User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Fox & Newt, Leeds

9 Burley Street
Leeds
LS3 1LD
Phone: 01132454527

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Fox & Newt

Just outside the city centre, the former Rutland Hotel is the home of the Burley Street Brewhouse, which is situated in the cellar. At the time of my visit there were two of their own beers and two guests (see photos). I went for the Brickyard Bitter, which was disappointingly stale - not undrinkable, just not vibrant or enticing.

The bar is to the left on entering, with seating in front and also in a raised area by the right hand window. I was expecting a bigger pub, somehow: it felt almost cramped. I'll give this one another go next time I'm in Leeds - it's almost on the way to the rugby league at Headingley - and hope to find the beer in better nick.

Date of visit: 8th March 2018

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Fox & Newt

Another little brew pub that is well worth the walk out of the city centre. Three locally brewed beers on the bar, two of them from the pub itself, named after motor racing circuits. I opted for Brickyard as a golden beer over the paler Laguna Seca.

Nice chatty staff, clean toilets, not to busy around 5pm on a Saturday.

On 17th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Fox & Newt

A relatively short walk to the west of the city centre, the Fox and Newt is a warm and welcoming brewpub, housing the Burley Street Brewery in its cellars. The pub is a fairly straightforward affair with the main bar in the mid section, opposite the front door. The servery runs along the back wall with a stained glass canopy and a brewery sign on the bar back designed to look like a road name sign. There are a couple of tables with low stools opposite the bar, but the room opens out a lot to the left where more comfortable seating options, mostly tub chairs, can be found. There was also a large projector screen at this end, a juke box and a TV screen which was showing rolling news on my late Saturday evening visit. A few reproduction adverts for various drinks are dotted around the walls and the beams have been decorated with a fine collection of pump clips, carefully ordered by brewery. The right hand side of the pub is raised and has more comfy seating focussed around an attractive fireplace. A large board details the pub's bottled beer options and I noticed boards elsewhere listing food which included 'exotic' burgers using unusual meats such as crocodile, llama, springbok and kangaroo. Another seating area can be found upstairs in a room that seems to have a separate performance area, perhaps used for the live music I noticed promoted throughout the pub. A decent indie soundtrack was playing at quite a loud volume throughout my stay, but it wasn't loud enough to prevent conversation with the friendly locals.
There were three Burley Street beers on handpull - The Brickyard, Laguna Seca and Spa Francorchamps - supported by Acorn Golden Embers and Fox Glove Slightly Foxed, with Hop Studio Porter not quite ready to come on. One real cider was also available. I gave the Laguna Seca a try, which I enjoyed very much and was also able to squeeze in a pint of the Spa Francorchamps before time was called, which turned out to be even better. The staff were a friendly bunch, considering the late hour, and didn't rush us out as we polished off the last of our drinks.
This is a great pub that really should be included on any crawl around Leeds. It's position outside the ring road makes it seem a bit isolated, but it's only a five or so minute walk from the likes of Veritas, so is easily incorporated into a walking tour of the city. Thoroughly recommended and a fitting end to a day filled with excellent pub visits.

On 15th January 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fox & Newt

I was very impressed with the Burley Street beers, which are brewed underneath the pub. They had a choice of three beers on our visit and one was just as good as the other. The beers on the day were called Brickyard bitter, Laguna Seca and SPA Francorchamps. Their own beers were £2.25 a pint. There was 8 handpumps in total, one of which was a cider. The girls behind the bar were very friendly and chatty. We also tried the food, which was excellent and good value. Would defo return here for the beer and the food.

On 24th November 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Fox & Newt

Relatively basic pub, located some distance west of the city centre, but home to the Burley Street Brewery. Three of its own brews available on handpump, together with guests including Hop Studio Porter (£3.30) and a cider. Only had time for a flying visit, but will make the effort to return.

On 19th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Fox & Newt

A student-oriented pub just outside the City’s ring-road. Do not despair though, as it is also home to the Burley Street brewery and three of their beers are available from the bar alongside some other Northern breweries – six in total on my visit (over eight pumps), reasonably priced too. I tried two of the home brews and found them to be fairly good and in decent shape; there were also beers from Moorhouse and Roosters available. Service was friendly and the heavily-tattooed barmaid was certainly a good ambassador for the pub. The interior is a fairly unremarkable open-plan affair, though the small red-painted raised area to the right with a pretty fireplace, nice dado and modern leather banquettes is worthy of note, as are the stained glass panels above the bar. A range of burgers are served. A tidy place and worth the extra few minutes’ walk to sample.

On 28th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Spinko Spinko left this review about Fox & Newt

In the time since Old Boots reviewed this venue, things have improved immeasurably (not that there was a bad review given). The beer has been spot on. Their Burley Street Brewhouse is pumping out some excellent beers and I truly recommend the Laguna Seca, which is only available here. Food is very good too. I would suggest coming here for a few pints as the beer is good and contribute to a pub which is on the edge of town staying open.

On 13th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 38 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Fox & Newt

A long thin bar running parallel to the road outside with the barcounter against the back wall in the centre, this holds 7 hand pulls serving three beers from the on-site brewery “Burley Street” plus a couple from Hambleton and Daleside. I was saddened to see “Coming Soon” labels on two of the pumps. Tongue and groove in slate grey runs round from bar counter to the left hand area, at the right is a more pub like raised area in red and white with benches and tables, a nice repro fireplace and cast iron balusters. The main room is more bar than pub and has a mix of low slung furniture and more normal height tables and chairs, there is a big screen and a bigger pull down screen. It's all bareboard floors. The staff are fine and the beer is OK if you like their recipe, I don't but that's me. The default glass offered is a handle/dimple mug and short measures seem endemic but the prices are reasonable so it would be churlish to complain too much. A comedy night and an Open Mic night are advertised, presumably taking place in the room upstairs. It's opposite Park Lane College and the customers reflect that being largely under 30.

On 27th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]