User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with ETA on the Pub Forum

The Beehive, Shipley

1 Saltaire Road
Shipley
BD18 3HH

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Shipley Pride

Scheduled to reopen 8th December 2018 under its former name of The Beehive.

On 8th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Shipley Pride

will reopen in 2018 after the owner of the Beehive and Jacobs Well in Bradford, bought the landmark pub

On 27th November 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Shipley Pride

A two roomed traditional pub with a lounge side on the right and bar side on left, which are accessible from a small front lobby area with two doors. Five pumps with four in use on our visit. I was struck on the choice of beers, until one of the customers advised me to try the Baildon Blonde, which is brewed in the Junction pub down the road. The beer was ok, but didn't merit a refill. The downside here was the loud naff music playing.

On 27th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Shipley Pride

The Shipley Pride is a large looking three storey pub that is just off Shipley's town centre.
Once inside the main room is oblong shaped and seemed quite smart in my opinion,the seating was very comfy leather bench type and small stools, alos noticed another small room to the left,carpeted throughout.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Saltaire Blonde which went down well,the other beers were Black Sheep and Golden Sheep.
A very pleasant pub that was nice and warm on a horrible wet day,just a shame it was empty on my Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub visited 28/11/2015

On 3rd January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Shipley Pride

Originally called the Beehive hotel as the captain says, and with two rooms now open plan with a cheap and cheerful counter against the front wall. There is a basic unplastered room further back with a pool table. Traditionally furnished in wood and still retaining some stained glass, the walls are painted red and are decorated with old photos. Three handpumps each side of the counter, there's always a Salamander beer on plus guests, beer quality apparently varies.

On 27th September 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Shipley Pride

A great ungainly slab of a building with quite a traditional three room layout inside with red walls, some nice stained glass and laid back, relaxed vibe. Five pumps with four ales, I tried the York Centurions Ghost and the Golden Salamander which were both in good nick and a far cry from the ropey beer quality in the preceding Victoria and Fannys. A very friendly barmaid here who was happy to hold court and keep the atmosphere going whilst getting her work done. A slight downside was the (and I quote from my notes) “over-loud naff music”. My first encounter with the king of foreign bar snacks - Snyder's of Hanover Pretzel Pieces – so nice I took two home with me. Those of a keggy disposition may enjoy a rare sighting of Red Stripe on font. Perhaps not the most exciting pub in the area but certainly the best ale and most friendly welcome on my mini-crawl of the strip.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Shipley Pride

Formerly the Beehive Hotel,it is still possible to see the old insignia,this is a very traditional Victorian pub with two distinct sections,a public bar to the left of the front entrance with a bare boarded floor and a carpeted lounge to the right.The island bar serves both sections and there is a short joining corridor between the bars.I particularly liked the stained glass windows,and the lounge banquettes with small stools which wrapped around the inner walls.There is a fireplace,above which is a lot of CAMRA literature and there are two quizes a week,one general knowledge the other music.
There was a friendly welcome from behind the bar and a choice of four real ales from the five handpumps on my trip with guests Golden Salamander,Osset Silver King and Ilkley Mary Jane supplemented by the regular TT Landlord.Care is taken with ale quality and rightly this pub is listed in the 2012 GBG.
There is a prominent wall mounted juke box in the lounge,and tunes are played at quite a volume but I was in early doors,and as the pub filled this became less of a distraction.
A good double header with Fanny's up the road,I would certainly return .There is a good curry house opposite ,The Pride is wet led only.

On 17th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2355 recommendations about 2355 pubs]