User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

Eagle Vaults, Worcester Central, Worcester

2 Friar Street
Worcester
WR1 2LZ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Eagle Vaults

Superb outside only a little let down by the interior, much along the lines of it could be worse and they haven’t hacked it about too much. 6 pulls of mostly Banks’s plus one cider, beer quality a bit ordinary. Older clientele for a Friday night kareoke session.

On 30th July 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about Eagle Vaults

My Worcester based chum has a massive soft spot for this one, so in we sloped. There has been some investment here. Some of it good (my Banks Mild was actually clean and enjoyable - NBSS 3.5 – and served in brand new glassware, maybe they read my last review?). Some of it bad – the statue of the eagle has gone and some ill-advised grey goo paintwork has been splooted around the front bar. I guess we’ve hit a 6 and I guess I’ll be here again before 2020’s out...

December 2017
Having forgotten that I did this one last time in Worcester (and being none-too-enamoured about it) I allowed myself to be talked back in by a companion. There seems to have been a change of licensee here three or so years back, which explains why my companion talked it up. There seems to have been a bit of tidying-up and the rear section with multiple large curved banquettes, old wood panelling, fireplace and push bells was a decent place to sit, even if the seat covers were wearing rather thin. Four ales on from the Marstons stable; Ringwood 49er, Banks Sunbeam, Banks Bitter and Hobgoblin. The Banks Bitter was cold but ok 2.5, the Sunbeam was a bit naff, not helped by the battered half pint glass it was served in, the old crown stamp replete with a million pits and scratches from 5000 cycles in the dishwasher. It was definitely a more positive experience in here this time, but the beer quality means it’s a ‘quick stop for the interior’ place. 5.5

April 2014
Beautiful tiled exterior (M&B) with some nice etched glasswork. Of the two rooms inside, the (almost deserted) left hand lounge-type area retains what I assume to be some period features though the scruffy bare boards detract. The right hand room is fairly sparse décor-wise. The clientèle base seemed pretty basic (a real Chavalance on my Saturday afternoon call) and I felt quite uncomfortable being in there amongst the shouting, grunting and swearing. There were, at least, a couple of Marstons list ales though my Banks Bitter wasn’t up to much. In its current state, I certainly wouldn’t entertain a revisit. Rated 4

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


moby duck left this review about Eagle Vaults

Wonderful looking pub on the exterior, inside is an opened out extended room which is fairly basic in its layout. The beer selection was also a little on the basic side of things from the Marstons stable with Banks Sunbeam and Amber Bitter, Ringwood Boondoggle,Eagle IPA backed up with Old Rosie Cider, the Sunbeam was drinkable but decidedly average. A pub to be seen but one not to linger in too long.

On 14th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Eagle Vaults

The exterior M&B tiling is certainly the main point of note here, although there is also some interesting features inside too. Three real ales available, but just had time for a quick half of Banks's Bitter (£1.15) en route to the railway station. Loud in the bar (both music and customers), so I'll probably try to re-visit at a quieter time and take a better look when next in the area.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5697 recommendations about 5697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Eagle Vaults

A very fine glazed tiled Mitchells and Butler exterior is the highlight here,the interior has less of interest.The bar is to the right of the front door and contains a darts board,flat screen and some quite boisterous laddish customers on my early Friday evening visit.The room to the left of the entrance has leather bound banquettes and is a lot calmer.The three handpumps were dispensing Hobgoblin,Banks's Bitter and Wychwood Boon Doggle in poor shape but cheap at £2.60
If you want a city centre boozer atmosphere this place will suit,but probably not worth a special trip if on a crawl.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1977 recommendations about 1977 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Eagle Vaults

Originally a Mitchells and Butlers house and now a Marstons pub. The pub consists of a corner room with bar, plus a small lounge area. A mosaic floor at the entrance which was a lavish extra. Our Saturday afternoon visit was a little boisterous and loud music blaring out. Banks bitter, Sunbeam and Theakston XB on handpump.

On 22nd September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Eagle Vaults

This is a stunning Marston's corner pub. It looks a nice mix of Georgian and Victorian. It has two storeys, with a row of dormer windows above on the hipped roof. The upper floor is in plain brick, with a row of casement windows by the look. There is a nice moulded cornice. The ground frontage is a great example of Victorian glazed tiling, in brown, with gaudy pilasters, etched windows and three entrances to show the former room layout.

The interior used to have a couple of rooms, but this is now knocked through into one L-shaped one. The decor is one of red, white and wood panel, with a white ceiling and wood floor. There are nice red leather perimeter seating with bar stools and a nice tiled, small, fireplace. The walls have some nice prints and mirrors on them for interest. They do food, but i didn't eat so can't comment on that. There was no background music and the TV had some sport on it. The service was OK and there were a few locals in at our visit.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Banks's Bitte, Banks's Sunbeam, Ringwood Bold Forester and a decent Marston's Merrie Monk on handpull

A really nice exterior, with an iterior taht hasn't been totally destroyed. A decent choice and quality of beer. Definitely worth a visit in my opinion.

On 21st June 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about Eagle Vaults

It was unfortunate that road works were taking place on my visit. This pub has a lovely period tiled frontage. Recently it has not been at its best but things appear to be improving.Narrow bar,small lounge and upstairs area do not make this the easiest place for wheelchairs. Beer choice is limited.A good place to sit outside on a nice day and watch the world go bye

On 27th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]