User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 5th December 2021) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Winchester Gate, Salisbury

113 Rampart Road
Salisbury
SP1 1JA
Phone: 01722322834

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Winchester Gate

Called in while doing a trip round Salisbury area pubs and found a couple of Downton beers plus Sixpenny Cranbourne Chaser which we tried along with Cross Bay California Dreamin, both of which were good. Loved the beer garden at the rear.

On 12th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Winchester Gate

The outside has had another scrub since my last visit but not the interior which remains a fairly unappealing prospect (apparently there is a decent garden but I’ve never found it). Still, there were four ales on and my Hart Dark Maiden was very good. Also half a dozen ciders so I can see why it’s GBG but to be honest it doesn’t really appeal to me as a destination. Big on live music, if that’s your bag.

April 2012
Just the wrong side of the A36 ring road, we popped in after our usual stop-off at the Wyndham opposite. The exterior (two distinctly different buildings mashed together) had just had a fresh lick of paint and looked quite inviting. The interior was rather less impressive though. Two rooms, one of which was a scruffy games room with a dart board and pool. The lounge had a smattering of fairly friendly locals but also felt a quite tired décor-wise. Still there were three ales on and the one we had was in good nick (Goffs, if I remember rightly). If you like your beer this is worth the extra few minutes from the Wyndham but as a pub experience it doesn’t really stand out in any other way at present. Perhaps the freshly-painted exterior is a sign of greater things to come? Rated 6

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Winchester Gate

Five ales on handpump on our Friday lunchtime visit. Bowland Hen Harrier, Upham Best Mate, Flack Manor Flack's Double Drop, Downton Slovenian and the house beer was by Wadworth A Bit of O' Badger IPA. I went for the Upham Best Mate, which was a mistake as the beer wasn't to my taste, as it had a toffee flavour to it and no taste, at least I only bought a half. This pub is more of a night time venue with its permanent stage situated in a room on the left of entrance. The pub also has a large rear two tiered garden, which gets busy during the summer months at weekends, when they hold mini beer fests and BBQ'S.

On 20th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Winchester Gate

Another good pub as found by Malden Man a few days before my own visit,It was unfortunately empty apart from myself and my drinking partner for the day,it did however feel like a real pub and I felt immediately at home here.My pint of Itchen Valley QED was pretty decent as well, I did somehow manage to miss the well advertised CAMRA discount until it was to late, but never mind,another pub for the return list.

On 8th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Winchester Gate

Cut off rather from town by virtue of being the other side of the four lane A36 rumbling past, this pub is still worth the effort of getting to. In fact it isn't too difficult at all as there are occasional underpasses saving a long trek around and making the pub easy to double up with the ever excellent Wyndham Arms.
Once inside there are two rooms, the larger room having the bar and also a pool table down one end. The smaller side room has a stage, mixing decks and also a dartboard. Going by the posters all over the place, live music is big here.
The main bar has a carpeted floor and regular seating, décor is mostly gig flyers but there was also a couple of old maps and pictures of Stonehenge. Lower walls are wainscoted, there is a bit of beamed ceiling, board games on a shelf and newspapers in a rack.
A decent beer selection, Box Clever Soul Train, Sixpenny Brewery Jack Ale, Hop Back Crop Circle and Three Castles Vale Ale. A beer festival is advertised for the second week of August, I believe this may be set up in the rear garden which I didn't get round to having a look at. CAMRA card discount of 20p/10p. A sign written in biro advised tha.t the rolls were sold out, more tomorrow so I suppose this is the food option here, a simple quick and easy food fix. Worth heading under the road for especially if taking in The Wyndham.

On 3rd August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Half Pint Davey left this review about Winchester Gate

Quite a well hidden pub in Salisbury, but well worth seeking out, good drinks and quite a nice atmosphere.
When I visited they had a good selection of beers at fairly reasonable prices.

On 12th January 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Winchester Gate

Visited this pub for the first time in July 2010. Three good ales on tap and signs up advertising a beer festival at the pub. We visited mid afternoon and although quiet, there were a fair number of customers mainly drinking the ales.
definitely worth the walk across town from the railway station.

On 16th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Winchester Gate

Although slightly frayed around the edges, this pub has, in the last two years, greatly improved through the phenomenal efforts of the landlord, Bill. The rough trade which previously haunted the pub has gone, and the quality of the ales is first class. The range of beers changes regularly - I've seen three pumps change on the same night before - and the beer festivals are set to become a regular feature. When I last went in the Plain Ales Innspiration was out of this world. In some ways it would be a pity to see the rather shabby interior change as this might alter the character of the pub altogether. This is another essential part of any Salisbury crawl, and is worth tying into a visit to the Wyndham which is just over the road.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2736 recommendations about 2704 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Winchester Gate

Just across the Ring Road from the Wyndham Arms. Modern decor with sofas and some sad brewers tudor. Friendly, young and enthusiastic staff, offering a wide range of interesting well kept beers and Planet Rock as background music. All pretty good, a bit of a real ale mecca but a little different to the Village or the Wyndham, this being aimed at a generally younger age group. The customers on my visit were attracted by the beer, the pool table and included some yoghurt knitters.

On 21st November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2441 recommendations about 2242 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Winchester Gate

You would think that the Winchester Gate is just far away from the town centre not to make it an immediately obvious place to head for although the collection of foreign bank notes over the bar would suggest that several overseas visiters do get this far (unless the locals do a lot of exotic travelling!). The 2 bar interior doesn't have any particular merits with the main bar having an odd mix of lounge and public bar with the pool table, darts area and TV's sharing space with sofas. The second bar is a more modern brick and wood affair where they have occasional live music (proper bands that is, not computer led karaoke!). There is also a healthy collection of pump clips on display which is always a good sign although I only recall there being 3 pumps; Three Castles Corn Dolly, Goff Excalibar and Hop Back Crop Circle which is a good enough selection for me on my fleeting visit. There is also a pleasant split level beer garden for sunnier days and the very welcoming, chatty and approachable regulars were happy to recommend other pubs for us to visit. It is a pub that is easy to overlook with all the other more touristy and historic pubs in town but it does make a good pairing with the Wyndham Arms on the other side of the busy main road.

On 14th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]

Page: 1 2