User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Dragon Inn, Worcester

The Tything
Worcester
WR1 1JT

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Dragon Inn

Another decent Worcester pub run by Church End.

Table service is in practice here. But a trip to the bar was necessary to check out the beer range.

Church End beers were Stout Coffin, Goat's Milk, Arthur's Ale, Brewer's Truth, What The Fox's Hat & Vicar's Ruin. A guest beer was Ledbury Pale and the cider was Barbourne Cherry Burst, a new one for me.

With a pleasant indoor area, further seating upstairs and a garden at the rear, there is plenty of space to relax here.

On 6th September 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 261 recommendations about 261 pubs]


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Dragon Inn

Enjoyed my visit here , staff were friendly as were the locals and their dogs , lots of Church End beers plus a couple of guests and a real cider , i had the Church End Goats Milk and Instones Green Hop both in great shape .

On 29th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Dragon Inn

One of two tied houses for the Church End Brewery (Nuneaton).

Traditional Pub that's had a bit of tidying up over the years but maintains a pubby feel. Outdoor patio area is lovely on warmer days and has a covered glass roof.

Beers were half a dozen from Chrurch End - I went for the 2017 Supreme Beer Winner - Goat Milk. A very nice golden.

Good Beer Guide 2019 Entry.

On 18th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 669 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Dragon Inn

My first visit after the demise of the old Dragon and the pub’s takeover by Church End Brewery. It’s all smartened-up now and the individuality has been firmly erased - white walls, dangling hops, new seating and a lack of rules regarding which class of diesel locomotive is banned from conversation this week. It’s not too bad though and will hopefully feel a bit more cosy after it has bedded-in a bit. However on a nippy March evening the pub’s staff decided that heating wasn’t something that was required, so we sat next to the door with our coats on, which quickly curtailed any thoughts of lingering. Loads of Church End beers at the bar, I went for an Old Faithful which was a bit so-so (NBSS 2.5). I know that I am now a proper Pub Man of long-standing as I have this place as a “you should have been here back in the day – that was when it was a GREAT pub, blah blah” anecdote/dull story to trot out. Appreciate the best/leftfield whilst they are around is a hard lesson to learn.

April 2014
Not much change from the review below, the interior is perhaps feeling a little worn these days and could do with sympathetic TLC here and there (it did smell a little of damp). A full set of ale on the seven pumps, my LAC Pacific came out well, served by a friendly barman. Selection of papers spotted and the banned topics of conversation list is still going. This is still a must-do in my book, the sort of place you can go in for one and stay for several. Rated 9

June 2011
An unassuming exterior, housing a down-to-earth drinking den owned by the little Ale Cart Brewery. The interior is a single room with wooden benches and is unkempt with old pump clips, postcards, pictures of the mascot on his travels and whisky drums everywhere. I’d call it character, personally. Six ales available, two from Little Ale Cart and four others from well-renowned micros such as Pictish, Blue Monkey, Millstone - an excellent mix and all were gratifyingly cheap (there’s also plenty of bottled beers and a range of single malt whiskies as well as a real cider). The mad Northumbrian barman kept us all entertained and was quite a character - do not ask for lager or Guinness, especially if you lack a sense of humour. There’s a basic rear drinking area with a bus stop sign by gents, nice signposting (purloined?). I especially enjoyed the ‘Banned topics of conversation’ board, which seemed to revolve around Derbyshire and electric loco trains. Daily papers were available and the cycle rack was a nice touch. Food was available and we all tucked into fantastic bacon, sausage and egg cobs, very cheap too. There’s no TV or jukebox in here, just customer conversations. I thought this was a fantastic drinkers pub and it’s top of my list next time I’m in Worcester. Rated 10

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Dragon Inn

A single roomed pub set in a Georgian building, now run by Church End Brewery, my notes say there are 9 handpumps but being the last pub of the day on an extended crawl of the town I can't actually remember or recall the beers apart from my choice of Church End Stout Coffin, I do remember liking the pub a lot but maybe a sober visit is in order.

On 14th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Dragon Inn

A few small changes here , the pub is undergoing a gradual re-furb and general tidy up , lots of work going on but the pub is still open while the work is on-going .
The one major change is that the pub has been taken over by Churchend Brewery , beer choice was four beers from Churchend and two from Little Ale Cart , should be very good when its finished .

On 24th September 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Dragon Inn

Worcester is a very good drinking town and this place is certainly one of the jewels in the City's crown, a single room with the bar along two thirds of the side wall creating an L-shape, carpeted, regular seating with banquettes and stools at Britannia tables, stained and etched glasswork, the room is semi-divided by an arch. A closed in fireplace has whisky boxes on top, the bar gantry has rows of beer bottles on top, then high on the walls are a good selection of beermats. The chalkboard still has a list of banned topics of conversation, sadly I didn't record them but I know it made me chuckle. Very friendly and chatty service from a young lad who knows his beer.
Little Ale Cart beers predominate, Golden Bullet, Lumley Castle and Green Arrow, two of three with steam train clips, Town House Kiwi Pale, Mighty Oak Night Owl, Beowulf Hurricane plus a cider from Cheddar Valley. This pub thoroughly deserved two visits over my Worcester weekend and hopefully they may be another opportunity in the future. Dog friendly, water provided.
Food is served, Thursday curry night (when else), sausage egg and chips, ham or cheese ploughmans both a fiver, good honest grub in a proper old school boozer, outside toilets, benches in the back yard, loved it.

On 2nd September 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dragon Inn

A nice traditional town pub, with fairly basic furniture around the 'L'-shaped bar with decor comprising a large array of pump clips and other breweriana. Good selection of real ales from seven handpumps, including Old Black Nose from the Little Ale Cart brewery (£1.40 for a half). Well worth seeking out.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Dragon Inn

This has always been a friendly popular pub, and is a regular in the Good Beer Guide. Always a good selection of ales, although a lot of the handpulls now taken up with Little Ale Cart beers due to the link with the Wellington in Sheffield and it's brewery. Still has a large blackboard on the side wall displaying food available plus an area giving subjects not allowed to be discussed in the pub!! The beer board is good giving tasting notes of the beers on tap. Close to the station so a good place to start or finish your crawl of Worcester. Outside area through the bar where the toilets are.

On 8th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Dragon Inn

On arrival Mrs A noticed a dog sprawled out on the floor. One of the customers said I think that dog knows you, then we saw a Little Ale Cart handpump and put two and two together, it was Harvey from the Wellington Sheffield. The friendly manageress then explained that Harvey's owner had both pubs. Have to say if you're visiting this traditional and friendly pub, allow a bit of time as it's a difficult one to leave.
Six ales on handpump, we went for the Church End Drunken Octopus, Millstone Vale Mill and one from Little Ale Cart Styrian Sauvin. The pub also has a large patio area out the back. Will defo return.

On 24th September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2