User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Old Gate, Hebden Bridge Town Centre, Hebden Bridge

1-5 Old Gate
Hebden Bridge
HX7 6EN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Old Gate

Standing room only on Saturday evening, very busy both inside and out, and very loud as a result. Ten hand pulls at the bar, with one off, one cider, two beers by Squawk, others by Hawkshead, Marble, Vocation and Moorhouse's, and Thornbridge Jaipur completing the line-up.

Despite bordering on being uncomfortably busy, we were only staying for a swift one so didn't really matter to us that much. My Aix porter by Squawk was good. It's a place I would be happy to return to.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 437 recommendations about 404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Gate

Apart from serving good beer, this pub also has a great reputation for food. All the staff are very helpful and welcoming. The inside of the pub was a lot bigger than I anticipated and there was also further space for dining upstairs. There were 10 pumps all in use on our Wednesday afternoon visit, which had a good selection of 9 ales and 1 cider. There was also a choice of five beers on keg. The bar was quite long and had a copper top counter and stone clad front. The pub had some cream painted walls and some wallpapered sections. There was also a couple of wood burning stoves. I went for the Vocation Heart and Soul, an excellent choice.

On 13th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Old Gate

The Old Gate is a stone built pub with a long frontage.
Once inside there is a single room which runs the width of the pub,the bar faces on entry,there is a stone floor,the seating is large picnic benches in the middle area and normal tables and chairs,the left side is up two steps,there is more seating upstairs.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Mallinsons Galaxy which was a decent drink,the other real ales noted were Thornebridge Wye,London Pride,Salamander Cascade,Thornebridge Jaipur and Vocation Heart & Soul.
Food was being served and background music was playing.
I thought this was a decent pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 3/9/2016

On 27th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Old Gate

A posh looking place with eating and drinking over two floors, it is GBG listed and has the advantage of eight hand pumps of an unusual all brass design. The beers were mainly local with the furthest away source being some Red Willow from Macclesfield. Downstairs is one narrow long room with the counter down most of the back wall, there's some exposed brick brickwork and flag floors. I didn't venture upstairs but it looked a little more elegantly furnished than downstairs. There were a few dodgy punters in, probably displaced from the flooded pubs in the town and the staff seemed a bit harassed and off hand.

On 28th February 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Old Gate

I came in here fully expecting not to like it as it's modern and trendy, fairly food orientated and looked expensive. As mentioned below it's a wide room with little depth and the bar takes up most of the far wall. The bar seems to have a copper top which must have cost a fortune in itself.
I was in a rush here so didn't get to note all the beers but did spot that Magic Rock Ringmaster was going for £2.90 so is presumably a permanent fixture. I spotted something I had never even heard of Windswept APA (£3.30) which sadly was cloudy but tasted OK. I hope this isn't one of the school of pubs that think it's acceptable to sell cloudy beer. The pint was only OK but certainly not brilliant. If I had more time I would have sent it back.
This place is trendy and food orientated but is reasonably priced. It has a great range of beers, there was a bank of roughly 10 hand pumps so I hope my cloudy pint was just a one off.

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Old Gate

After a chilly experience at the Shoulder of Mutton, it was a pleasant change on a wet Sunday to find a warm welcome here, in the form of a solid fuel stove with an open door radiating heat and cheer. Further good news awaited on the bar, where 10 hand pumps from breweries such as Celt Experience, Roosters and Hawkshead covered a wide range of styles from porter to pale, and there was a real cider too. The beer was cheaper than the older-established pubs in the town centre (around £3.10 a pint compared with £3.50 to £3.80), and this was easily the busiest of those we visited, with families and diners, including some who were using the upstairs, and others like us who were just stepping in out of the rain for a few minutes.

On 26th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Old Gate

A massive refurbishment as been completed here. It's now a two floored light and airy, girly friendly bar. The upstairs area is a restaurant with table service. Downstairs is a very wide room, but without much depth, there's a small seating area up a step or two to the left, but the rest is open plan. Quite foody, with a lot of the menu being served on boards, it's not cheap either, but the food that we saw coming out looked good quality. Massive windows all along the front of the bar make it quite a good place to see and be seen. A couple of craft keg fonts on the impressive copper topped bar plus 9 handpumps serving 2 standard ales, Magic Rock Ringmaster & Moorhouse's Pride Of Pendle, plus 6 guests and a changing real cider. The two we tried were in very good nick. This is a far cry from the last two incarnations of Last Orders & The Inn On The Bridge. It's also just been included in the CAMRA GBG 2015. Good job guys, keep it up. We'll definitely be back here.

On 16th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Inn on the Bridge

This is back to being called The Inn On The Bridge but it was closed last night at 6 so I couldn't go in.

On 6th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Wynne Route left this review about The Inn On The Bridge

Was signed as Last Orders 08-04-2007 when I took a photo

On 17th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 408 recommendations about 390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter scaife left this review about The Inn On The Bridge

excellent good value food and beer in nice suroundings

On 21st January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]