User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The Imperial Tavern, Worcester

35 St Nicholas Street
Worcester
WR1 1UW

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Imperial Tavern

A friendly barmaid welcomed us to this traditional boozer, our penultimate Worcester stop on the final stretch to Shrub Hill station.

It's a Black Country Ales pub, with various boards around listing the excellent choice of ales and ciders. Although, I'm not convinced that the boards were completely up to date. The selection I could see was Black Country BFG, Fireside & Pig On The Wall, Sharp's Atlantic, Oakham Inferno, Titanic Plum Porter, Coach House Blueberry, Gloucester Gold & Bosun's King Neptune. Ciders were Gwynt y Ddraig Black Dragon, Happy Daze & Farmers Pride, Lilley's Mango Cider & Tropical Cider, Abrahall's Ruby Tuesday & Thistly Cross Whisky Cask.

A decent place that I wouldn't have minded staying longer in. But we had one more pub to do and a train to catch. Maybe next time, we'll start here....

On 6th September 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 235 recommendations about 235 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Imperial Tavern

Really fine old city-centre pub, given a new lease of life by Black Country Ales. Four different seating areas wrapping around the central servery: the main bar at the front, a smaller side section with an alcove opposite, a live music performance area - in entertaining open-mic use when I visited - on the far corner and a lounge at the back. Excellent selection of ten real ales - including a rare Worthington's White Shield in cask form (£3.60) amongst the six guests, plus four of the brewery's own beers - on the various handpumps plus nine boxed ciders.

On 23rd February 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Delboy 20 left this review about The Imperial Tavern

Traditional pub not far from the train station. It seemed a bit quiet on my Friday afternoon visit with only 3 other customers in. The usual 3 house beers plus another 7 guests. I went for Saved By The Bell from Bespoke brewing which was fine. A lot of old photos of Worcester pubs on the walls. A decent pub.

On 30th November 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1069 recommendations about 1027 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Imperial Tavern

This Black Country Ales pub consists of a long carpeted room in the shape of an unused staple. It's in a central location near Foregate Street station but was quiet on my Thursday afternoon visit but the whole city centre seemed fairly dead.
The ten hand pumps had the three regular BCA beers plus their seasonal English Summer. Sadly the other guests were all golden ales at around the 4% abv mark. There were numerous boxes of cider stacked behind the bar but being served in that way they would have been far too warm.
I went for the Wye Valley Butty Bach (£3.60) which was only OK.
Overall I found this one disappointing especially as it's in a city centre.

On 21st June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Imperial Tavern

A BCA place, fairly new on the Worcester beer scene having previously experienced a number of lives as low-grade dives. Staple shaped interior with a quite cosy, tidy and traditional feel inside (wallpaper and carpeting); what you’d expect from BCA though we noticed there was not a massive amount of seating despite the pub’s size. The usual large ale line-up you anticipate in BCA outlets, though the quality of my two choices - Halton Turner Hornblower and Enfield London Porter – were solid rather than spectacular (2x NBSS 3). Cobs available, which always gets a mark from me. It’s a solid addition to the city centre.

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Imperial Tavern

Called in as this was one of the 12 bars hosting a pub beer festival in Worcester. Friendly Black Country Ales pub with a good selection of cask ales, 3 from their own brewery and a selection of guests which included Halton Turner Hornblower, Enfeld London Porter, Wye Valley Butty Bach and HPA, Milestone Azacca Gold. The Halton Turner and Enfeld beers were fine. Customers are allowed to smoke their e-cigs in here and the cloud of smoke from the one we saw was a little off putting though.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Imperial Tavern

Typical Black Country Pub establishment - a proper looking boozer - gentle music in the background - their own stock of beers and a massively eclectic range of guest ales - 90% that I am unlikely to have heard of, or ever see again should I like them.

Exmoor Dark taken on this visit - a brewery I know well. Good condition.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2hq9lPM

On 13th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Imperial Tavern

Black Country Ales have done an excellent job on refurbishing this pub as you'd expect from them. The interior is traditional with wallpapered walls, carpeted throughout and polished timber work finished in a dark mahogany colour. The bar counter was low and unimposing, which hosted a range of ten ales on handpump. Three from BCA'S and seven guests. We went for the Country Life Brewery Shore Break, which was a great session ale. We also tried Downton German Pale Ale and Celt Experience Brewery Silures.
The pub had a good atmosphere, with like minded alers.

On 14th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Metro Bar

now owned by Black Country Ales

On 25th June 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2700 recommendations about 2644 pubs]