User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2024 with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Seven Stars, Kidderminster

Coventry Street
Kidderminster
DY10 2BG
Phone: 01562755777

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Kidderminster's oldest pub - going OK since reopening on last years Xmas crawl.

Just the one cask on - Wye Valley HPA - but the landlord was keen to say several others were due to come on on the weekend. He had been drunk out. It was in fine condition - so would rather see one good beer than several dodgy ones.

On 15th December 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

After a period of closure this pub has reopened with new tenants who have given the interior a subtle spruce up and uncovered a few features previously obscured.There is a front section with a small servery but the two handpumps here are not yet operational.The large tap room is to the rear ,with lots of wood panelling and an L shaped room,while outside there is a gents and a courtyard beer garden.There is an upright piano and the flatscreen was on mute thankfully.
It's a traditional pub and makes a change from the many good micros in Kiddy. The ale choice on my visit was Timothy Taylor Knowle Spring,Marston's Revered James and Ringwood Fortyniner (NBSS 3.5). Expect ales from the Marston's portfolio as the guv'nor used to work for them.
It's early days in the new teams tenure ,one to keep an eye on,a more adventurous ale range would make it unmissable.

On 30th June 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2756 recommendations about 2756 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

We can bring this one back to life.... A new landlord has taken it on, re-opened just before XMAS 2022.

Friendly chap - keen to introduce himself (Connor) and attempt to remember you name - although I will be impressed if he remembers mine, as this forms part of my annual xmas tradition - a 4 mile walk and a check that all is well in the land of Kidderminster pubs.

Two beers on - well the Butty had just gone, but the Rocking Rudolf Green King Xmas Ale was in decent condition.

I hope its a success, as this is the finest traditional pub in Kiddy.... which does have some cracking micros.

On 22nd December 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

The oldest pub in Kidderminster, apparently, and there certainly is a some character in the irregularly shaped front room and the slightly lower rear bar (although the former also has a small, unused counter). Traditional alehouse furniture and decor in both parts. With five of the seven handpumps in use, I found Wye Valley Butty Bach, Robinson's Dizzy Blonde, Titanic Plum Porter, Old Rosie cider and something being changed over.

On 23rd February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

As ever, the Signmeister makes my review a little academic as it is still the same. A nice dormered Georgian looking property in white and green with a rear patio area. The interior is very irregular in design. The small and quieter front room has its own bar (I assume for busier times) and a dartboard. The triangular rear room is where most people go it seems. Beamed ceiling, wood floor, it is traditional with old photos, a piano and so forth. TV wasn't on and music was a decent level. Service is fine and there is a good and mixed clientele. 5 real ales: Kinver Noble, SA Proper Job, Fixed Wheel Chain Reaction, WV HPA and a decent Titanic Plum Porter. Another great pub in my opinion - always worthy of a visit.

On 23rd July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Proudly proclaiming to be the oldest pub in Kidderminster, this is a decent, two bar town centre pub which has seemingly been pitched to appeal to a wide range of customers. You enter into a small, unstaffed front bar with the servery to the rear and a few tables with bench and chair seating. The walls sport some pretty impressive high dark wood panels that help to make it feel like a cosy, traditional front bar and these have been topped with a few decorative items, including a number of animal miniatures which can be found throughout the entire pub. The main servery is along the front wall of the rear room – a bare boarded space with more of the same high dark wood panels, but a larger area which loses some of the cosiness of the front bar. Long pews and standard chairs provide plenty of seating, mainly arranged towards the back of the room and there is an upright piano to one side, lost somewhat under a plethora of local interest leaflets and listings magazines. Decor includes a collection of earthenware items to the rear, various ceramic bits and bobs along the top of the panels and a rather smart portrait of the pub on one wall. At the far end of the bar there is a door which leads out to an impressive split level beer garden with a covered section that the smokers seemed very pleased with. Some sort of marquee was set up at the back of the garden and the gent’s toilet block can be found out here as well. Food is limited to quality looking snacks such as pork pies and cobs but customers are allowed to bring in their own food, with cutlery and plates available on request. Music played at a sensible level throughout my visit and a chap was busy setting up for either a live performance or DJ set – he had such a crazy amount of equipment with him, I couldn’t work out which it was to be.
The bar has a long row of handpulls to one end which were offering a mix of well known and slightly obscurer ales, with the full range on this visit comprising Sharps Doom Bar, Robinsons Dizzy Blonde, Moorhouse Pride of Pendleton, Three Tuns Rantipole, Hobsons Twisted Spire and Sadler’s Mud City Stout, with a final pump saved for a real cider. The Dizzy Blonde was in pretty good shape, served up by a bubbly barmaid and sensibly priced at £3.20.
This struck me as a nice, lively town centre venue that is popular with a good cross-section of the local community. The beer range and prospect of drinking in the town’s oldest pub are likely to be the big pull factors for most visitors, but it was the friendly atmosphere and relaxed feel of the place that would probably entice me back.

On 29th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Just seems to get better and better.

Enjoyed my last visit three years ago.

Same as I remember it, although it may have had a bit of a makeover. 6 real ales on - and the Woods Santa's Ales was perfection itself.

Very friendly landlord and locals. Would be my choice of boozer if I lived in the town.

Trip blogged at http://bit.ly/2ieHy8w

On 23rd December 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Decorated in ale house style there is a front and back bar, only three pulls in front so go through to the back, you can use either front door, and find the choice of seven pulls. It's a reasonable choice with local favourite Titanic Plum Porter among a few from Lancashire (Moorhouses), Cheshire (Robbos), down sarf (Old Hooky and Otter) and Scotland in the form of the dreaded Deuchars, one was spare. Bare boards and kitchen tables in the ale house style but the panelling and ceiling decoration show it's an older pub. Again all pulls on sparklers so Kidderminster must be close to the border between with and without or the Godly and the Godless.

On 7th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3293 recommendations about 2999 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Said to be the oldest pub in Kidderminster this pub has wooden floorboards and wooden panelled walls. The main serving area is the other side of the room from the street entrance. It was showing the rugby but nobody was watching it. It wasn't too busy on my Saturday afternoon visit.
The bar has seven hand pumps with one devoted to cider. The beer choice was rather better than the previous review with Titanic Plum Porter, a 7% ABV version of Cottage Norman's Conquest, Sharp's Atlantic, Salopian Lemon Dream, Three Tuns Rantipole and Wye Valley HPA. I went for the Lemon Dream (£3.30) which was in very good nick.
I thought this was a good pub but not outstanding in any way. Despite that I would certainly return.

On 15th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ye Olde Seven Stars

Interior of dark wood panelling. A number of old pumpclips on the walls as well as old footy programme covers framed on the walls (is the landlord a Norwich fan?). Upright piano spotted. Decent atmosphere inside, a good bit of banter between the regulars. Large rear garden but it was too dark to go exploring. Quiz n’ pizza night advertised which would certainly get my custom if I were local. Eight pumps, with seven ales and a cider (Thatchers Heritage) though a number of the ales were fairly unimaginative (eg Caledonian Deuchars IPA and Autumn Red, London Pride – an old S&N pub?). Anyway the choice for me was between Butcombe Gold and Kinvers Edge, plumped for a half of the latter and was rewarded with a good pint, served by a friendly barman. Cobs and pork pies normally available but they’d run out, sadly (end of Sunday and all that) but I was told that there is a ‘bring your own grub’ policy and that they’ll provide cutlery and crockery. A nice place and one I’d happily do again.

On 10th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5197 recommendations about 5180 pubs]

Page: 1 2