User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Berkeley Arms, St Johns, Worcester

School Road
Worcester
WR2 4HF
Phone: 01905421427

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Tenanted (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Berkeley Arms

The regular beers are Banks's bitter and mild on electric so don't be put off as they're at either end of the low keg T-bar plus there are two changing beers from other Marstons breweries on pull and a cider and a spare. Tucked away but a nice back street local comprising a single room but obviously were once two rooms, plain but traditional furnishing inc the Britannia tables and bench seating a good pub needs. It's a good basic pub with a knowledgable friendly landlord.

On 18th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Berkeley Arms

Bit less impressed on this revisit. Two ales, Ringwood Boondoggle (good form despite the bloody sparkler), an Elbow beer (which was reported as being under-par) and Thatchers Heritage cider. Not much obvious change since 2011, though a bit of TLC is needed in places and the inside seemed less clean and homely than before. Spotted an unused back room, presumably for functions. I suspect this may be my last visit unless something leftfield happens.

June 2011
A modest white-washed pub with Banks livery. This used to be a two room pub and it still retains the two entrances, a shame a large chunk of the partition has been removed. Three Marstons list ales on the go: Jennings Mild, Gingerbeard and Tizzy Wizzy which were in good nick and nice to see a mild available. Guest ale clips above the bar indicate that the selection rotates fairly regularly. Thatchers Heritage cider also available on handpump. The staff were friendly and we got chatting about the day’s crawl we were embarked on. 80’s music on the jukey made for a decent listen. There was a dart board though tables were in the way preventing casual use. A solid locals pub that’s worth doing if you’ve trekked out to the Bell. Rated 6.

On 1st April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Berkeley Arms

The pub was quiet on our visit, until nine PG crawlers got through the doors. The bar man was happy to see us all walk in and then slightly disappointed to see we didn't stay very long, as our itinerary was pushed to make it back down the road to the Bush. The side entrance to the pub was the more attractive looking side. Once through the doors I found the interior to be bland and after a quick taste of the Boondoggle, which was in good nick, I was glad to move on.

On 24th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Berkeley Arms

Back-street local in a far from promising location, and there was some concern about whether it was actually open as we approached. However, all was well once we worked out that the main entrance was at the side. Rather basic inside, with two short rectangular rooms opened out at the end to form a 'U'-shaped arrangement with the bar in the middle. A pair of handpumps at each end of the counter, with three beers from the Marstons stable on offer (including Boon Doggle, £1.55 for a half).

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Berkeley Arms

Small locals pub that does not look to promising from the outside , inside is different ,it is U shaped with two parallel rooms(bar and lounge)and a shared bar at the end , the place is basically furnished with not much difference between the two rooms , the dartboard being the difference between the bar and lounge , four handpulls from the Marstons range , one a Mild , i had a Jennings Tizzy Wizz which was fine , the locals and staff were friendly enough . It is a good locals pub

On 6th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 780 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Berkeley Arms

The Berkeley Arms is a stand alone pub that is situated in the back streets of st johns.
I thought this pub looked quite nice from the outside with its bare brick front and small window panes made this pub seem very inviting on a very cold day.
Once inside there were a few different rooms,i had a drink in the lounge which was cosy and comfortable,this pub is a Banks's tied house and there were two real ales on here i had a drink of Banks's mild and this was a very nice drink the other beer was Banks's bitter.
I was quite content in here and would have happily stayed longer if not on a pub crawl.

Pub visited 30/12/2000

On 30th December 2000 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]