User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

Old Ale & Coffee House, Salisbury

Crane Street
Salisbury
SP1 2QD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Old Ale & Coffee House

Busy bar close to the market square with Adnams Broadside and Bath Gem plus Watney's Pale ale available. We chose the Watney's Pale Ale which was fine. Bar and Coffee House, Gins and Cocktails. Cater for all tastes.

On 12th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Old Ale & Coffee House

A decidedly upmarket place, with 'tasteful' furnishings and prices to match. Very select and no riff-raff. A fair range of beers though, with Bath Gem, Adnam's Broadside and Holt's IPA on handpump, along with a cider, and no complaints on condition.

On 27th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2217 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Ale & Coffee House

Also extremely busy on our Friday evening visit, even the all the garden sheds were full. The majority of the customers were the younger crowd, who were enjoying Gin cocktails and posh white wine. The food menu looked interesting, but this was only a fleeting visit as we still had to make our way the Duke of York. So two halves of Adnam's Broadside were rushed down.

On 21st May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Old Ale & Coffee House

Seriously busy and buzzing on a mid-Saturday evening visit, we did manage to find a pair of seats eventually but it was difficult to move around. A long main room with the bar on the back wall, boarded flooring and a fair bit of exposed brickwork including a fireplace on an end wall. The bar counter has a distressed front, there is an old red post-box and telephone box near one of the doors. Very mixed seating of all known styles, thankfully we bagged a proper table, it was noticeable that the pub appeals to a wide age range despite being busy and rather loud inside.
The ale selection was a bit mainstream, Deuchers IPA, Adnam's Broadside, Brakspears Bitter plus Orchard Pig Cider. They are big on food, lots of people were eating and the Alsatian dog with its owner at the adjacent table was hoovering up any dropped bits with gusto.
There are board games and papers and a big outdoor area with a row of garden sheds with seating built in.

On 7th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Old Ale & Coffee House

A smart modernised pub with a gastro element about it, lots of bare wood and exposed brick.A couple of tv screens were on and muted showing the test match, there was some low level easy listening music playing in the background,I saw signs pointing toward a beer garden but didn't investigate.
There were four handpumps on the bar with three rather pedestrian beers on, Adnams Southwold,Deuchars IPA and Wadworths 6X, the remaining handle was dispensing a Cider, Orchard Pig Navelgazer, there was a keg wall behind the bar with some Craft offerings amongst the more normal stuff.It was Ok here but wasn't tempted to stay beyond the one drink.

On 30th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Old Ale House

A music venue rather than a dedicated alehouse as the name might suggest. Nonetheless there were four pumps available during our visit with three ales on (a fairly unusual line-up of Deuchars IPA, Batemans and Flacks). My Batemans was OK but far from memorable and also quite expensive. Quite a rock/alt feel to the place, including the customers. Interior is almost 100% wood, it’s literally everywhere though it’s quite nicely done and creates a bit of atmosphere even if the place is empty (much like it was on my late Saturday afternoon visit). A couple of TVs showing sport. Worthwhile adding to a crawl of the city for the novelty value but ale nuts would be best advised not to get too excited.

On 18th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Old Ale House

Excellent town centre pub, visited at lunchtime and it was consequently a bit quiet. Ales were very good and well kept - my Ringwood Fortyniner was brilliant - but we didn't have time to eat. Would certainly visit again. Above average.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Old Ale House

This is a superb town centre pub which combines traditional and modern aspects of pub life to produce an odd, by highly likeable, hybrid. There is live music on occasion, sports matches on the flat screen tvs and the odd gaming machine. The clientele is mixed, ranging from teenage sports-bar types to CAMRA crawlers. The beer and plain, unpretentious atmosphere make it though. My last visit involved pints of both 6X and Ringwood Best, both well kept and decent pints. The only real let-down is that the staff can sometimes appear less than interested, but that does not detract from the beer quality. Recommended for a quiet lunchtime pint or a rendezvous for an evening out.

On 17th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2602 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Old Ale House

Having read tottonfemale's comment I expected to be looking for this place down an alleyway but no, despite the map not showing this section of road named as Crane St, it's right there at the corner with High St. Quite a large bar area with plain floorboards & some wooden open booth seating opposite & opening out a little at either end. Large plasma on far end of bar and drop-down screen to right were showing early football Sat, handpumps offered 6X, OSH, Theakston Black Bull, and Abbot was available on stillage behind bar. We were wobbling back past at 23:50 and just managed a final pint before the midnight cut-off.

On 25th February 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Rowe left this review about The Old Ale House

A well run town pub, serving food lunchtimes. Usually well-kept 6X, Pedigree, Ringwood Fortyniner and guest beers on tap. Thurs night live bands perform; if you're lucky, Cast Iron Shores and Mister Kite may be on the bill.

On 21st August 2004 - rating: 8
[User has posted 65 recommendations about 57 pubs]