User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Wheatsheaf, St Johns, Worcester

Henwick Road
Worcester
WR2 5PF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Pleased to revisit this one again. There seems to have been some extra upgrading work inside, with hockey ephemera on display and rather unique French atlas wallpaper in the raised area which also has a dart board. Four ales, two from St Georges (my Charger was good), Marstons Bitter and Woods Shropshire Lass. Selection of rolls by the bar, excellent to see. A sign in the garden referencing the Wheatsheaf Beast was presumably alluding to the pub cat. A friendly little place well-worth the walk up the hill to take in if you’re feeling fit.

June 2011
Attractive exterior which looked to have just been painted, enticing us in. Four Marstons list ales available plus a local brew from St Georges, Keep Calm as well as a real cider (Westons). All the beers sampled went down well. Nice views over the Severn towards the city from the rear bay window to be had, as well as from the astroturfed patio to the rear (down a few steps). The interior in partially divided down the middle by a wall. Two raised areas and music TV (apparently this place is leaned towards the nearby students during term time). The young chap behind the bar was a good host and made us feel at home. Pies were available which I was almost tempted by but time was pressing. I liked it here and would make a point of returning. Rated 7

On 1st April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Wheatsheaf

A good traditional pub with a friendly and helpful barmaid and friendly locals and a ship's cat named Chaos. As Just a Quick Pint mentions, there are some fine views here across the river. Beer wise, I went for the St George's Charger, which was excellent.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Modest but well-presented façade, just inviting you to go in a give the place a try. Smallish bar area, with most of the seating in a partially opened out room to one side, but the extra tables at the back benefit from a fine view across the River Severn to Worcester racecourse and beyond. Also has a small rear terrace. Six of seven handpumps were in operation, including two beers from St George's - Bitter (on special offer at £2.45) and Charger, Marston's Bitter and Woods Shropshire Lass. Selection of basic rolls in a small chilled display cabinet near the entrance. Despite getting thoroughly soaked walking out from the city centre, it proved to be well worth the effort.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jonathan clarke left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Visited this pub yesterday and had a lovely experience. Traditional, yet newly re-decorated, clean and cosey. 6 Real Ales 2 x Marstons, 2 x Teme Valley and 2 x St, Georges availabe. I drank the St. Georges Friar Tuck which was supurb, but observing everyone elses drinks all the beers looked clear and bright with excellent heads. The Landlord came over to ask if we were enjoying ourselves which was a nice friendly touch. I will be using this pub again for sure - Shame it was such a warm day and the log fire wasnt lit! So nice to see a thriving, pub in these diffucult times - highly reccommended.

On 15th April 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Small neat looking terraced pub , the pub is basically one room partially divided by a wall , the bar is to the left and a small extension to the far end with a wooden ceiling decorated with some fishing memorabilia , this is the pubs highlight the pub backs on to the Severn valley and from here you can look down on to the river and the great views of the city over to the Cathederal , there is a small outside patio covered in astroturf . Five ales on 3 from Marstons plus Bankss Mild and St Georges Keep Calm i had the St Georges and a Mild both pretty good , the young Landlord was very friendly and helpfull . Its well worth a visit if your in this part of town

On 6th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf is a smallish pub that i really liked the look of,the pub is a bit of an uphill walk from the middle of st johns but i thought it was well worth it as there are good views over the river towards the city.
Once inside there was one room that had a cosy feel to it and it is the sort of room i could stay in all day drinking,the pub is a Marstons tied house and there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Marstons Pedigree and this was a very nice drink the other beers were Marstons bitter and Banks's mild.
This was a really nice pub.

Pub visited 30/12/2000

On 30th December 2000 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]