User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with hondo on the Pub Forum

West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms, Dewsbury Town, Dewsbury

Station Buildings, Wellington Road
Dewsbury
WF13 1HF
Phone: 01924459193

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

This is larger than you might expect, with at least three distinct rooms (in front, and to the left and right of the bar) even though it is kind of opened up.

At the bar are ten hand pulls for real ale, with a few taps dispensing craft keg beers. I had a couple of halves of real ale, Equator and Milky Joe, both by Ridgeside, both 5.6%, though one was £1.65 for a half and the other was £1.80. Some of the customers were a bit odd and holding up the queue at the bar, the staff seemed a little dazed and confused but given the extreme heat of yesterday this was understandable.

It's a nice old traditional feeling interior. In terms of outdoor space there is a beer garden with hanging baskets etc, in addition to a few tables out of the front of the pub.

Access is available from the road side or track side. Worth a look.

On 26th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 437 recommendations about 404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

This is situated on the platform for trains coming from Leeds. I only had time for a very brief visit here as my train was due.
Inside it's a fairly basic dark old fashioned looking place with a wooden floor and split into different areas. I counted ten hand pumps on the bar which included a cider, two Sonnet 43 beers, Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter, Ilkley Ruby Jane, Brass Castle Bad Kitty and RAT White Rat.
I went for the White Rat (£2.80) which was excellent. This one is definitely worth delaying a journey for.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

The West Riding LRR is situated on Dewsburys station platform.
I entered the pub from the the platform entrance,one inside there are three separate areas,there was a small area through the entrance,this area had some normal tables and pew type seating,the middle area is the largest with the bar being in this area,the seating here was pew type and normal tables and chairs,this area was very busy with camra type drinkers,so i had a drink in the area to the left,this room had normal tables and chairs and a wood burning stove on the go which made the room seem nice and warm on a cold day,all areas are bare boarded.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Two Roses Full Nelson which went down very well at 10.45 in the morning,the other beers i noted were Taylor Landlord /Taylor Dark Mild,Acorn Barnsley Gold,Mosaic High Wire and Black Sheep bitter.
I though this was a really nice station bar to have a drink in.

Pub visited 24/1/2015

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

called in to this pub again about two weeks ago what a change the beer back in good form good bar staff what a difference a few months make wonder if someone read my previous comments I had a few pints of marble pint spot on form keep up the good work

On 5th January 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


STEPHEN LODGE left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

This is an excellent pub for people that enjoy cask beers,situated on the railway station,so has good connections to nearby places without having to use your own transport.Gets very busy on a weekend,and the beers are really well kept.

On 29th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 15 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

I have been going in to this fine pub for more years than I care to remember but on my last two visits the standards seem to have dropped some what the beer quality is no where what used to be and the staff indifferent in fact the staff seem to change every few weeks

On 14th July 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

A recent revisit found everything unchanged bar the beer (obviously). I sampled Tim Taylor Mild, Moorhouse White Witch and a Durham beer at 6.5 per cent. Quality was still good and this place is a treat for beer enthusiasts.

August 2011
The legendary WRLRR (that’s West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms!) is a genuine station pub in that you can exit directly onto the platform, handy for grabbing that ‘quick last half’ before the train arrives. The building is apparently Grade I listed and looks attractive with its ivy-clad exterior. The interior is divided into three interlinked rooms, with the main bar in the middle one. I find this area the most enticing; dark Victorian-style décor, stripped wood flooring, dark wood settles, loads of old bottled beers lining ceiling and plenty of rail memorabilia dotted around (including the original Wellington Road station name board above the bar), as well as numerous CAMRA awards.

The star of the show is the beer - eight well sourced and eclectic ales available. Prices were competitive, only the Sarah Hughes (at 6%) was over the £3 mark. There were also some ciders (Pure North Valley Gold), English wines and foreign keg and bottled beer available - so much choice. Staff wear t-shirts with the slogan “I missed the train at Dewsbury”.

It’s obviously very popular, plenty of people come and go as they break their journeys especially to stop off here. Plenty of theme nights advertised, music, curry and good value food is available at lunchtimes. There are a number of period timepieces on display, though I discern that not all the clocks are synched - a dastardly ploy to make you miss that train?

This is a real cracker and is in my top 10

On 30th September 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale left this review about West Riding Licensed Refreshment Rooms

I give the West Riding 7 due to the great choice of real ale. The had TT's Landlord and Black Sheep as regular ales with a great other selection of guest IPA's milds porters and stouts; which were all excellent. If you are a lager drinker then I'd stick to the bottled offerings as my friends only seemed to get flat pints, although the staff were willing to change without any fuss.

On a secondary note the ladies in the group were not impressed with the bathroom facilities and the lack of wine choice.

Hope next time we can give it a ten!

On 3rd June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about West Riding

Excellent station pub located in the former waiting rooms, with a three room layout, each connected by a small archway. You can access the pub either from the platform or the car park, the latter giving you the chance to admire the fine, ivy covered Grade I listed building and the smart, compact garden. Entry from the platform takes you into the smallest of the three rooms, which has a limited amount of seating, a nice fireplace and a jukebox. The middle room struck me as the nicest, not least because this is where the attractive dark wood servery is situated, with the old Dewsbury station sign suspended above it. Smart banquettes line the walls and there is an impressive bottled beer collection lined up along a high shelf. The third room looked to be set up more for diners, with standard tables and chairs set up in formal arrangements, with flowers on each. The room has numerous old Guinness and Martini adverts on the walls and there are various bits of train related memorabilia throughout the pub, although perhaps not as much as I'd expected to find.
A fine row of handpulls offered Timothy Taylor Landlord and Dark Mild, Bridestones Winter Warmer, Dark Star Hophead, Roosters Advent (£2.50), Black Sheep Bitter, Durham Evensong and Abbeydale Holy Water. I tried the Roosters and found it to be in excellent condition. The keg range was also worth a look, with the likes of Sierra Nevada, Oyster Stout and Leffe available. Blackboards detailed a good bottled beer range and a long list of forthcoming ales. Thatchers Gold cider was also on tap and I think I spotted a box of cider as well.
An excellent pub that lives up to its reputation. Anyone thinking of visiting Dewsbury may well find that they don't make it any further than the station - why can't we have pubs like this in the stations in and around London?

On 8th January 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about West Riding

If you ain't done the rail ale trail I highly recommend you do. Had a very pleasurable few hours here sampling a good selection of ales. Eight on handpump, staff great fun and fast service too. The Anglo Dutch Brewery beers were great, from Dewsbury and are a regular feature. Also you get a great selection from the Durham Brewery. Enjoyed some good Milds as well. Will call again, by train of course.

On 30th July 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]

Page: 1 2