User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Village, Salisbury Central, Salisbury

35 Wilton Road
Salisbury
SP2 7EF
Phone: 01722329707

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Village

A decent sized corner pub which was mostly full of locals on our Friday eve, who were chatty and a little nosy. The interior is traditional and basic, but does have a certain charm. The trendy barmaid, covered in tattoos and piercings was very welcoming and chatty. I also had the added bonus of a free pint off her as the beer was near the end of the barrel. This was Downton Quadhop, which was in good condition and one of the liveliest beers of the day, no problems there. Lots of train memorabilia on the end wall and a good choice of rock music was on the jukebox.

On 23rd May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Village

Unchanged if my memory hasn't let me down for about 30 years, maybe there's less furniture than before and the gents is cleaner. Five pulls of local micro's beers on the counter, notably from Piddle, Downton, and Three Daggers. In a new twist on bar blockers on my early evening visit the length of the bar was blocked by five middle aged women. Quality of the beer seems as good as it's always been.

On 15th January 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


j lomas left this review about The Village Freehouse

Not a patch on past visits, quality not what it was! Nowadays better ale pubs out there duke of york & halfway house both superior quality ale & environment

On 13th November 2012 - rating: 1
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Village Freehouse

A well-established ale house and home for train geeks, usually five ales from micros and regionals plus a proper cider or two. Quality on my two visits has been good (Liverpool Craft IPA and TT Landlord last time). The interior has a number of railway-themed items and there are some decent tunes on the jukebox along with a scattering of odd paraphernalia (including an ancient life-sized Rupert Bear collection box). Fixtures and fittings are fairly functional. TV switched on showing an Olympic event of some sort. Wide selection of daily papers available as well as, unusually, ‘fresh’ popcorn for £1.50 a go. The chap behind the bar was chatty and was interested in our pub crawl hit list. Pub has had a clean-up in recent times and is less shabby than previous (the smell of damp has gone), though the ceiling is still a hideous nicotine/poo colour.

A quirky place that should get your custom.

On 18th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Village Freehouse

The main problem with the Village is that it is well placed for the train station and always seems to be the last port of call on what have been some quite lengthy pub crawls. As a result any recollections from my visits have been a bit hazy.

The pub has a good reputation for Ales although no-one would ever claim it to be the most impressive place from an aesthetic point of view. The interior is quite small with a quite ordinary main bar and a smaller separate bar area to one side. The décor and furnishings are plain and simple with banquette seating and the place does seem have have had a bit of a spring clean from my previous visit with the walls that were once a mess of posters and bits of junk now a lot more tidy and organized.

The beers were a good mix including Batemans Salem Porter, Downton Dials Pumpkin Ale, Goffs Summer Knight, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Downton Quadhop with a cider on gravity to one side of the bar.

One day I’ll make a point of making this an earlier stop in our proceedings and hopefully be able to get more of a feel for it but if it’s ales you’re after, this should be one of the pubs near the top of your list.

On 7th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Rowe left this review about The Village Freehouse

The Village is now managed by the former manager of the Boathouse. A keen and friendly chap who is always smiling! The beer is always in 100% top condition, and there is always a dark mild on offer. The range changes regularly, so there is always something to delight. Yes, the interior is tatty, but that could well change. One of Salisbury's last remaining drinker's pubs - now with a Thursday night pub quiz!

On 7th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Village Freehouse

One of the best pubs in Salisbury for a decent range of good ales. It is the pub we always visit when in Salisbury.
Yes, its getting a bit tired inside but when its busy you cant really see the flaking walls! On our recent visit the two ales we had werent at the usual top notch condition but it had been very hot weather for a prolonged period which might have affected the cellar temperature.

On 16th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Village Freehouse

A strange corner pub in white render, with black paintwork that is in the GBG 2010 - why strange? well it looked top heavy.

The interior is open plan, with a few nooks and crannies. The decor is in white and tired, peeling wallpaper, but never the less, the walls are covered in railway ephemera and pictures - which is great for someone like me, as well the odd bit of beer memorabilia, like beer mats and bottles. There was Sky TV and darts. The service was fine and the clientele seemingly mature locals.

Beer; tap stuff, with Timothy Taylor Landlord, Downton Brewery's Quodhop and Mad Hare (both good), Hop Back and a very good Box Brewery's Dark & Handsome.

A class pub, worthy of its GBG status and one i would very much like to return to.

On 7th May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Village Freehouse

One of Salisbury's best real ale pubs, and one which has previously won SW CAMRA's POTY several times. The building is shabby and in a location convenient to the railway station. There is an active local social life as well as a regular stream of visitors coming in to find out what it's all about. My last vivist saw off an excellent pint of Quadhop. There are always 3 or 4 ales on, always well kept. Highly recommended for any crawl or just a quick pint.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2455 recommendations about 2433 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Village Freehouse

Salisbury's mecca for real ale lovers and the odd train spotter. Five or six ales on handpump at all times, usually in tiptop condition. Classic juke box, railway memorabilia and an idiosyncratic landlord make this an interesting place. Opening times can be erractic, check the clock in the window for updates. Inside the main bar is a single room with a couple of more discrete areas at each end, a spiral staircase leads down to a basement, although in twenty years I've never been down there. One of the top real ale pubs in Salisbury.

On 21st November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]

Page: 1 2