades.
The usual strong Nicholson's ale range was evident and options on my visit were Nicholson's Pale Ale and Porter, Great Yorkshire Yasigi, Andwell Krystall Weiss, Tetley's Cask, Hilden Twisted Hop and Great Heck American Classic. I opted for the latter, which I've enjoyed in the past, and I was not disappointed with the quality.
For visitors to the city, it is a bit of a no-brainer to incorporate this exceedingly handily located pub into your itinerary, as it ticks pretty much all of the boxes - good location, beer and interior. Thankfully, this is much more than your usual station-side pub and is far preferable to the offerings inside Leeds station.

On 16th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

The Scarborough Hotel is a short skip from Leeds Railway Station and is located adjacent to a busy road junction. The outside is attractive and there is some café seating, but the view into the road isn’t the best.
The interior consists of a long bar that faces the entrance and a mix of standard tables with chairs and high tables with stools line the front windows. To the left of the pub is a semi-partitioned seating area with some wine bottles and cabinets for decoration. There is also some seating to the right rear of the bar where a chalkboard informs readers that this pub used to be called the King’s Arms. There are no televisions in here and there was no background music playing on the recent Friday morning I visited.
The bar is stocked with a range of standard and premium draught products and I counted nine hand pumps. I cannot remember what I had, but it was perfectly quaffable. Food is served from opening at 9am until 10pm, which is an hour before closing. I decided to try the £6.95 full English breakfast and I have to say that it was one of the best I have ever eaten, superb!
I found the staff to be very friendly and I would recommend a visit. I was reliably informed by a local that this pub gets rammed on match days, so maybe one to avoid when Leeds are playing at home.

On 11th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

First visit back in the Scarbrough since it was taken over by Nicholsons and found it none the worse for that. Still the quality traditional interior from before and still a decent Ale range on offer, this time from the Nicholson Autumn range. And the two tried (Great Hecks Citra and Wolf Brewery Tasmanian Wolf, if I have interpreted my shorthand scribbles correctly ) were in good nick.
As others have mentioned this fine pub is ideally suited to start or end any tour of Leeds when arriving by train.

On 8th December 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

The quickest way to find this pub from the train station is to come out of the station, go across the road and down the subway - the pub is straight in front of you. This is a large comfortable Nicholson's pub. As BF mentions below, it is a good starting point for a crawl around the city. The service was good and our Hilden No. 4 was in good condition. One of the striking features about this pub is the fabulous exterior.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

A Nicholsons house,with a very fine exterior and convenient for the station as long as you discover the worm hole staircase down to street level near the station cab rank.The interior has a flag stoned floor in front of the bar with a section to the left decorated by wine bottles in cabinets while to the right are a series of leather bound banquettes.A tradtional look and feel.This was a good meeting place for the Leeds PuG crawl,and the 8 ale handpumps (plus one for cider) offered a decent selection,with many local brews .My Great Heck Citra was on top form.
Should be included on any crawl,a decent and comfortable starting or finishing point.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Scarbrough Hotel

Still one of the best pubs in Leeds city center always busy but the bar staff let it down by moaning about being busy

On 30th November 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]

Page: 1 2