User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The New George, Leeds

2-4 Commercial Road
Kirkstall
Postal town: Leeds
LS5 3AQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The New George

Once through the very heavily sprung door, we got a good whiff of BO and passing wind from the nearby customers at the bar. The place was very busy on our Wednesday eve visit as their beers were on at £2 a pint. Four ales on handpump, Stancill Bitter Exit, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin, Sharps Sea Fury and one from Black Sheep. I went for the Stancill, which was very lively, so more head than beer, poured from a new trainee barmaid. Wastefully there were two large trays of meat sandwiches wrapped in clingfilm, slap bang in the middle of the bar counter, that no one seemed to be interested in and they were free. Might call again, when they install an extractor fan.

On 2nd May 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The New George

Called in this fine pub had two pints of kirkstall 3 swords in very good form will call again cheers

On 19th April 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The New George

A single room pub with two areas, a lower part with the counter and a seating area up a step from the main bar. Mainly a locals pub but with four pulls serving small brewery products, from across England, plus some of the national range of kegs. My first beer was rancid but it was changed without question and the pump clip reversed. Vaping is not discouraged here, and there was an electrically assisted bicycle in the bar for some reason. Located at a busy cross roads it has big clear windows and rugby league memorabilia decorating the bar. Decent enough to visit on the way to the Kirkstall Bridge Inn.

On 21st August 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The New George

I've classed this as a micro-pub, because it's got that feeling of improvisation in a space not really designed for pub use. It's previous incarnation as the Millrace appears to have been a restaurant rather than a pub, and this now definitely has the feel of a shop conversion. An eccentric old stone building in a small parade of shops by the Kirkstall lights, there's a sense of a work in progress about the half-finished décor. On the bar are four hand pumps, but I was unlucky that Elland Nettle Thrasher had just gone off, leaving just Ossett Silver King and Black Sheep Golden Sheep available, with another Ossett beer due to come on next. The Golden Sheep was a strangely weak-tasting beer, reminiscent of a lemonade shandy, a very poor sort of beer. I had a wander upstairs, where there are a couple of lounges, featuring exposed beams, and a toilet. This is not a pub I would make the effort to visit unless already in the area, in which case it would rude not to.

Date of visit: 23rd November 2015

On 13th January 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2431 recommendations about 2295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The New George

The former Millrace / Bar 24 has now reopened as The New George. Initially, there will be two hand pulled ales available, but it it is hoped this number will increase - presumably, if trade allows.

On 2nd October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 334 recommendations about 321 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Millrace

The Millrace is now closed and no longer a pub

On 1st November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2084 recommendations about 2047 pubs]