User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Camp House Inn, Worcester

Camp Lane
Grimley
Postal town: Worcester
WR2 6LX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Webb left this review about The Camp House Inn

Not for bikers, cyclists that is.
Love cycling around the lanes and pubs of this part of Worcestershire. Have visited this pub many times over the years with my brothers all pensioners. Cycled there on the lovely sunny evening of 20/5/19 and enjoyed a pint of London’s Pride in the garden. The following afternoon after cycling the loop around Worcester and Ombersley I stopped at the Camp again. I wheeled my bike into the garden and propped my bike against the end of a picnic table. As I was starting to lock it up a woman came up behind me and in a very rude manner said “we don’t normally allow bikes on the grass, don’t ride it out”.
I just left and tip toed off the grass.
On a good point though in looking for reviews, I found this really useful site.

On 26th May 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Camp House Inn

This is another river Severn pub which I would love to visit on a warm summer afternoon rather than last port of call on a wet March evening, but it was a friendly welcoming pub serving ever popular Bathams Bitter and Woodforde's Nice Try. It is a listed building and is subject to flooding from the river, but well worth seeking out. Very dod friendly and a good atmosphere with the locals. Loved the open log fire which the dogs made themselves at home in front of.

On 11th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1320 recommendations about 1204 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Camp House Inn

This is, of course, one of those not to be missed pubs which all pub lovers should try to get to if they're within striking distance. It's an ancient listed building though much is the subject of 1930s refurbishments. It is located on the riverside about a mile down the lane from the village, surrounded by a grotty looking caravan site and various shacks which look permanently occupied. You end up in a muddy parking area to the rear of the premises. The entrance leads to a corridor with a jug-and bottle counter and then a door into the wood panelled bar, with a serving counter, open fire and views to the river. Further on is another, larger room with a serving hatch. All wood panelled, tiled floors and a dartboard and another roaring fire. Here there are markers showing the depths of the floods over the years. The wood panelling must have been renewed many times. It's all proper pub furniture, no high tables or sofas here. The pub is very deservedy listed in the Camra inventory.


Four pumps, Batham's Bitter, 6X, and two out of use on a quiet winter afteroon. The Batham's was, of course, faultless. We were fortunate to be able to visit at the quietest of times, and able to nose round a fascinating building. I suspect it's murder on a summer weekend, with the city of Worcester just a few miles away - it must make a nice summers walk. But do make the effort to go - though check if there have been recent floods - it can remain closed for weeks on end.

On 23rd January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Austin left this review about The Camp House Inn

It's a great pub!! It's my local since recently moving to Grimley. My new wife and her family have lived in the area since well.. forever. So i have been thoroughly introduced to delights of what this pub has to offer! Always warm and friendly, the Bathams is to die for!! The food is generous and reasonably priced. It'a the perfect place to while away a warm summer Sunday afternoon. One slight drawback is its closeness to the River Severn and it's tendency to flood.. But don't let that put you off as they have a punt to ferry customers across the car park in times of flood.. 3 cheers to the Camp!!

On 13th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jo Coggins left this review about The Camp House Inn

Well what can I say? The Camp is an extraordinary place in fact so much so that I once took my step daughters boyfriend there and he was so enthralled that it was the topic of conversation in his local for a very long time. I would not recommend it before clubbing but is a lovely retreat on a sunny afternoon! Please visit there is a barmaid called Kate lol ;-) x

On 15th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Camp House Inn

I can only echo Richard Arwkrite's words below. Tight country lanes lead to a pub with a farmyard-like car park. After stepping over a rooster and some chickens to get in I found several small rooms with a very small bar where people were almost queued up 3 deep in pairs. It was a bank holiday and therefore everyone seemed to have had the same idea. I didn't get close enough to the bar to properly see the handpulls. Sadly, I can't stand crowded pubs so that's the point where my Camp House experience ended. I would go back if I'm down that way again but I would try to choose a quiet mid-week afternoon so that I could properly appreciate it.

On 3rd May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Camp House Inn

Difficult to find at the end of some narrow lanes.The pub has the appearance of a converted farm, in fact many of its previous tennants can't have left. Chickens,ducks and peacocks strut their stuff amongst the customers. Popular with families dont worry about the birds they are a streetwise lot when it comes to kids.Nothing is really wheelchair friendly. Narrow corridors lead to small rooms containing even smaller bars. Real ale and traditional cider together with a basic menu is available. Views of the River Severn from the large garden area.Its worth looking for if only for the experience of having a peacock as a drinking partner.

On 28th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]