User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Horse and Farrier, Otley

Bridge Street
Otley
LS21 1BQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Horse and Farrier

This pub is more of a gastro pub, than traditional, especially when they were offering a Lobster salad, as a starter on their Saturday lunchtime chalk board menu. The central bar is modern with a granite counter top and chrome handpumps, offering a choice of 6 ales. I went for the Briscoe's Otley Gold, which was tasteless; a glass of water would have made a better choice, not the pub's fault may I add. The beer I tried was priced at £3.02, a bit odd to stick the 2p on top. The original tiled entrance walls and rear corridor in grey and cream up to dado height, were an interesting feature here.

On 7th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Horse and Farrier

The Horse and Farrier is a stone built pub that is situated quite close to the town centre and bridge over the River Wharf.
Once inside there are two small rooms to the front either side of the entrance,the front left room had normal tables and chairs and a leather settee,the serving bar is in the middle area of the pub,the rear right of this area is raised with the seating being normal tables and chairs,the bar area had pew type seating and normal tables and chairs,the room is bare boarded.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Oakells MPA which was quite a nice drink,the other beers i noted were Roosters Wild Mule,Briscoe Dalebottom Dark,Goose Eye Pommies Revenge,Ilkley Mary Jane and a beer from York brewery.
I quite liked this pub,another Otley pub i could settle in for a session.

Pub visited 8/11/2014

On 8th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Horse and Farrier

This pub started its life as the Three Horseshoes, back in the mid 1800's, taking its name from a nearby smithy. In the late 1980's/early 90's, the pub was for some strange reason renamed 'The Lix', before reverting to its original name until 2011 when Market Town Taverns took over and christened it 'The Horse and Farrier'. The pub today has quite a nice layout, spread across several distinctly different areas, but still has the feel of a newly opened venture which hasn't had the time to develop any character of its own. You enter through the tiled porch into a seating area which extends either side of the front door. There was some comfortable seating here, nice pictures on the walls and a lit stove to one side making it a cosy and warm space to enjoy a bit of people watching through the front windows. The bar is a little further into the pub, running down the left side in an open, bare boarded area with a raised, carpeted seating area directly opposite. Simple chair and bench seating is the order of the day here and although it is a bit basic, I quite enjoyed the elevated vantage point this space offered. There isn't much in the way of visual distraction in this pub, although there are a good number of whisky adverts adorning the walls here and beyond the servery a different theme emerges in the rear left part of the pub, which has been decorated with a decent collection of motorcycle pictures. This almost snug-like space offers a few further seating options and adjoins the corridor leading towards the rear garden which provides some benches similar to those available out the front of the pub. Stairs in the bar area lead up to a function room and the pub also has four rooms to let.
The usual strong MTT ale range was evident here, with the row of handpulls offering Taylor Landlord, Okells MPA, Roosters Londinium, Saltaire Cascade Pale, Rudgate Jorvik Blonde, Moorhouse Blonde Witch, Black Sheep Bitter and Ilkley Mary Jane. I generally find it hard to pass up a Roosters beer, so I gave the Londinium a try and thought it was another fine beer from this excellent brewery. A strong keg line up including plenty of rarely seen options was detailed in full on a board behind the bar.
A fellow PuG contributor told me that this is arguably the weakest Market Town Tavern and from my admittedly limited experience of the chain, I would be inclined to agree. That is however, not quite so damning as it might sound, as this chain sets very high standards and whilst I felt this place was a little bland and lacking in atmosphere, it remains a solid pub, with a good range of well kept ales and is a safe bet to include on a crawl around town.

On 9th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Horse and Farrier

cracking little pub that just gets better and better by far the best pint in otley cheers

On 9th November 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Tunnicliffe left this review about The Horse and Farrier

Just when you thought Otley had everything it needed in the way of pubs (not to mention a few it didn't).... Market Town Taverns have finally reached the town. I have personally always liked the simple, clean lines that are their decorating style and what was 'The Three Horseshoes' has definitely been improved by them. They've also done a great job turning the back yard into a pleasant if functional beer 'garden'. As you'd expect the beer range, both British and European, is great both on draught and in bottles and seems to change at a steady pace; but not so fast that you'll only ever get 1 pint of anything! Also true to form the menu is well priced and varied, without being so huge you need a separate table just to open it on. My partner and I ate there and were very impressed with the quality of all aspects of the food; service, attention to detail and of course the high quality of the food itself. Is 'The Horse and Farrier' a ground breaking new pub then? No. Better still, it's Market Town Taverns doing what they do best; creating a pub you never want to leave!

On 10th June 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Horse and Farrier

The fifteenth and latest Market Town Tavern in the outstanding chain, it follows the successful mix and style of the other bars, clean simple lines, European brewery advertising signs as décor, light wood furniture, good range of Yorkshire cask beers on 8 pulls plus the carefully chosen standard range of wines, Euro-kegs and bottled beers. The staff are a bit more informal than in some MTTs but still as slick as most. It's quite a large open plan space with a raised area to one side, and there is a beer garden at the back. Woodwork is finished in trendy grey and the seating is largely at tables and chairs with Duvel bottles acting as candle holders. Some people find MTTs a little bare but the quality is undeniable.

On 1st May 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2300 recommendations about 2131 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Three Horse Shoes

Reported to have been acquired by Market Town Taverns. Due to re-open in Spring 2011, after a major refurb.

On 15th December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 371 recommendations about 355 pubs]