User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 13th October 2019) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

Inns of Court, Wakefield Central, Wakefield

22 King Street
Wakefield
WF1 2SR
Phone: 01924375560

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Tenanted (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about Inns of Court

A decent traditional style back street pub. Basically now a single room with a pool table to the right of the bar. 6 handpulls with basic nationals on sadly. Despite the bland choice of beers it was a nice enough place.

On 14th September 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3356 recommendations about 3272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Inns of Court

A back street corner pub with large windows, some internal walls retained but mostly now a large area for vertical drinking. Busy at the time of my early evening visit. The bar has six hand pumps, with beers all from the Marstons stable. Although it was pretty noisy I quite liked it here - though to be fair I didn't stop for long, just time enough to drink a half of Jennings Bitter and move on.

Date of visit: 15th July 2017

On 8th September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2417 recommendations about 2281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Inns of Court

A decent pub despite the rock oriented clientele in the left hand room. Always has Marstons Old Empire on which is one of my favourites. I use it for watching the football and rugby on the big screen in the corner but first went in in 1984 when I started to work in Wakefield.

On 27th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1451 recommendations about 1449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Inns of Court

Unbranded Marston's house with some decorative glazing and various other features of interest both inside and out. Pleasantly traditional interior with low-height partitions between the various tables by the windows. Also has a pool area to the other side of the entrance corridor. Six handpumps on the counter, offering Cumberland and Sneck Lifter from Jenning's Bitter, Old Empire and Hobgoblin plus Okell's Bitter and Little Red Riding Hood from Castle Rock (£2.70) as guests.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5722 recommendations about 5722 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Inns Of Court

A one roomed pub, but with a couple of different areas. To the left is a dartbaord and to the right a pool table. Lots of trophies on display, so they're obviously good at pub games here. Lots of 60's postees on the walls and there's some decent stained glass. What lets it down is the ripped, leather look seating which just makes the whole place look shabby. 6 handpumps on the bar, all from the extended Marston's stable. I had a pint of Marston's New World Pale which was in very good nick. Not an A list pub, but the beer quality is good, so worth a look in.

On 2nd September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2729 recommendations about 2657 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Inns Of Court

UPDATE: APRIL 2014.
A recent flying pint in the IOC showed that remarkably little has changed since my last visit. It’s still the same basic back street boozer, with an eclectic clientele. However, the reputation of its beer quality received a boost in being voted Marston’s Cask Pub of the Year (North) 2012 and gaining an entry into the 2014 GBG. On trying the Banks’ ‘Sunbeam’ and Marston’s ‘Old Empire’, both were in good nick, if a little cold for my palate. Overall, I suspect the appeal of this place depends on how much you’re a fan of the Marston stable of beers. Personally, they don’t do a lot for me, but if you’re that way inclined you should find something to enjoy here.
********

ORIGINAL VISIT 19.04.2011:
An unpretentious, traditional, back street two roomer, owned by Marston’s Brewery. As the name would suggest it’s found in what passes for Wakefield’s legal quarter, tucked away just behind the grand old Crown Court building (closed) and the nearby Magistrate’s Court. There is little that is remarkable, regarding the interior, but the stained glass and latticed windows have some character and hint at how the pub once was. (Note also the now bricked up, old style corner entrance.)

Four hand pumps at the bar featured beers from the extended Marston’s stable: Ringwood ‘Lovey Warne’, Marston’s ‘EPA’, Jennings Bitter and Wychwood ‘Hobgoblin’. The Lovey Warne was in excellent nick, served by a friendly, chatty barman. One slight niggle, as with a lot of Marston’s pubs these days, was the collection of pump clips from previously featured beers on the back wall. The idea seems to be one of suggesting to casual drinkers that there’s a rotation of true guest beers. However, as 80-90% are drawn from the brewery’s range it largely seems to be an exercise in kidology.

Surprisingly busy, with a mellow atmosphere, when I called late afternoon on a Thursday. Quite an eclectic clientele, including pensioners, young mums with pushchairs and middle-aged bikers! I suspect it’s also popular with students from the college just up the road and despite its apparently sleepy back street location the barman told me it can get rammed at the weekend with those on the Westgate Run.

I think few would claim that it’s on Wakefield’s A-list, myself included, but there’s a certain warmth about the place and the beer quality has always been good on my, admittedly sporadic, visits. Worth considering as a ‘wild card’ if contemplating a crawl in the city.

On 10th May 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 330 recommendations about 317 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Inns Of Court Hotel

This fairly run of the mill pub in the back streets presumably has some historic or geographical attachment to nearby legal quarters although there isn’t much in evidence within the pub or elsewhere as to the pub’s origins. The interior is divided into two either side of the main entrance. The main bar to the left has a dart board and fairly standard décor with little that catches the eye. The area away from the bar contains a pool table. The staff and regulars at the bar were quite welcoming and chatty althought the latter were getting towards the end of their daily tenancy judging from the slurred speech. Some of the dangling lights will test the vertically gifted and the coloured latticed windows probably throw up a few interesting shafts of light on a sunny day. The 4 ale pumps had a decent enough choice with a couple of Wychwood ales (Hobgoblin and Jaqnuary Sale) plus Jennings Bitter and Marstons Sweet Chariot. There is a big screen as well as seemingly pointless TV over the main door that would be difficult to view from anywhere in either of the 2 bars. Whilst the pub can’t be considered an essential visit, it has enough to merit popping in for a quick pint if passing by.

On 1st March 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jason Hawkins left this review about Inns Of Court Hotel

Best jukebox in town. Still has the original pub look with a real variety of customers. Jennings on hand pull with a guest every week. I like this pub.

On 6th November 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]