User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Beer House, Leeds

City Station
Leeds
LS1 4DT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The White Rose

It is what it is, a train station concourse pub. There are only 3 handpumps on the bar and they aren't great but to me its more of a traditonal pub than the Wethers nearby. A single room. Not great but its ok.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The White Rose

I have passed this station bar loads of times but never bothered going in,so i finally did the bar after getting of the train from ILkley.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar on the left side,the room is carpeted,the seating mainly normal tables and chairs,plus a few pew seats to the front.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of GK IPA which was decent enough,the other beer was Old Speckled Hen.
The pub was packed on my late Saturday afternoon /Saturday evening visit.
Background music was playing.
OK for a quick half,but no longer than that.

Pub visited 7/11/2015

On 7th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The White Rose

I grabbed a quick half in the White Rose as I had 15 minutes to spare before my train. This is a very basic bar with a standard draught selection alongside Pedigree, Old Speckled Hen and Greene King IPA. I found the service to be excruciatingly slow which gave me time to stare at the monitor displaying the train departure times.

This place is handy for the station, but if there is time to drink elsewhere I would.

On 11th December 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The White Rose

Popped in here as did not have time to fight for service in spoons.
3 Real Ales available but on the pricey side ( 2 pints on offer for £6.50)
Clean for a busy place a service was good. Appears to have a food offering but not sure what.
OK to visit for a flyer but not some where to have a session.

On 23rd March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The White Rose

Busy bar on station concourse. I may have been lucky, but had no problems with the beer despite earlier reviews. General feel not bad for a station bar - perhaps they are improving. Not somewhere to spend the evening, but perfectly adequate for a quick pint. Draught beers were GK IPA, Speckled Hen and Pedigree.

On 14th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The White Rose

went to this pub last sat and did`ent even get to try a pint and i asked how much are your real ales to be told green king £ 3.65 apint what a rip off the bar maid was rather abrupt and said if you don`t like go else ware and i did

On 22nd May 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Rose

Pretty bad, even by the low standards of most station pubs run by Select Service Partner. Functional furniture and decor. Three real ales on handpump - GK IPA, Old Speckled Hen and Boddingtons (badly overpriced at £3.40, and hardly value at £2.72 even with the 20% BITE card discount given its poor condition). Best avoided.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The White Rose

Because i struggled to get served at the Wetherspoons thought i would give this a try.I dubiously I Sampled a pint of Davenports Birmingham famous Bitter which was just about drinkable.Should have read the comments from Old Boots.

On 1st July 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The White Rose

Underwhelming station buffet with appallingly bad beer. A choice of Davenports, mine was vinegar, or Stones on two out of the three handpumps plus Stella, Coors, Worthington, Carling etc on keg. Blandly decorated with mirrors, a big screen TV and a useful train announcer screen. Usual sort of furnishing and menu for this sort of place, staff rather abrupt and with an ever changing range of the travelling public as customers. There are much better places not far away.

On 24th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]