User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Grove, Huddersfield

2 Spring Grove Street
Huddersfield
HD1 4BP
Phone: 01484430113

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Grove

What a find! This was the first pub we did as part of a crawl in Huddersfield a couple of weeks ago. I was expecting it to be a small bar or even a micro pub type place but this was so much better. Loads of hand pulls split across two bars, a chalk board listing everything, weird décor including the strangest cross-breed taxidermy you could imagine, paintings of half naked old people and witches hanging from the ceiling. The place was justifiably busy, but not uncomfortably so as it is a fairly decent sized place. I would be very happy to return, the beer was spot on.

On 20th August 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 520 recommendations about 473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Grove

Wow! If you're after real ale (and keg stuff if you prefer) then whenever you find yourself in Huddersfield then this is a must visit place. Slightly out of the way and hidden from the town centre. This two roomed pub has at least 19 handpulls spread over the two bars. The beer styles are also spread with IPAs, stouts, amber and bitters to choose from. Luckily there is a board in both rooms informing you of what's on. A fantastic pub.

On 15th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3387 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Grove

Been in this pub a few times and not really rated it but today the beers were on form today marble pint was very nice my wife was on the Helles lager which was good

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Grove

Absolutely packed on our Friday evening visit on the PuG crawl. There was hardly room to move nevermind get a good look at the decor. I did note lots of dead animals and paintings of people who should never have taken their clothes off, ever. My pint of Mallinsons Kiwi Classic was the best of a very good day though and I enjoyed the busy, buzzy atmosphere. Next time I visit it will need to be much earlier so I can get a feel for the place.

On 3rd December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2855 recommendations about 2776 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Grove

Tucked away beyond the ring road to the west of Huddersfield, I agree this pub would be a bit tricky to find if it wasn’t for the newish luminous green signs that make it look a bit like a Co-op from the outside. Fortunately inside its all beer and cider and how they manage to fit 19 ale pumps and 14 keg taps on the fairly small central square bar is a bit of a mystery. The challenge is that you can only see a small selection of what is available from whichever direction you approach and fortunately I realised the large chalk boards in each bar should be studied first before approaching the service area. We’d already had a cracking beer choice day by this stage and rather than trying to focus on the lower 10 changing brewery beers I went for the permanent Oakham Citra which is one of my favourite go-to beers and excellent it was.
The strange green colour scheme, eclectic art collection, animal taxidermy and dodgy nude artworks have all been described before but the bit of wall decor I found most interesting was the framed Periodic Table of Beer Styles and spent an enjoyable few minutes reading this.
Due to its popularity it’s probably not one of the most comfortable pubs to visit, and it wasn’t on a busy early Friday evening. But you’d be consigned to the funny farm if you didn’t include this one in a crawl of Huddersfield’s best drinking establishments.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Grove

Not been in for over nine years, at which time you could have easily walked straight past this place - a quiet corner location, with a less-than-spectacular view of the ring road and some car parks - but not now the vile lime-green illuminated fascia signs have been installed. The (slightly dodgy) decor in the main bar seemed much the same, but it was even busier than before on this visit so I didn't even think about trying to get through to the second bar to see whether anything had changed in there. However, if anything, the beer range is now even more extensive than previously, with a splendid selection of 19 real ales in a variety of styles from a range of regular and guest breweries listed on the boards (although I could only see about five clips from the part of the counter that could easily be reached). Overall, all a bit overwhelming (and I didn't even note what beer I tried), and I left with the impression that it become a bit of a victim of its own undoubted success.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Grove

I remember this pub long before the Co-op signs and also before it was a real ale pub. I happen to like Thornbridge ales as opposed to some of the other contributors and rate the Jaipur highly. Not quite a 10 but not far short.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Grove

My first thought as I approached this place was "That's not a pub it's a bleedin' Co-Op". Looking at the pictures it would seem that this bizarre signage was added some time last year.
It's been well described below but the place is really an old school two bar boozer that just happens to do 19 cask ales a whole load of "craft" keg and real cider.
I went to the saloon side and sat near the off putting nude paintings mentioned below. I can imagine the ale list being overwhelming but I spotted Thornbridge Jaipur IPA which I hadn't seen for months but had heard talk of the brewery having problems and that it wasn't the beer it was. My pint of it (£3.20) didn't really resolve the issue as it was hazy (not uncommon) tasted OK but not as good as the Rat beers tried down the road earlier.
Having spent extra time in the Rat & Ratchet I only had time for one in here but it does seem to be a great pub.

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Grove

I had massive problems in trying to fine this pub,i had walked along the busy inner ring road and had seen it but thought it was a CO OP with its green signage.
Once inside the pub has two separate rooms,there is a small bar room to the right and a larger lounge to the left,both rooms were packed on my Saturday dinner visit,i ended up on a bar stool in the larger lounge,the seating is pew type and normal tables and chairs.
The choice of real ales is far too daunting for me to take in,so in this situation i always go for the nearest pump which has a a normal gravity beer on,i had a drink of Magic Rock Ringmaster which was on top form,the other beers i noted were Magic Rock Rapture,Thornebridge Jaipur,Taylor Landlord,Oakham Citra,there were many more real ales on.
I never really take to these top real ale pubs,they are always too busy and have the same sort of know all about beer customers.
That aside if you like a great choice of real ales and like to talk about it, this is the place to be.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

On 8th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Grove

Probably one of the best pubs i have ever visited and that's coming from a town that is blessed with an amazing selection of outstanding pubs!
19 cask beers are available with Timothy Taylors, Fullers,Magic Rock, Oakham, Thornbridge, Buxton, hawkshead and Gadds brewerys always featuring at least one of their beers with a further 9 guest beers. probably one of the best beer selections in the country.

I went for a pint of Fullers Chiswick, a personal favourite of mine at a really good price of £2.70. This was in excellent condition and went down rather nicely. Their pricing policy is super competitive and even the super strong beers are priced usually well below £3.50. Even the trendy craft beers that other pubs charge stupid prices for are very reasonably priced here.

I was sad to only have one beer in here as part of our pub crawl but i will be returning again! A real ale mecca and all round brilliant friendly pub that is an absolute must visit, I cannot praise this place enough.

On 28th October 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3