User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Head of Steam, Huddersfield Central, Huddersfield

Huddersfield Railway Station St. Georges Square
Huddersfield
HD1 1JB
Phone: 01484454533

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Head of Steam

Very disappointing visit to this place last night. There's lots of character to the pub with lots of wood panelling etc, along with a model train over the bar. What a pity the same couldn't be said of the bar staff. The personality free one that served us was wearing a Motorhead Road Crew T shirt. When I commented that it had been a bad week for Motorhead fans with Fast Eddie dying, he didn't seem to know who he was. A poor selection of beer on the bar with several from Camerons. My pint of Partners Hoppy Daze, wasn't hoppy and was poorly conditioned. We weren't going to have a second beer anyway, but the barman came round to tell us that if we wanted another drink we should go to the bar as they were going to close. It was 9:30!! Not good, I'll miss this one out next time.

On 15th January 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2779 recommendations about 2703 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Head of Steam

Having missed this one on the official PuG crawl the day before, I visited for a Saturday lunchtime pint, also taking time en route to pose for a picture with “Our Harold” on St Georges Square, as we were blessed with sunshine instead of the driving sleet of 24 hours earlier.
Of the two former station waiting rooms this one had more character for me being four distinct and slightly different rooms around the central bar. Service is only provided in the front two rooms and the two rooms at the back with wooden floors and half wood panelled rooms had more the feeling of being lounge bars.
The pub advertises 13 Keg taps (available in the left hand bar) and 14 Real ale pumps (lined up on the bar top in the right hand bar). We actually sat in the slightly plainer left hand bar as the right hand side was quite busy, and for what I could see, apart from a Duval and Brew Dog offering the rest of the keg taps were pretty standard offerings. Fortunately the Ales were not and those available for our visit included TT Boltmaker, Madness brewing Absolutely, Anarchy Brew Co. Anti-Venom, Sonet 43 Aurora Pale Ale, Yorkshire Brewery Blackout, Sorachi X111 Pale Ale and Gold Bullion and Strongarm from Camerons. I tried a couple of halves of the Any Venom and Yorkshire Blackout and both were well kept.
It’s a bloody good job I don’t commute by train and live in Huddersfield or I’d never get out the station.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1697 recommendations about 1646 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Head of Steam

Well, I'm sorry but tonight wasn't one of the best for this place. I've known far better beers and the front bars are populated by the noisy young. Still worth a seven based on previous visits.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1539 recommendations about 1537 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Head of Steam

This one has been around for years and after a dodgy patch seems to be returning to its best. The multi-room layout is well documented below. It was very busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
The 12 hand pumps for beer included three from Anarchy one of which I had to send back as it was cloudy. It was changed with good grace for something called Small Batch #37 Choc-Orange Oat Stout. I went for this (£3.50) which was excellent and I discovered after that it was from Black Sheep.
Despite being quite busy and the cloudy pint I liked both this one and the other station pub.

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Head of Steam

A very good pub to your right as you exit the station. Multi-roomed with the 2 to the left and right being the ones I went in. The room to the right is where you will find the handpumps. All 14 of them. Two end ones were for cider and the rest real ale. Naturally there is plenty of railway memorabilia dotted around each room. There where 6 pumps used for Hop House beers and the rest were from breweries I didn't bother noting. The room to your left is where you will find a selection of crafty ales and generic bitters and lagers. I liked this pub.

On 5th May 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Head of Steam

The head of Steam is situated to the left side of Huddersfield train station.
Once inside i did note the other rooms inside this pub,so can only comment on the room i had a drink in,this was a fairly small room which had normal tables and chairs and a pew seat to the front.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Small World Twin Falls which went down well as the last drink on my pub crawl round Huddersfield,the other beers noted were Small World Barncliffe Bitter,Small World Spring Bank and Small World Spikes Gold.
I thought this was a very nice pub to end my crawl in,and also very handy for the train station.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Head of Steam

A very large pub with four different rooms all being served from an island bar.If coming from St Georges Square,the right hand room looked the most authentic,the left hand room was overlit,souless furniture abounds,the flatscreen dominates and the interior here just resembles one of the less interesting 'spoons.The rear dining room section was unused on my brief late evening visit and although there are 10 handpumps,the condition of my Copper Dragon Golden Pippin was very average.With some care and attention ,this pub could be so much better but at present there are lots of superior ale houses in town

On 21st June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2032 recommendations about 2032 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Head Of Steam

Classic rail refreshment rooms that still seem to survive and thrive in Gods Own County. There's an entrance from both directly from the platform (1) and another from St George's Square. The interior is a multi-roomed layout, with the central island bar servicing ale to three rooms that each corner it, with the fourth set up for food. There’s also a long narrow room dedicated to traditional pub games. Loads of old rail memorabilia to be seen, the speciality seems to be the pre-war tin advertising signs and black and white pics of old steam trains. A lot of effort has gone into the interior which should be applauded. Eight ales available alongside a good number of proper ciders and perries. Disappointment here though; the usually reliable Copper Dragon Golden Pippin was warm and tinny tasting. Harviestoun Bitter & Twisted was better but still not up to standard, plus it came in a glass ravaged by a thousand rounds in the dishwasher, pitted and scarred, which I doubt helped matters. I also popped back in for a quick one before my train set off, Thwaites Dark Mild, which wasn’t much cop either. Oh dear.

Overall, this is a great character venue but the ale stopped it from being comparable to the WRLRR in Dewsbury, which I also visited.

On 6th September 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


cask drinker left this review about The Head Of Steam

i often go to the west riding in dewsbury the cellar bar in batley and have being to the navigation in mirfield which are all great pubs. we decided to go a bit futher out and thought we would give the head of steam a go for a change.

when we walked into the pub it was lifeless, it was saturday night, there were quite a few people in but no atmoshere at all.
the only cask beers were copper dragon golden pipin, black sheep, and 2 others one of which was brigton rocks at 4%. after finally getting served i ordered 2 pints of brighton rocks and a bag of nuts it came to £6.25 which i think is a bit pricey. it might have being worth it but the beer was not nice at all. no real taste and the aroma was like a can of carling lager.
there was a massive selection of bottled ales and we were going to buy a couple of bottles of sam smiths nut brown which is a very nice drink. however there was a train to dewsbury due and with the lack of any atmosphere and not much choice of cask we left and went to dewsbury for a choice of 8 cask ales. i dont think i will be going back to the head of steam for a while.

On 7th August 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Head Of Steam

Brilliant they had Northumberland Brewery on handpump what more can a guy say.

On 30th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]

Page: 1 2