User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Commercial, Huddersfield

Carr Lane
Slaithwaite
Postal town: Huddersfield
HD7 5AN
Phone: 01484846258

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Commercial

ORIGINAL REVIEW June 2014

As the name suggests ,a former commercial hotel with an attractive West Yorkshire stone frontage.The interior has been refurbed in a modern style with sadly just a few original features such as the wood panelling through the entrance and the door to the Ladies.The open plan interior has three distinct sections with to the left a large leather banquette ,modern tables and square pouffes while to the right a more restrained seating area .Beyond the bar there is a television room for Sky Sports and a few more tables.
The highlight is the ale selection with at least two pumps dedicated to the nearby Empire Brewery which produced a very good Commerciale (excellent value at £2,top quality low ABV session ale known elsewhere as Golden Warrior)and their Moonraker MILD.There will be up to 6 rotating guests with a handpump dedicated to a real cider.The GBG listing is fully justified given the quality on offer on my visit.The muzak was a tape of rock classics and there was a friendly welcome from behind the bar.
I would most certainly pop back to this good value ale house,it is very close to the restored Huddersfield Narrow Canal,while the Empire Brewery is in a mill up the towpath.

UPDATE

An upgrade from me on the back of a far wider range of styles and strengths among the expanded ale offering.Good service,great pricing and we were lucky enough to avoid the rail ale crawlers who descend on the pub at weekends.A very good boozer,best in the town by some distance.

On 25th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Commercial

This pub was very busy on our late Saturday afternoon visit. There was a varied selection of drinkers which included a group of 15 ale enthusiasts from the Black Country, an equal numbered group on a stag do, who were all well behaved and a few regular locals. The service from the four young barmaids was very swift and jolly and made everyone most welcome.
They had nine handpumps all offering various cask ales, so we went for the Flipside Sterling Pale and a sublime pint of Scarborough Brewery Transmission. This is a well managed pub and their ales are their main attraction for the Transpennine Rail Ale Trailers.

On 7th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Commercial

The Commercial has a very traditional and imposing stone frontage with tables and chairs outside for alfresco drinking.
The tradition is dispensed with inside and the whole has been transformed into a modern, soulless open plan area with sofas and poufs dotted sparsely around.
The welcome is friendly and there were a few regulars dotted around the bar enjoying the array of ales available.
Beers on were: Freeminer Slaughter Porter, Moorhouses Premium Bitter,Brentwood Gold, Wentworth Speckled Wood, Rudgate Brew No 5, Empire Moonraker Mild and Empire Commerci'ale on two handpumps. The latter is a regular and proved to be a very good and well kept session ale at 3.8% at a very reasonable £2. The brewery is a 2 minute walk from the pub. I was slightly surprised that more of the guests weren't from the vibrant brewing heartland of West Yorkshire but I'd be surprised not to find something quaffable here.
Well worth a visit.

On 25th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Commercial Hotel

Upto 8 Real Ales available and a Cider on Hand pull.
Food offering
Beer Garden
Function room available
Short walk from Slaithwaite station and on bus routes 181/335/339/394/395/907 & 938

#GBG listed 2011#

On 23rd February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Commercial Hotel

Called in on Wednesday after a trip round Mallinsons brewery in Huddersfield. The pub has been opened up from a multi-room layout still with distinct areas. Another thing that is distinctive is the wallpaper, especially if horrendous is used instead of distinctive. There were also some twigs in evidence. 9 handpumps on the bar including a real cider. I had a pint of Ilkley Mary Jane which was very good. The beers my colleagues had were good as well. Friendly efficient bar staff ensured that our large group were served quickly. The one thing that I didn't like were the return valves in use on all of the cask beers. Unhygenic, open to abuse and should be banned in my opinion. All in all a decent pub.

On 22nd October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Commercial Hotel

this pub has changed in the past couple of years, although this was my first visit so cannot comment on previous incarnations. There were seven or eight local ales on during my visit all at very reasonable prices. Interior was somewhat formulaic and charmless but nonetheless, if you're doing the transpennine ale trail this is a decent stop-off.

On 24th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about Commercial Hotel

I have seen some old unfavourable reviews of this place on other sites so it’s only right to bring it up to date. Recently taken over by the owners of the Swan up the road (which is a GBG 2010 entry) and, as my photos show, refitted with modern furnishing.
Another place that is handy for the Trans-Pennine Rail Ale crawl. Exit the railway station and turn right, walking down the hill for 2-3 minutes. 8 real ale handpulls plus one cider. Sandwiches were basic but fine to fill a gap. It was fairly quiet on my visit during the middle of a Friday afternoon. The place was fine but, as I’ve said with my other reviews, I preferred the character of the bars within the premises of railway stations along the route.

On 16th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]