User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Grove Inn, Leeds

Back Row
Leeds
LS11 5PL
Phone: 01132441440

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Grove Inn

Excellent traditional local with good beer and close to the station. Still has nice separated rooms

On 8th October 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Grove Inn

Absolutely excellent back street boozer, selling a decent range of beers, all in top condition. I loved the stripped wood floors, basic seating and feisty pub dog that greeted us on entry.

I could have stopped here all day, but as 3rd pub in an 8 pub crawl, we had to move on, despite the inviting dart board.

On 17th January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Grove Inn

If you didn't know it was there, you could very easily walk right by the side street (Back Row) which somehow retains this great little pub in amongst the new office blocks. Very traditional, with a small bar, corridor servery and two side rooms. On this visit, I enjoyed some raucous, but very entertaining (and political) live music from a duo in the back room which I hadn't seen previously. Nine handpumps dispensing an excellent range of - mostly local - real ales (e.g. a great pint of Elland Nettle Thrasher). Overall, a 'must visit' for any beer / pub lover in Leeds.

On 15th April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Grove Inn

The Grove Inn is made up by several rooms that are accessed from a central corridor. To the right of the entrance are a small room with seating and another slightly larger room beyond. To the left of the entrance is the bar area where there is some more seating. The bar also serves the corridor which leads to the largest room in the pub which houses a piano and a stage area for regular live music events. There is a dartboard in the bar and there was some background music playing throughout the pub during my recent Friday lunchtime visit.
The bar is stocked with standard draught and I counted nine hand pumps. I cannot remember what I had to drink, but it was a decent pint and the service was very friendly. The pub was busy with local office workers when our large PuG crawl wandered in, but the staff took it all in their stride and served us all promptly.
Food is served during the week from midday until 14:00 and there is a quiz every other Sunday.

This pub has the feel of a proper local’s boozer and I would make sure of a revisit if I find myself in the area again.

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Grove Inn

Still cuts it as my favourite pub in Leeds and did not disappoint on a return visit, this time on a Lunchtime. I’m still amazed how this pub going throw back survives amongst the modern glass towers of the town centre regeneration and it was great to find it being well utilised on this lunchtime visit. Good range of beers on again and for the record Daleside Blond and Elland Brewery Beyond the Pale were tried and found in excellent nick. An excellent return visit justified a rating increase to a rare top score. I really cannot see how you could improve this place, except for moving it lock stock and barrel down to North London to be round the corner from my house.

On 8th December 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Grove Inn

Sorry Gill, had to upstage you there and rate this pub a 10. A back street gem, the service was impeccable, in spite of all the PG crawlers piling in at once. There was 7 very well kept ales on handpump, we went for the Great Newsome Frothingham Best and Daleside. This pub had a nice traditional feel about it. Could easily have stayed here all afternoon. Also serves food.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Grove Inn

Just loved this pub and enjoyed wandering round it's many rooms. A room at the back looks set for gigs, and it has a lot of character. The bar was busy at the front when we got there, and there was a great atmosphere giving positive vibes of a popular pub. Plenty of ales to choose from. Real ales were on the bar in the front room, and also in the corridor serving the other rooms. We chose an excellent Winter Warmer from Collingham brewery, and Wharfebank Aztec Orange. Worth the short walk from the station and deserves it's place in the 2014 Good Beer Guide.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1320 recommendations about 1204 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Grove Inn

This little gem is tucked away in amongst modern high-storey redevelopments of concrete and glass by the canalside. As mentioned elsewhere, thankfully the customers have adapted to the pub rather than vice-versa. Nine hand pumps are spread between the corridor serving hatch and the front bar, serving up a mix of micro and small regional brewery ales in very good condition at sensible prices, alongside a real cider (Old Rosie). The interior has been well-documented elsewhere by better scribes than I, so I’ll reel of the list of highlights: unspoilt multi-roomed interior, tiled corridor with servery, low ceilings, snugs, wood burning stove, etching and stained glass, large concert room to the rear used regularly for live music (folk a speciality). The clientele are an eclectic mix in this down-to-earth boozer and you’ll easily strike up conversation with a local or member of staff. A couple of downsides: it needs a little TLC in places and also (a personal thing) the amount of brown – even the radiators dammit – is a bit oppressive. That aside, this is a cracking pub and should be a default visit.

On 28th August 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Grove Inn

A classic example of a central corridor pub with mosaic tiled flooring ,the interior is worthy of close inspection and I won't repeat previous excellent reviews.Music plays an important part in the life of this pub,and although the musak volume can be loudish in the public bar,the eclectic choice of songs is very well thought out.Live music ,sometimes with a door charge,is advertised and can be accomodated in the back room which has a tiny two person stage in the rear corner.The ale choice and quality was among the best I have witnessed on my travels,and together with the traditional interior and friendly,knowledgeable service makes this fully deserving of top marks.Close to the L&L canal,for my money an absolute must visit in this fine City.

On 16th June 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Grove Inn

The Grove has been well written up already so I won't repeat the descriptions.
It's a delightful, traditional and very friendly town pub run by extremely knowledgable and welcoming bar staff who are happy to chat about the ale they serve and the breweries which brew that ale. Invaluable if you're new to the area and want an idea as to which beers to look out for.
There are 3 regular ales: Moorhouse Black Cat and Pride o' Pendle and Daleside Blonde which was refreshing and well kept. Guests were: Ridgeside Southern Cross and Last Horizon, Kirkstall Black Band, Leeds Gathering Storm and Ilkley Mary Jane. A fine selection of local ales across a variety of strengths and styles. The Southern Cross was an outstanding IPA, recommended by the governor from a brewery previously unknown to me, and is easily my beer of the year. No choice but to award full marks.

On 16th June 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]

Page: 1 2