User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Hope & Anchor, Pontefract

North Baileygate
Pontefract
WF8 1ES

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Hope & Anchor

A fantastic looking building (apologies to those that think one photo per pub should be enough) opposite the half-ruined church and a brisk five minute walk from Monkhill station, but twice as far from Baghill where my train from Sheffield came in. Once inside there are what should have been two rooms opened out into one, with the bar on the left, its back to the front wall. There seemed to be a bit of work in progress, and when I showed a smidgen of interest the owner showed me around the new garden/patio area. I was more interested in the photos of many old Pontefract pubs, some of which have been gone so long (or at least, repurposed as shops and banks) that they are not on this site. Unfortunately these positives are somewhat offset by a rather glaring negative: I wasn't much impressed with the beer. To be fair there was a reasonable choice, on six hand pumps, one of them a cider, with only Bradfield Farmers Blonde easy to rule out at first glance (see photo); of course I couldn't, as a Leeds Rhinos fan, go for the beer with a Castleford Tigers player on the pump clip, so this left me with three possibles. My half of Black Monk, named after a local ghost it seems, was undistinguished and a little tired, but not really complainably so. I wouldn't let this put me off calling in again if ever in Pontefract.

Date of visit: 27th February 2020

On 7th April 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about Hope & Anchor

Close to Monkhill station, it looks to be a large corner pub that's been opened out to a single room, go in and turn sharpe left to the counter where you will find a choice of six localish beers. The area in front of the counter is furnished with sofas and low tables and chairs, to the right there's a selection of high tables and chairs plus some higher bench seating. The beer is well kept but too bloody cold. All too dreadfully middle class for me but with a friendly landlord. Classic views of the ancient ruined castle walls opposite. Stocks 96 gins.

On 19th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Hope & Anchor

I was drawn into the Hope and Anchor on Monday evening a couple of weeks ago by the advertisements for Sky Sports. After ordering a couple of pints it became apparent that Sky Sports was not available. This was also true for the advertised pool table that was nowhere to be seen. Live music was advertised as was a weekly Thursday evening quiz, but whether these events are fact or fiction I have no idea. I can confirm that there is a dartboard to the right of the entrance. The bar on the rear wall faces the entrance and to the left is a seating area with a real crackling fire and banquettes with tables and chairs. The plasma screen was showing pictures from the pub and some background music came from a jukebox. Standard keg products were available from the bar that supports two hand pumps that were both drawing Black Sheep.
My work colleague and I were the only customers until the pub filled up with the darts/cribbage/dominoes team and there visiting competitors. They made us feel very welcome and invited us to share the sandwiches that had been laid on for the two teams. Due to this hospitality we had an enjoyable stay and left far later than we had planned.
The doors do not open until 16:00 during the week and the freehold is for sale. When new owners are found hopefully they will not change this pub, other than sorting out the Sky Sports! The next time I find myself in the area on a Monday evening I will pop in on the off chance that the pub sports team is playing at home. Maybe I will win back the money I lost on the football card!

On 2nd May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Hope & Anchor Inn

The Hope and Anchor is a large brick built Victorian pub that is a short walk uphill from Monkhill train station.
Once inside there is a single L shaped room with the bar facing,the left side is carpeted and has comfy bench seating and small stools,there was a TV on which i did'nt take much notice of,the right side is bare boarded and has bench seating and small stools,plus a darts board,the far right side is slightly raised.
There was one real ale on the bar which was Black Sheep bitter,this was a nice drink.
This is a very smart and comfortable pub,one i could well settle in for a session.

Pub visited 29/7/2015

On 29th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Wood left this review about Hope & Anchor Inn

"The Hope" is a great drinkers pub, It doesn't do bar meals but occasionally puts on buffets for darts and doms' etc.
It's a very friendly pub and the relitively new Landlady Angie and her husband Andy along with the bar staff and regulars make you feel very welcome. It's not the biggest pub in the world but what it hasn't got in size is made up for in character with an open fire. (Great for those cold winter nights!) It's got a pool table, darts and dominoes as well as sky TV for all you sports fans.
And for the smokers it has a shelter with outdoor heaters in the beer garden to the side.
A great pub all round serving good quality beers and Lagers... It's well worth giving it a try.

On 26th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Eddie Fogden left this review about Hope & Anchor Inn

This pub used to be a regular John Smith’s Cask outlet, but after several ‘dodgy barrels’ is now a Black Sheep pub. They serve a very good pint of Black Sheep Bitter too, and despite this being the only cask ale for sale, they keep it very well. It is located out of town near to Monkhill train station and can be reached by services 148, 149 and 150. The Railway is very close by too. There is a big screen in here and there are regular Dominoes games also. If your walking, the best way is to walk on the pedestrian walkway which runs by Pontefract Castle.

On 5th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]