User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 18th October 2020) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Paul Pry, Worcester

6 The Butts
Worcester
WR1 3PA
Phone: 01905729290

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Paul Pry

Two room establishment just out of the city centre, that we added to our itinerary after failing to get the other side of the river, as planned.

The two rooms are both reasonably large and were busy on our early Saturday evening visit.

I don't recall too much. But I do remember a fairly ornate interior, with some nice tilework.

3 ales were on - Paul Pry Pale Ale (no idea of the brewer), Hobson's Town Crier & Swan Gold.

On 6th September 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 337 recommendations about 337 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Paul Pry

Has continued to have a turbulent existence, with various people trying and failing to make a go of it. The latest lot are having a good stab and were running a tidy pub which had a decent number of customers in on Saturday night (but not as many as it really needs, I suspect). The wonderful front bar remains, but this time we sat in the newly decorated rear room which has been done really well and complements the overall feel of the pub, with a restrained ‘modern Edwardian’ feel - green and white paint, a feature fireplace, moulded ceiling, some old oil painting portraits and a hammond organ. Forgot to note the ale line-up, my notes simply say ‘Pershore, NBSS 3’ so I’ll leave it there. Hope it keeps going.

April 2014
A CAMRA listed heritage pub that has had a chequered recent history but is now re-opened and appears to be going in the right direction. Two rooms, accessed via a lovely tiled lobby area. The front room is the star, triangular in shape with a beautiful solid wood bar and mirrored back, carpeted and with green fabric banquette seating. Light and airy in here with the large etched windows catching much of the early afternoon sunshine. There’s an old fireplace though it didn't look to be in use and may well have been coal effect, which is a shame. There was a private function in the rear room, so didn’t get a proper look-round though from what I could see it was nicely kitted out though less opulent. Talking of opulent, the tiling in gents fits that description. Four pumps featuring ales from Ludlow, Gloucester and Little Ale Cart breweries, plus a proper cider (from an independent producer I forgot to note). My half was cheap at £1.35 and came out well. Selection of daily papers were available. All-in-all this was a really good stop and is near the top of my list for revisit next time. Rated 8

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Paul Pry

Called in on Saturday as this bar was one of the 12 hosting a pub beer festival. Swan Black Swan, Dark Star Pale Ale, Holdens Golden Glow and Teme Valley Paul Pry on offer. We enjoyed the Swan beer.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Paul Pry

Nice wedge shaped pub of heritage status including a stunningly tiled entrance corridor. Two rooms, the left hand room appears to be for dining or functions, on the right is the drinking bar featuring an ornate dark wood back bar. on the bar itself are four handpumps, featuring on my visit Salopian Dr Picc, Animal London Porter, and Paul Pry(house Beer), brewed by Teme Valley plus Lilly The Pink Cider on the fourth handle. The former beer was drinkable but not in the best condition. Lackluster beer aside a very nice pub.

On 6th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Paul Pry

Now owned by Popes Brewery , beers are to be brewed on site .

On 2nd June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Paul Pry

Attractive wedge-shaped pub, with some notable tiling in the entrance hallway. Well-presented traditional bar to the right and another room to the left (not visited due to use by a private function). Four handpumps, with beers including Gloucester Dockyard Dark (£1.55 for a half). Only a flying visit this time, but well worth a longer stop next time.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Paul Pry

A very fine angled corner pub with beautiful glazed tiling and mosaic tiling in the central corridor,and etched glass windows.Turn right into the carpeted bar room ,with windows on all sides giving lots of natural light.The bench seating around the walls was well upholstered,I was just surprised to see a coal affect gas fire rather than the real thing.This area has the four handpumps which were drawing three ales on my visit Ludlow Stairway,Dockside Dark and Little Ale Cart Rio Grande,my pint of the crawl.Rightly in the 2014 GBG,I also noticed Titanic Stout on keg and real ciders and perry advertised for sale. Free papers and dog friendly,a very comfortable place to drink. The larger rear room was hosting a function but after this broke up it was possible to see that this is a less impressive space,but comfortable none the less.
I was impressed and felt it should always be on the list for a revisit,good service and a listed interior add to the attraction.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2079 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Paul Pry

Lovely friendly pub with 2 rooms either side of the corridor which I agree was worth going to have a look at. We chose Popes Brewing Co Victorian Chestnut Ale, McMullen Country Bitter and Little Ale Cart Golden Retriever, and the Popes was my beer of the day.

On 8th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Paul Pry

A fine entry on Camra's National Inventory of Historical Pub Interiors. The bar is situated on the right as you enter the pub, which was busy on our visit. There were four handpumps in use, so we went for the Teme Valley Brewery Hop Nouvelle and the Little Ale Cart Lord Nelson. Impressive glazed wall tiling and mosaic flooring in the main lobby.

On 19th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Paul Pry

After a long wait I finally visited this pub. As you enter this Edwardian style pub you will notice the period tiled corridor in front of you and to the left a private dining room decorated in a modern , light oak, style. A right turn leads you to the pleasant bar with original bar,fire place and etched windows. As Quinno commented there is no real ale. John Smiths,Carling and Guinness being on tap together with a selection of Polish bottled beers. A large traditional menu is complemented by a specials board of Polish dishes. The English Breakfast looked quite impressive.
The landlord from Poland was very friendly and welcomed my request to take photos.I wish him all the best.

On 31st August 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]

Page: 1 2