User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Virtual Great British Beer Festival 2020 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Cross Keys, Marlborough

High Street
Great Bedwyn
Postal town: Marlborough
SN8 3NU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Cross Keys

No longer a pub, building remains intact but now converted into a picture / art shop

On 5th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Cross Keys

Went by today, For Sale sign up but pub is still open

On 28th August 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Cross Keys

A street corner village boozer which has been wholly modernised internally leaving a large, one roomed area.
The floor is wood boards, the walls decorated with musical pictures and jokes and the furniture sparse which may well be to leave space for live music performances.
As noted already the service was friendly and excellent representing the best of a village pub.
Two beers were available from boxes behind the bar which raised an eyebrow or two. Both from the local Kennet & Avon Brewery: Rusty Lane Red Ale and Dundas Bitter. The latter was very good and had I not known I wouldn't have guessed its method of dispense.
Worth a visit for the welcome and a decent pint.

On 3rd August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Cross Keys

This pub has a pleasing exterior on a street corner in this small village,not far from the Kennet & Avon Canal and close to the station.It has been opened out into one large room with a modest bar to the left,the decor is modern and there is a music theme,with occasional live performances.The soundtrack was well chosen and added to the atmosphere.
On entering the heart sank when faced with three handpumps will all clips reversed,but when enquiring about the real ale options,the friendly barman pointed to two boxed ales from the Kennet & Avon Brewery namely Rusty Lane Red and Dundas (on very fine form)
This appears to be a wet led pub,although we may have arrived after the food service hours mid afternoon,and is very much a community boozer.An old lady who had enjoyed a glass of wine,was showing signs of flagging,and without being condesending,the barman offered to escort her home,a wonderfully kind and generous act.For me that says everything you may wish to know about this pub,I will certainly return next time I'm in Great Bedwyn.

On 15th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2058 recommendations about 2058 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Cross Keys

I can confirm it is now open, I was in Great Bedwyn early September, not the most tempting of pub visages at the time, just pinned up notice "we are open", could do with a bit of exterior prettying up, like flower baskets, but given the location in a thatched cottage village, near the Great Western railway station to to Reading, loads of commuters, and the Kennet & Avon canal all nearby and easy walking distance it should survive with a bit of effort, but I expect will have to be food led and not rely on serving pints of mild

On 7th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Cross Keys

Now re-opened: http://crosskeysbedwyn.com/

April 2014
Closed 08/04/2014. Barmaid at the Three Tuns said it had been closed a while but rumours were that it would be re-opening as a pub 'sometime soon'.

On 7th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about The Cross Keys

We visited for lunch on a wet day in February.

The side door was open so in we went, nice fire, and that was about the best bit of our visit

The person who I assume was the landlord gave us a grunt and went out the back, we sat down near the nice fire, looked at the walls, and walked out after 5 minutes of inactivity

We walked up to the Three Tuns where we were treated as customers and not a hindrance

Update 31 Jan 2008 - since returned on a few occasions towards end of last year, a pleasant change, very friendly with good food & 6X

They also have extensive vegetarian selection of food if that is important to you

On 3rd February 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]