User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

Junction Inn, Otley

44 Bondgate
Otley
LS21 1AD
Phone: 01943463233

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Junction Inn

What has happened to this place my wife and I called in on a Saturday afternoon to find a virtually dead pub and now I know why the beer was virtually undrinkable even my wife,s lager was horrible

On 8th March 2020 - rating: 1
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 86 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Junction Inn

It's been a while since I was in this GBG listed pub, it's still beloved of local Camra types, still the same pedestrian range of beers although the quality isn’t bad it might be a case of 6 beers good 11 beers better. Fairly poor quality customers, some old couple gave me the evil eye but the Lionel Jefferies lookalike amused me for a bit after I stared him out. Actually not as bad as that sounds and it still ticks the Camra boxes.

On 2nd February 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Junction Inn

Not been in here for a while. Where pleasantly surprised - a great improvement compared to our last visit. Will definitely be back again

On 6th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 86 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Junction Inn

A good traditional Yorkshire pub and well worth a visit. There was a choice of eleven ales on handpump on our visit, so we went for the Kirby Lonsdale Stanley's Cask and Copper Dragon Golden Pippin. Both were an excellent choice and prices were very reasonable. The pubs interior is traditional in style and has kept a lot of it's original features. There was an open fire set in the central column in the main bar area. Customers in here on our Saturday afternoon visit were mostly local dog walkers, who had popped in for a beer and chat with likeminded others.

On 5th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Junction Inn

The Junction is separated from Korks Wine Bar by an Indian restaurant.
This is a nice looking stone built corner pub.
Once inside there is a small snug to the front left,the main bar room is oblong shaped and runs to the rear of the pub,,the serving bar is on the left side,there is comfy bench seating running down the right side,there was also a real fire on the go which was nice on a cold wet day.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Leeds Yorkshire Gold which went down very well in a nice warm pub,the other beers i noted were York Ghost Ship,Hop Back Summer Lightening,Taylor Landlord / Best Bitter,Theakston Best and London Pride.
I was quite happy and comfortable drinking in this pub.

Pub visited 8/11/2014

On 8th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Junction Inn

One of several pubs and bars along Bondgate, the Junction Inn is a pleasant pub with brick floor, lots of dark beams and exposed stone walls combining to create a cosy, traditional feel. You enter into the main bar area, with a small snug immediately to your left with a few seats and access to the bar. To the right, a long, sweeping banquette curves around the front corner and runs a fair way into the main part of the pub, accompanied by standard chairs and low stools. There are a lot of horse riding items such as saddles and stirrups hanging from the beams above in this room, which was a bit of an unusual feature. Further into the room, a large stone pillar marks the mid section of the room which has more banquette seating, some very attractive large black and white photos on the walls, lots of horse brasses, a Black Cat Cigarettes mirror, a collection of bottles on a high shelf and a lit fireplace on another wall which obscures the rear section of the room. To access this section, you have to pass beneath a wonderful curved wooden beam, before emerging into an area dominated by another long curved banquette underneath a large, plain mirror and some modern wallpaper made to look like bookshelves. On the left side, just past the end of the servery, the room extends into a small recess which houses a couple of fruit machines and a great collection of Hendricks' gin Bottles. There is a nice garden to the rear with plenty of picnic benches and some old enamel beer adverts attached to the perimeter fence.
With several new pretenders on the scene, the Junction can be viewed as one of the town's real ale stalwarts and even now, the selection is up there with the best the town can offer. The options on my visit were Ilkley Mary Jane, Wychwood Dogs Bollocks, Fullers London Pride, Theakston Lightfoot, Best Bitter and Old Peculiar, Taylor Best Bitter and Landlord, Hop Studio XP and Acorn Gorlovka Stout. The barmaid was a bit brusque, but she served up a fantastic pint of the Mary Jane, so I quickly forgave her.
This pub was absolutely heaving on my Saturday evening visit, creating a lively atmosphere reminiscent of a traditional rural pub. If there had been a spare seat free, I could have happily settled down and spent the evening here. I thought this was one of the highlights of my crawl around Otley and would not hesitate to recommend it.

On 11th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Junction Inn

The only GBG listed pub in Otley, although that is likely to change with the new additions in the town, some may be disappointed by the lacklustre range of beers however no such quibble would apply to the quality. There are 11 handpumps serving a choice of widely available ales from Taylors, Theakstons, the Marstons stable and Deuchars, I had a much rarer for Yorkshire Youngs Winter Warmer which was very good but just a touch cold. The single T-bar is tucked away on the less used side of the barcounter. An old building but I felt it tries a little too hard to be a characterful ale house, the décor pushes all the buttons with a tiled floor, tongue and groove to the dado with faded paper above carrying the usual old photos. There are some horse brasses and quite a collection of horse tackle, the odd drinks mirror, distressed sewing machine tables and faux victorian lamps with inappropriate energy saving bulbs. Having said that it's a reasonable place for a good quality pint.

On 31st December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Junction Inn

Not much to be added to John's review below - the range of ales was largely the same on my visit and it was notable as it is unusual to find beers like Sharp's Doom Bar and Jennings Cumberland in West Yorkshire in my experience. It is a single room pub with dark wood and a central fireplace, and has a 2010 GBG listing (i'm not up to date!). I thought it was reasonable without being terribly exciting, and for travel reasons we didn't stay beyond our one pint.

On 7th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Junction Inn

Occupying a prominent street corner position on the main road from Leeds into the West Yorkshire market town of Otley is The Junction, a solid looking typical Yorkshire stone built building.

A large single bar features a tiled floor, much wood panelling and a central fireplace. The walls are decorated with some evocative black and white prints of Otley and several enamel brewery posters. The rafters house a bottled beer collection and, on the other side of the fireplace, a collection of farming implements hang down from the dark beams. Comfortable, fixed seating run round the edge of the room with sturdy looking tables helping contribute towards a solid traditional feel to the pub. A smaller snug style drinking area on the left, which was probably once a separate bar, houses a fine pub mirror, featuring bulls horns.

Live guitarists feature on Tuesday evening. A Bank Holiday BBQ was being advertised, with proceeds to the Air Ambulance.

There's 11 handpumps in total, which, on my recent Tuesday afternoon visit, were serving Theakstons Best and Old Peculier, and Taylors Landlord and Best, which are apparently the 4 regular offerings. Guest beers include Deuchars IPA, Jennings Cumberland plus beers from Roosters, Hydes, Everards and Hobgoblin. Guests were priced at between £ 2.40p and £ 2.60p - which, for someone used to London beer prices, is very welcome. I noted that there's 50p off these prices on Mondays. Both the Taylors Best and Deuchars IPA ( £ 2.60p and £ 2.40p respectively ) were in good form. The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular.

Otley seems to have a number of pubs that are worth investigating, unfortunately time and work commitments meant that I only did this one plus The Bay Horse. I'd be more than happy to return to them both next time I'm in Otley

On 6th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alfie Aleswigger left this review about Junction Inn

19th century saloon style town pub with 11 real ales available! Packed to capacity 7 nights a week. Unarguably the best pub in Otley

On 28th February 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 46 recommendations about 44 pubs]