User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Swan with Two Nicks, Worcester

28 New Street
Worcester
WR1 2DP
Phone: 0190528190

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Swan with Two Nicks

It's been almost 30 years since I last visited here. But I returned for opening at midday yesterday.

Similar to the King Charles II nextdoor, the building and the interior was old. But it did not quite have the same charm as its neighbour.

Just the 2 real ales were on - Wood's Shropshire Lad & Swan Blonde. Once again, there was no real cider apparent. One of the poorer places we tried in the city yesterday.

On 6th September 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 378 recommendations about 378 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Swan with Two Nicks

A quick revisit. Four ales on from Prescott, Wickwar, Cottage and Hop Market. Was hoovering up outlets by this point so didn't make any more observations beyond the place looking pretty much the same as it did back in 2011. The Wickwar went down without fuss, so it must have been drinkable enough!

June 2011
A warren of an interior with a number of different themed areas leading off what looks like an ancient side corridor. The front bar is small, compact and olde worlde with low ceilings and wooden beams. There’s then a room with seating further back that looks more like something from an American diner in the 1950’s whilst the upstairs is some sort of weird 70’s/80’s retro bar (not open on our visit but we went in anyway). An outside terrace is located up some steps. After a foray we settled in the traditional pubby area and took note of the pump clips on the beams, impressive leaded windows and American car number plates. Four ales available and a good selection – Little Ale Cart, Wye Valley, Beowulf, Doom Bar and ours were in decent shape. AC/DC was the choice of music on the jukey, so not bad, if a little loud for Saturday afternoon. This one seems to divide opinion but I quite liked it and it’s definitely worth putting on the crawl list. Rated 7

On 3rd April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Swan With Two Nicks

The only part of this pub I liked was the rear patio. There was a young barman, who seemed to be running the whole pub single handed. The Bathams bitter was awful, flat and tasteless.

On 22nd September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Swan With Two Nicks

A terraced Georgian buliding (originally older) with a rear patio area/ The building is in white brick with green paintwork around the sash windows and pedimented door. Of three storeys, two of the windows are now blind.

The interior has several areas. There is a traditional kind of bar area at the front of the pub. This is in white artex and beam walls and ceiling, with a wood floor. Lots of pump clips and beer mats cover the beams and there is an eclectic mix of bench, stool, comfy and settle seating. A few mirrors and other pictures are therer too. Moving further back there is, as more than respected Quinno says, a sort of American diner section, with white booth seating in a cream and brick environment. A few arty pictures are on the walls. Through a passageway, the place opens up with another bar and a stage area opposite, where the live music takes place. Upstairs there is the Lunar Bar. This was closed at my visit, as it is a vodka and cocktail nightclub - it is decorated in a 1970s futuristic look - it just needs HAL singing 'Daisy, Daisy' for that 2001: A Space Odyssey experience. There is a TV, but this wasn't on at my visit and the background music was general and at a decent level. The service was very friendly (samples offered) and there were just a few people in, well, in the patio area.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Hobson's Bitter, St George's Dragon's Blood, Slater's Queen Bee and Warwickshire Beer Co's Churchyard Bob - all were decent

I enjoyed my stop off here, a good beer choice and quality. I think, part of the reason was that i visited early, when there was nobody in - i can imagine later it could be a little more busy. I would visit again, but at a quiet time.

On 21st June 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Swan With Two Nicks

15th September 2011
I thought I’d give this place another go as several trusted reviewers say it’s ok, well only one word for it “dreadful” as in dreadful service and dreadful beer quality, never again.

25th June 2010
Low half timbered building with a multitude of roomlets and spaces which appear to have been opened out over many years. Old pine settles, a mix of dining chairs, and benches at all sorts of tables, décor is of the beermat/pump clip school with a Whitbread pub sign top piece mounted on a podium. There is a big TV in one space. A mix of customers but not many under 30, they may have been in the club next door which looks part of the same business. Four pumps with one national and three locals being dispensed plus all the usual kegs. Doesn't appear to have any toilets.

On 15th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Swan With Two Nicks

A pub of many parts , the front bar is a traditional low beamed place , lots of pump clips decorate the bar and beams some American style number plates are on the underside of the stairs which lead up to the toilets and a 1970s style bar , with a small chrome bar and lots of white furniture , back downstairs there is an entertainment area towards the back of the pub with its own bar area , there used to be an outside patio leading to steps onto the roof patio but it was raining on my visit so did not venture that far , four handpulls in the main bar , i had Wye Valley Ginger Pride which was very good . I liked it in here well worth a visit if in town

On 7th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Swan With Two Nicks

I paid £2.50! But that seems a fair price for a pint these days. Can't remember the beers on offer (there were 4 of them). The main part of the pub comprises 3 areas off a side corridor leading to the larger venue at the back. Obviously popular for lunch, but seemed pretty quiet on my visit.

On 18th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 291 recommendations about 281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Swan With Two Necks

This pub is three for the price of one. The main bar area is the Swan, the back bar is a venue called Drummonds and upstairs is a 70’s bar called the Lunar Lounge. The pub is a low ceiling and flag floors sort of place with lots of Whitbread and Flowers memorabilia around. There are 4 handpumps on the bar serving Boddingtons Cask plus 3 changing guests all at an amazing £1.59 a pint and no it’s not a JDW. Called in for a couple on both of our nights in Worcester and the beer was always spot on. The real ale is served in the main pub part only though. Mind you a 70’s theme bar should be selling keg Red Barrel and Gauntlet etc anyway. It’s a good pub.

On 9th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about Swan With Two Necks

A characterful old pub well worth a visit. Nooks and crannies over two levels. Interesting ales and food available.Not recommended for wheelchairs.This is a popular and it can get very busy even during the day.

On 27th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]