User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Bush Inn, St Johns, Worcester

4 Bull Ring
Worcester
WR2 5AD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Bush Inn

Must have driven past 1000 times without noticing this pub. The Good Beer Guide 2017 changed this.

Quite like the Canon Royall Brewery - stumbling on their brewery at Uphampton and finding it Birmingham.

This is a tied house of theirs - also having a couple from North Cotswolds Brewery.

A decent sounding singer and guitarist were setting up.

Would come again. Visit at http://bit.ly/2gKoeix

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Bush Inn

An unspoilt Victorian corner pub of one big front room retaining a wealth of original features. There is another room at the back but I didn't check it out. The previous descriptions all talk about the etched front windows with stained glass above and in the entrance porch, there's a neat tiled fireplace, a superb counter and the piece de resistance is the magnificent bar back. Bench seating at rectangular wooden tables with chairs and a couple of tall bar stools. Not much in the way of decor just a few ads and pictures including one of the licensees during the Second World War. Five working pulls with beers from Cannon Royall, North Cotswold and Gloucester breweries, one was unclipped and the last had a cider. A great two hander with the Bull Baiter or for three add The Bell.

On 18th July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bush Inn

Just up the road from New Rd cricket ground and away from the town centre, this is a revitalised locals pub with seemingly on this Friday tea time visit, a good following. Two rooms are currently in use, the main bar area is L-shaped and has a splendid carved bar back with a feature corner clock, there is a tiled fireplace and some well preserved etched glass to the doors and windows which have clearly done well to survive as a local informed me that this was once a bikers' pub with a bit of a reputation. Seating at banquettes and small stools, décor is limited but there are framed photos of Worcestershire CCC teams through the years. The side room is plainer and had little of interest, beyond, the Smoke Room is currently closed but the hands on landlord advised he intends to get that part of the pub moving and reinstate the pool table. The guv'nor was a little suspicious at first on seeing me as a stranger taking notes but once advised of my reasoning and when my mate turned up who also knew a regular was absolutely fine, I can see his point of view.
Five handpumps, three were on, Worcestershire Gold, Wye Valley Butty Bach (outstandingly good), Old Golden Hen. I didn't see any menus and it really doesn't look like a food pub, a proper pub it is though with all that entails, very worth a visit if in the St John's area or after visiting New Rd for the cricket.

On 1st September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bush Inn

A CAMRA heritage pub which has been subject to a number of periods of closure over recent years. Has now been re-opened and the exterior has been given a smart blue and white livery, and the nice etched windows remain. The star of the show is the inside bar which is a beautiful, towering wooden thing with inbuilt clock (Yates & Greenway). The main bar is a pretty spartan affair otherwise, with bare board flooring and leather(ette?) banquettes. An incongruous TV (almost but not quite muted) showing ITV2 for some reason. A bit of exploring found a rear smoke room unused and in darkness, as well as a plain pool room. Five pumps with ales three on, two Prescott and Wye Valley HPA, mine came in a Guinness glass, hmmm. My Wye Valley was fine but I heard some grumbles about the Prescott. We were the only other customers which was a bit sad given it was around 5pm. It’s great to see this one open again but it clearly needs a lot of hard work to get it established and popular (though the student digs being built over the way should help the cause). Worth visiting for the interior and hopefully more in due course.

On 1st April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bush Inn

Glad to visit this pub at last, after only viewing it two dimensionally, in Camra's book of Historical Interiors. The pub has retained the majority of its original features, notably the bar servery finished in douglas fir with ornate detailing and clock. The rear smoke room also had all of its original call bells in place. Beer wise, I went for Prescott Hill Climb. Visited here on our Spring PG crawl.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bush Inn

One of Worcester's most famous heritage pubs, recently back in business (albeit with restricted opening hours and subject to a partial residential conversion scheme). The angled bar-back, with its venerable central clock, dominates the main room, but other features have lost their lustre. The rear room was open for inspection although not seemingly in use, and part-completed works were visible further back. Although three of the five handpumps were working, the Prescott Track Record (£1.25 for a half) wasn't in good condition. Worryingly quiet, so hopefully the trade will build up again soon; but, on the evidence of our visit, its future must still be in some doubt.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Bush Inn

Thankfully The Bush has reopened which allowed the PuG crawl to inspect the national inventory interior.The main corner door gives access to the bar room,with fine etched glass windows.The wooden bar back and Victorian tiled real fireplace are features while the bench seating running around the walls fits in well.A side door has been covered by plasterboard and the flatscreen above the fireplace was trasmitting The Jeremy Kyle show when I pitched up,never a good sign.The juke box, modern lighting and cables detracted a bit from the ambiance.To the side of the bar there is a charming smoke room ,unlit on my trip but the most original part of the pub with a further door through to the rear corridor.Here there was a pool room,the loos and two further rooms undergoing building work,kitchen in future ?
At the bar there were 5 handpumps but only three working dispensing Wye Valley HPA,and Prescott Track Record and Hill Climb.Ale quality a bit variable.
The new team here should be applauded for the reopening but I am not sure whether they will return the interior to it's Victorian splendour.It felt like a work in progress .However enough survives to warrant a visit if crawling around the historic pubs of Worcester.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bush Inn

"Closed until further notice", according to the sign on the door. A pub with a CAMRA Inventory-listed interior.

On 14th June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Bush Inn

The Bush Inn is an ornate looking victorian pub that is in the St Johns area of west Worcester.
Once inside There were a few different rooms and these were traditional and unaltered from years ago,i had a drink in the main bar and this was a very nice room that was comfortable.
There were five real ales on the bar i had a drink of Coach House bitter and this was a decent drink the other bers were Banks's mild and bitter, London Pride, and M&B Brew X1.
This was a really nice pub and i was quite happy having a drink in here.

Pub visited 30/12/2000

On 30th December 2000 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]