User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Fox & Goose, Hebden Bridge

7 Heptonstall Road
Hebden Bridge
HX7 6AZ
Phone: 01422648052

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Fox & Goose

My first visit since my review of February 2015, and it was a surprise to find a rearrangement of the interior, with a much larger bar counter now installed along the back wall, still with six real ales and a real cider. But whereas the previous counter was small with barely room for an additional server behind it, the new one now provides plenty of room in front for regular customers to occupy stools or lean their elbows or feet on the appropriate brass rails that have been added. This is great for encouraging locals, but not so good for passing beer tourists, who now struggle to see the pump clips. However, making the best of the new situation, I took the opportunity to engage with the locals, prompting (as I hoped) wry smiles or chuckles at my compulsion to take photos of the pump clips. Otherwise nothing has really changed, with a good range of beer styles from a variety of breweries. The solitary half that I allowed myself, with a climb up the other side of the valley still to be accomplished, was in excellent condition.

Date of visit: 27th August 2019

On 10th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2335 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Fox & Goose

Visited on Saturday evening, this was our first pub in Hebden Bridge after doing a few in Sowerby Bridge. A bit of a walk from the centre, this feels more of a traditional locals' pub than many others in Hebden Bridge. At the bar there are six hand pulls, all of which were on, offering two by Jolly Boys Brewery, one by Torrside, a Belgian style beer by Serious Brewing, and the others slipped my mind. They were all interesting and none of the big nationals. My Jolly Collier Porter was a decent drink and £3.40 for a pint.

As you come in there is a room/area in front of the bar which was full, a room to the left which seemed to have live Irish music on, and a room to the right that was a little quieter although the only seats remaining were stools against a drinking shelf. The pub had a nice atmosphere and obviously a lot of the people seemed to know each other but we did not feel unwelcome as 'outsiders'. I would have been happy to spend more time here and it is easy to see why it is so busy. Definitely an unpretentious proper boozer with a decent real ale selection.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 471 recommendations about 435 pubs]


aleand hearty left this review about The Fox & Goose

After a good walk around Hardcastle Crags, the ‘aleandhearty’ family were definitely in need of a beer or two. Unfortunately, our preferred choices in Hebden town centre were closed and so we made a spontaneous detour out to the Fox & Goose and were so glad we did. It’s a cracking traditional, stone floored, three roomer, probably best described as having an unpretentious cosiness.

At the bar, six ales were on offer and the four I tried: Red Willow ‘Headless’ & ‘Faithless’, Magpie ‘One for Sorrow’ and Pictish ‘Brewer’s Gold’ were all in excellent condition. Service from the barman was friendly and welcoming and there was a surprisingly good atmosphere on our Tuesday afternoon visit, with about a dozen other punters in the place.

Our visit coincided with the freakish, late-February, summery weather and so, rather than sit inside, we took the staircase, to the left of the bar, up to the hillside beer garden, just to the side of the pub. It was lovely to drink beer in the warm sunshine, but rather unsettling to see the sun dropping down over the far side of the valley, at 4.30 in the afternoon, when it felt like June!

As a family, we all loved this place and will undoubtedly return in the future. Fans of ‘proper’ traditional pubs will definitely find something to enjoy here.

On 26th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 345 recommendations about 331 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fox and Goose

An excellent pub, which became a community pub, three and a half years ago. The pub has a small bar along the back wall as you enter, displaying six rotating ales on handpump. This area also featured an open fire with a dog basket grate and a few tables and chairs along the opposite wall and below the bay window. A similar sized room can be found on the left hand side, and a very small room on the right hand side of the bar area. The pub also had flag stone floors throughout and the walls were roughly plastered in the old cottage style, which were painted white. The walls and ceilings displayed a lot of narrow black beams, which added more interest. We went for the house beer, Pictish Brewers Gold, which seemed to be going down well with the locals. Also we went for the Northern Whisper Yammerhouse, which was another good session ale. The barmaid and locals were all friendly and welcoming.

On 13th November 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Ayre left this review about Fox and Goose

This has just re-opened as a community pub. That means it is owned by people who bought shares of the pub. The customers were very friendly. It is a little way out of Hebden Bridge heading west on the A646, but is well worth the 5 minute walk, and even if the place is a bit 'tired', the ale is good.
There were 6 real ales but I forgot to write down their names - probably because I choose a rather strong ale.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 12 recommendations about 12 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Fox and Goose

The Fox And Goose is a shortish walk from the middle of Hebden Bridge and is situated at the bottom of a steep looking hill.
Once inside there is a smallish oblong shaped bar room which has a stone floor,the seating is bench type and small stools,there is a small room up some steps to the right,there are normal tables and chairs in this room,and another separate room to the left which has wood bench seating and chairs.
I had a drink of Deeply Vale Ripper which was a very nice drink,the other beers noted were Deeply Vale Bitter,Sonnet 43 Impressment,Mallinsons Wild Thing and one from Naylors brewery.
The locals seemed very friendly.
A very pleasant pub to visit.

Pub visited 3/9/2016

On 27th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Fox and Goose

A community owned pub on the edge of the town, fortunately well above the river and spared the worst of the Winter 2016 floods. It's a multi-roomed pub with a central bar and counter with seven hand pumps, local ales predominate although a very well kept Darkstar was on. Built on a hill so the side rooms are up and down a few steps from the servery, flag floors and rough plastered walls give it an old cozy pub feel. There are fires in each room including a big stone job in the main room. The walls are decorated with old photos and there are lots of cast iron base tables and bench seating, lovely and don't miss.

On 28th February 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Fox and Goose

I remember visiting this place in the early nineties but don't recall much about it apart from the fact that it's situated at the start of the steep climb up the road to Heptonstall.
It's well known as a pub that has been taken over by the local community and has been renovated so that it doesn't look brand new consisting of three flagstone areas with the bar in the centre. The walls are white with black painted wood. No wooden floors or boring battleship grey here!
I didn't get to note all the beers as it was a bit congested around the bar but did manage to spot Deeply Vale Golden Brown, Everard's Beacon, Hop Studio Porter, Pictish Indian Summer and Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew.
I went for the Hop Studio Porter (£2.95) which was an excellent pint.
I thought this very friendly "little gem" was good enough for a 10.

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Fox and Goose

An excellent, old fashioned multi-roomed drinkers pub on the outskirts of Hebden Bridge. Inconveniently placed at a difficult traffic junction, it's worth taking care that the traffic lights are in your favour before crossing the road. Once inside there's a small bar in the corner with seven hand pumps - one in the middle for cider, with beers arrayed either side. (Each pump has a reversed clip on the back, as well as one normally displayed on the front - these announce the next beers due to go on those lines.) At the time of our visit the beers were from local Small World, Worsthorne, Stod Fold as well as the more familiar Dark Star and Hop Studio. We liked the Worsthorne Old Trout so much we came back the next day for some more. Beers ranged in price from £2.85 to £3.30 and there was an open fire and a friendly atmosphere. My partner, who struggles to recall pub names, referred to this one as the "little gem", and so it shall remain in our memories.

On 26th February 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2335 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Fox and Goose

My first visit since the Co-operative took over. It's been given a much needed spruce up and is still a work in progress. Quite a bit of the bric-a-brac has gone and the seating is now mainly dining tables & chairs. Still very dog friendly with two in the pub on our visit. Six handpumps now with one reserved for cider. I tried two of the beers and both were in excellent condition. It looks like it's still in good hands.

15/11/2010
This is a fine old pub that hasn't really changed in years. You enter up a couple of steps into the main bar area which is very small. There's a room to the left with a large communal drinking table and a couple of settles and comfy chairs. There's an old hymn board up on the wall in here listing the beers currently on sale, along with some intereting b & w photos. To the right there's another small room with a bar billiards table. Very dog friendly with 3 well behaved dogs in the pub when I called. I suspect they're all regulars who have taken their owners for a well deserved walk. 5 handpumps on the bar with 4 beers available when I called last week. I had a pint of Black Coral Stout from Hornbeam brewery which was excellent. It's a very good pub and I hope it stays unchanged.

On 31st August 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2779 recommendations about 2703 pubs]

Page: 1 2