User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Salt Cellar, Shipley

192 Saltaire Road
Saltaire
Postal town: Shipley
BD18 3JF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Salt Cellar

An excellent job of breathing new life into a tired old pub. Sadly the wonderful but formidable landlady wasn’t working on my visit but her influence was apparent. A high quality, friendly pub with decent beer, six pulls of mostly local beers. Two bars, public and lounge although nowt to choose between them, both are nice.

On 6th December 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Salt Cellar

This is something of a contrast from Fanny's as it is an original two bar pub with a very well maintained and comfy interior. The public bar has become a gin bar and looked empty on my Friday afternoon visit. The Lounge bar was fairly busy, well lit with comfy furnishings. There was a table of shrieking harridans near where I sat and I felt sorry for the solitary young male in the group who clearly wasn't equipped with ear plugs. I was told later that the group were all teachers, I just hope that none of their pupils were present!
The bar has six hand pumps which had Oscar's Werewolf Dark Mild, Bingley Salt Cellar (house beer), Blonde & Easy Peasy Tangerine plus Settle Ernie's Milk Stout and Blonde. I went for the Mild (£3.30 discounted) and the Milk Stout (£3.33 discounted) both of which were in good nick. I liked it here and would return but somehow the more shambolic Fanny's appealed more. It's GBG 2020 listed.

On 11th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Salt Cellar

Refurbished and renamed since the previous reviews, but sympathetically done to a high standard. There are two rooms served from an island bar, one of these can be used as a function room. It's very nicely decorated with several areas all separated by dividers. There were a few "ladies who lunch" in, but they weren't advertising food. After a while I realised that these were "ladies who drank quite a lot of cider" :-)) There's a small beer patio at the rear, in reality this is 3 tables in a car park. 6 handpumps with 5 on and my pint of Kirkby Lonsdale Tiffin was in good nick, although it turned out to be quite an insipid beer, which wasn't the pubs fault. A pleasant pub that I'd happily bring Ms CAMRA to.

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3002 recommendations about 2918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Victoria

Fine-looking pub on the eastern outskirts of Saltaire, presumably just beyond the original restrictions of Sir Titus's planned township. Retains a twin-bar layout, with comfortable furniture and decor in the lounge (although the last refurbishment must have been some time ago as parts are starting to look a bit threadbare). Pool table in the public bar. Four of six handpumps were on, offering Wainwright, Hobgoblin, Flying Scotsman and TT Golden Best (£2.60). Overall, despite it being (perhaps unsurprisingly) very quite mid-afternoon on a Monday, you get the impression that it is a decent sort of place.

On 9th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Victoria

Seems to be aiming at the ale-house market, probably to compete with Fanny's across the road. The décor is plain rather than quaint and the choice of beers is a bit pedestrian, being biased towards nationals and regionals, for the ale house market. Having said that it's not a bad place for a drink but I think as part of a crawl rather than a destination, it was late afternoon but the atmosphere was a bit stilted and the service sluggish. It's open plan with lots of old pine stained wood and some nice stained glass, probably a later addition. The right hand bar has a pool table.

On 27th September 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Victoria

Traditional two-room pub (lounge to left, public to right) that may well have been quite plush a few years ago but looks rather worn round the edges now and quite scruffy in places, the attractive bar an honourable exception. Six ales on - Copper Dragon, Harvest Pale, Guzzler, GK IPA Gold, TT Golden Best, Hobgoblin – the quality wasn’t much to write home about, both the usually-reliable Castle Rock and Copper Dragon beers were both out-of-condition. Reading other reviews it seems like this place has an issue with retaining licensees (the friendly chap in here had only been in situ a few weeks) and attracting customers (I was the only one at 3.30pm). It’s in the GBG but, much like the nearby Fanny’s, I began to wonder just how much the local branch get out. Still, there’s a lot of potential here. But are there enough customers to go round?

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nic Hill left this review about The Victoria Hotel

Good selection of Hand pulled Ales, Camra Pub of the season.
Relaxed friendly atmosphere with fantastic staff!

Every Tuesday - Acoustic Folk Night
Every Wedneday - Quiz night with cash prizes & free supper
Every Thursday - Popular Jam session

All of the above starting at 9pm

Last Thursday of every month; Live band

On 28th June 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]