User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Pack Horse, Leeds

Pack Horse Yard
Leeds
LS1 6AT
Phone: 01132424810

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Pack Horse

nothing special at all , but it did open its doors an hour earlier than the other alley pubs. food is being pushed at every opportunity and the alleyway stinks of it. not too bad a selection of ales but at premium prices. Maybe worth visiting, once.

On 21st September 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 837 recommendations about 812 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Pack Horse

The least attractive of the four pubs "hidden" in alleyways off Briggate, though to be fair it's a long time since I was in the Angel, so I can't be sure about that one. Any pub painted in a shade of battleship grey is never going to be attractive in my book, so I think I'm on fairly safe ground. Once inside, there's a deal of modernisation (which is not something anyone could accuse the other three of) but it's not unpleasantly done. The five hand pumps on the bar had a reasonable selection (see photo), of which I selected Doom Bar for some reason - may have been a new year's resolution to do with not letting prejudice get in the way of beer tasting. My notes fail to mention whether it was any good. There's a 10% discount for card carrying Camra members, but it's available only to those who visit the toilet before ordering their beer, as that's the only place where it is mentioned. Naturally, I failed to claim it, but now, readers of this review can skedaddle down to the Packhorse and claim their 10% discount without having to use the toilet first! Hurrah for Pubs Galore!

Date of visit: 8th February 2018

On 5th February 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2738 recommendations about 2578 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Pack Horse

A pleasant enough pub down an alleyway this is apparently the oldest pub in Leeds. Its been modernised but still retains a traditional pub feel. There are only 5 handpumps on the L-shaped bar and the beer selection was quite good. The pub has 3 levels consisting of a stone flagged bit, up a step to a chess board tiled middle bit where the bar is and an upper part depending on which entrance you use.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3434 recommendations about 3345 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Pack Horse

One of the 'famous four' alleyway pubs, but probably the one which retains the least original character. Semi-modernised interior, with seating areas in front of and at each end of the bar, but the dark-wood panelling in some parts of the layout does little to add interest. Also has some patio tables out in the yard. Eight handpumps, on this visit offering Saltaire Pride and Cascade Pale Ale, Hobgoblin, Brain's Bread of Heaven, Leeds Pale, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin, Theakston Paradise Ale and Orchard Pig Explorer cider.

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pack Horse

There were seven handpumps on our visit. We went for the Saltaire, which was ok and we sat over in a section with oak wood panelling. The pub was quite busy on our visit and the service was fine. The main entrance door was annoying me, as it was creaking with every open and close. A spray of WD40 wouldn't go amiss.

On 2nd December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Pack Horse

Another of the four alley pubs off Leeds's Briggate, not as narrow as the Ship or Whitelocks. Seven handpulls with regular UK and local micro beers as well as the usual band of kegs. You enter past an outside smoking / drinking area into a large square room. To one end is a panelled snug with tasteful pictures, to the other is a raised area with modern furniture in the Ikea identikit style, and a big screen. Any charm the pub may have had in the past has been lost through modernisation, for atmosphere Whitelocks or the Ship are far better. The beer quality is as ordinary as the pub, I fear the level of custom is not sufficent to support the seven pulls. The toilets are upstairs.

On 11th February 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Pack Horse

This pub is up a very narrow alley off Leeds main shopping street.
Once inside here the pub is quite narrow with a beamed ceiling and as you walk through the pub there are a few steps to go up.
There were only two beers on the bar i had a drink of Black Sheep bitter which was ok but nothing special the other beer was GK IPA.
I think there are better pubs nearby.

On 1st December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Pack Horse

One of the 4 alley pubs off Briggate and just to confuse things, one of 3 pubs in Leeds called the Pack Horse. For my money this is the least interesting of the alley pubs and, given the lack of any information concerning the pub on various web sites, it would appear that it is the least well known. Accessed via a narrow passageway bearing the pub’s name, there is a small courtyard with some cover at the front where the smokers congregate. The pub interior is a single room with a slight raised area towards the rear. There is little in the décor or the building itself (despite apparently dating back to 1615) that stands out other than a selection of musician portraits (Beatles, Cobain; Lennon) dotted about the walls. On our Friday evening visit the place was quite vibrant with a younger crowd but everything seemed good natured and I didn’t feel out of place or note anything that anyone would find intimidating. The ale selection was a bit standard for the area - Black Sheep Best, Greene King IPA and Landlord, the last of which was unavailable. On the whole it’s OK but not really a place that warrants a specific visit other than for completists doing the 3 other alley pubs - do this one first and the others will come across as far more interesting.

On 2nd March 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]