User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Wig & Quill, Salisbury

1 New Street
Salisbury
SP1 2PH
Phone: 01722335665

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Wig & Quill

Traditional pub dating from the 14th Century. We got a very friendly welcome from the landlady on arrival, who was proud to present five Wadworth ales across some highly polished handpumps. We went for the Wadworth Horizon and took our beers to the pleasant walled patio garden at the rear. I found this pub to be very well kept and the interior quite charming.

On 22nd May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Wig & Quill

Busy and bustling on Saturday night, the bar runs along the side of the main area on entering this area being carpeted, the pub narrows to the rear with a boarded area here and an angular bay window at the end, not investigated beyond in the dark. This area has an old probably authentic beamed ceiling and shelves of books actually worthy of looking at. All kinds of framed pictures on the walls plus some jugs and bottles. A Wadworths house, four of theirs on plus Old Rosie cider, I enjoyed a couple of pints of Swordfish. I liked the pub, another bit of history in this town full of it despite my partner complaining about a smell which passed me by.

On 5th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Wig & Quill

A good looking pub on the exterior and doesn't quite live up to the promise once inside, a pint of Wadsworths Henry IPA proved unremarkable.A pub I will probably miss out next time.

On 8th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Rowe left this review about The Wig & Quill

Rumour has it that this pub is due to close - possibly temporarily. We paid a visit this week and left before ordering. A young man was trying to work out how to use the till, and the barmaid was taking an age serving a couple. The place was otherwise empty and had a real run-down feel to it. Most unusual for a Wadworth house.

On 1st August 2014 - rating: 2
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Rowe left this review about The Wig & Quill

Oh dear. This pub has taken a dramatic downhill slide. Due to a staff party the previous night, only 6X and Horizon were on tap. The 6X didn't have the great malty taste it once had, although I think this was down to the brewer rather than the cellarman. A pool table now takes up the middle room, together with a darts board and obscene chalked message on the score board. A Cask Marque pub that needs much TLC to bring it back to its former standard. There were no other customers in the pub, which, at 1pm speaks volumes. As a previous reviewer said, the nearby New Inn is a much better bet.

On 7th August 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Wig & Quill

Multi-area’d Wadworth pub, lacking the charm of the nearby New Inn as I think this one has been knocked through too much. The full range of Waddies beer (five in all) was on with the 6X and IPA being served from the wood (oak casks!), with my 6X being in decent form. There’s a beer garden to the rear. We settled near the fireplace which looked to my untrained eye to be gas rather than ‘real’ but I might be wrong.

It didn’t do much for me as a pub experience but if you like well-kept Wadworth ale, then this is a worthwhile stop.

On 30th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Wig & Quill

This attractive 15th Century tavern started life as 2 cottages for servants at the nearby Cathedral (the Haunch of Venison also had a similar beginning). The small and cosy front bar is fairly quaint with comfortable seats, a large brick fireplace (looks like a modern recreation) and numerous oak beams. The main bar is in the middle of the pub where a spectacular (more genuine) fireplace containing a stove takes centre stage. In keeping with the pub’s name, pictures of judges in their legal garb and a court gavel can be found around the bar.

To the rear is a lighter and more airy extension with a conservatory feel to it. This leads to the attractive crazy paved beer garden with shrubs down one side and, if you crane your neck, a glimpse of the Cathedral spire in the distance.

The beers are all from Wadworths with 6X, Bishops Tipple, Swordfish, Henry’s IPA and Horizon all on the go for our recent visit. The prices were reasonable enough, staff welcoming and although my visits here always seem to fall when they have just opened an we were virtually the only customers, I get the impression that the pub has a pleasant and convivial atmosphere whatever the time.

On 7th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Wig & Quill

Probably 14th Century, the Wig and Quill remains a charming traditional pub just off Salisbury's High Street and close enough to several other good pubs to form part of a high quality crawl. The current tenants (Paul and Tricia) have greatly improved the pub over the last couple of years. It is far more welcoming than before, prices are less oppressive and the pub dog, Ben, is great fun. There were 5 ales on this time, all Wadworths. I had both the Horizon and Bishop's Tipple and both were perfectly kept (although the latter does not live up to the reputation of the old Salisbury Brewery Bishop's Tipple after which it's named). Beer quality is down to both Paul's skill and the wonderful old cellar, a feature of the pub which is worth a look if you're interested. Most definitely a success story and a pub I'm now happy to drink in anytime.

On 22nd December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Wig & Quill

A lovely little white rendered cottage style pub, with large central dormer window and high pitched roof. There is a secluded beer garden at the back.

I suppose technically it is an open plan place which is generally in white, with ceiling and some support beams, with some exposed brick and part wood, part stone flagged floor. There are three clear areas to the pub, at the back there is the dining area, which, as Roger says below, is a light conservatory. There are tow other areas; the front bar, with high backed chairs and brick, stone and wood fireplace and there is the central bar area/food, also with a large brick fireplace. There is a lot of prints, pictures and memorabilia from the legal profession, but there is a bit of brass and other general ephemera as well. The service was fine, the clientele absent, as we got in early doors so to speak. The music was easy listening and at a decent level.

Beer; tap stuff, with a range of Wadsworths on handpull; 6X, Henry's IPA and i tried the Bishop's Tipple which was the best Wadsworth beer i have had.

I think it may have been Roger's tip to visit this place and i was so pleased i did - although not being a big Wadworth fan the beer was well kept and the Bishop's Tipple far exceeded my expectations. Really worth a visit.

On 26th April 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]