User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with trainman on the Pub Forum

Puzzle Hall Inn, Sowerby Bridge

21 Hollins Mill Lane
Sowerby Bridge
HX6 2RF

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


aleand hearty left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

After a prolonged period of uncertainty, the Puzzle Hall Inn recently reopened as a community owned pub. Initial reports on social media have been praising the beer quality. Great news for the Sowerby real ale scene.

On 7th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 365 recommendations about 349 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

Loads of visits since my last review. Luckily the pub dodged the Boxing Day floods which hit the town and is still as good as ever. Sadly Poppy is no longer around, but the regulars in the main bar are always up for a chat. The ale choice is always good and always in top condition. It was no different on this visit thankfully.

06/04/2010
A fine old boozer just up the road from The Works. It's like walking into an isolated moorland pub but it's 200 yards from the centre of Sowerby Bridge. As you arrive you get a mad tail wagging greeting from Poppy the pub dog. You enter into a small lounge area where the bands play a couple of nights a week. Through a door to the right is a comfortable old bar area with a real fire and a few tables and chairs. Six handpumps on the bar serving a couple of Timothy Taylors beers and 4 changing guests. I had a couple of decent pints in here (Newby Wyke Bardia & Summer Wine Sirius) whilst we got talking to some of the regulars. Two lived on boats on the canal, one was a lock keeper and another one was retired and had been a foreman on the refurbishment of the nearby Works. It's a cracking little pub, don't miss it when in town.

On 13th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2865 recommendations about 2785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

Another good traditional pub, which was only a short walk from the Works. This is a well supported pub for its quality of well kept ales and also as a music venue. There were 6 ales on handpump on our visit, so we went for The Wishbone Brewery, Bandit APA, a new micro brewery from Keighley. We also went for the Brunswick White Feather, both ales were exceptionally good.

On 9th November 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

The Puzzle Hall Inn is a stone built pub that still has its old Timothy Taylor signage ouside.
There is no front entrance,you enter the pub from the rear,once inside i had a drink in a small oblong shaped room which had the bar facing,the floor is tiled,the seating bench type and small stools,there was another separate room which i did'nt look into.
I had a drink of Ilkley Gold which was a very nice drink,the other beers noted were Ilkley Black,Elland Blonde,Acorn Forestry and Abbeydale Deception,a very good choice of real ales to sample.
The pub was quite busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 29/8/2015

On 29th August 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

An odd looking building indeed with what looks like a brewery behind it. I asked the bloke behind the bar if it was originally a Taylor's pub and he confirmed it was. I found a reference to it being a Taylor's pub as recently as 2010, but suspect that is incorrect as the 2008 GBG which would have been written in 2007 said it is now a Free House.
It's surprisingly small inside and on my Saturday afternoon visit fairly quiet.
On the six pumps there was a cider, Saltaire Hop #256 and Boathouse, Outstanding 3.9, Green Mill Gibble Gabble and Orkney Dark Island. I went for the Hop #256 and enjoyed it so much I decided to have a second.
I much preferred this place to the other two in the same street and if I were to return to the town would come straight here and swerve the other two.
My only reservation with it is the fact it's a live music venue so I would avoid it on music nights and their occasional poetry nights.

On 18th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

The third of the Hollins Mill Lane triumvirate,the pub sits below the Rochdale Canal but sadly there is no towpath access at this point.This stone built pub has a lot of TT insignia outside,but none of their beer,just a well thought out selection of real ales.My Ilkley Lotus IPA was on top form.Music plays an important part in the life of the pub,yet the banquette in the tap room looks a quiet spot in which to settle,with real fireplaces in both rooms.There is a charming outside area to the side of the pub.There are also poetry reading nights when quiet behaviour is appreciated,this pub has an artistic feel.The welcome from the barmaid was most friendly.
Another of the pubs in Sowerby Bridge that should really be visited,I will most certainly be back.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2079 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

A traditional stone built local with a sign which suggests that it is a Timothy Taylor house despite none of their beer being available.
Inside you pass through the larger of the two rooms to reach the bar which is situated in a small and comfortable taproom. The larger room seems dedicated to music with a performance area to one side and all the decor being music related along with posters informing of upcoming acts. One of the crew, a music afficianado, was impressed with the quality of bands attracted by the pub.
I was impressed with the well selected ale range which consisted of Ilkley Lotus IPA and Gold, Pheonix Arizona, St. Austell Tribute and Titanic Plum Porter. The Lotus IPA was well kept and flew down.
Although it was quiet on our mid afternoon visit, I can easily see how atmospheric this place could be when busy as A&H describes below and I'd certainly visit again if in Sowerby Bridge.

On 16th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

A strange shaped old building with a traditional two room pub inside, one room is for live music which appears to be very regular, the other is a cozy taproom. Both rooms traditionally furnished with flag floors, open fires and wooden furniture, the walls are decorated with B&W photos of musicians and 1960s subjects. A good range of well kept Yorkshire beers available on the pulls.

On 1st April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

Fans of old-style, traditional pubs, will find The Puzzle Hall a bit of a treat. Originally built as a private residence in 1628; it became a pub approximately 100 years later. The original stone building is suitably aged and rather rustic looking, with an incongruous, if characterful, brick tower which was added when the pub had its own on site brewery.

Inside, it’s a small two roomer, with décor best described as basic and a sense of cosiness just the right side of tatty. A small bar manages to house six pumps and beer quality is excellent. The four I tried, including Saltaire ‘South Island Pale’ and Roosters ‘Yankee’ were all in tip-top nick. Service from the young barmaid was friendly and efficient.

A great atmosphere when we called on a Saturday afternoon – the place was nicely busy and it wasn’t long before a couple of friendly locals engaged us in conversation. I could quite happily have settled down for an extended session, but unfortunately time was against us. However, any future visits to Sowerby will definitely have the Puzzle Hall on my ‘to do’ list.

On 25th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 365 recommendations about 349 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Darren Carney left this review about Puzzle Hall Inn

Now re-opened and doing a storming trade. Excellent live bands at the weekend with only one possible complaint- it can be too busy!!! Most pubs dont have that problem. If you have never been just go for the experience - its well worth it.

On 1st May 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 9 recommendations about 9 pubs]

Page: 1 2