User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Junction, Castleford

Carlton Street
Castleford
WF10 1EE

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Junction

Now that the majority of the renovation work is complete it's the closest thing you'll find to a Sam's Smith's pub but fortunately without Mr Humphrey. The kegs, most spirits, bottled beers and snacks are sourced from Sam Smith's, an exception is a keg from Stancil. Still the home of beers from the wood and a must visit in Castleford, there's precious little else.

On 19th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2454 recommendations about 2248 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Junction

Neil has been busy with many more details being renovated or brought into the 21st century. Nine pulls in operation (1 was poorly) although midweek only three will be in action, that’s proper cellar management that many multi tap pubs should emulate. Still the home of beer from the wood and still outstanding quality, being Cas it’s less pricy than Leeds or York but then only the Junction is worth a visit if you find your way to Castleford.

On 16th June 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2454 recommendations about 2248 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Junction

An interesting and traditional Victorian street corner boozer with blue tiled walls.
It's a large affair inside with a traditional interior featuring plenty of wood, an open plan bar and a smaller room to the right. It has something of a feeling of either not being finished or part used as storeroom with various bits and bobs stacked around the place.
Having heard that beers were served from the wood I'd half expected a row of barrels on stillage which I wasn't especially enthusiastic about during a warm spell of weather. In fact the governor has invested in 100 wooden barrels and all the beers served are from those barrels.
Beers on were: Kirkstall 3 Swords and Drop Hammer, Wishbone Bruce, Cloudy with a Chance of Hops and Medjool, Stancil South Pacific and Elland Rudimentary. A fair range with strengths going from 4% to 10%. The South Pacific was in good shape and refreshing on a warm evening but the temptation of the first Woodfest being held in the boozer next door was too great to explore the range further.
The governor has also invested in a tower brewery behind the next door building which is virtually complete so will hopefully be operational soon.
A very good boozer, doing things differently and benefitting from chunks of investment. I wish them every success and look forward to visiting again as things develop.

On 25th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Junction

The glazed tiling around the exterior walls mark this out as a traditional looking pub,and that continues inside.There is a high wooden bar with an L shaped interior with traditional fitted benches,a good parquet floor,small tables and stools,while to one side is a seperate room with half glass partitions,and some more seating although unused on my Thursday evening trip.The fireplace has a new wooden surround ,and wood is the theme here.
The guv'nor is a supporter of The Society for the Preservation of Beers from the Wood,which predated CAMRA by several years.However this doesn't mean that the wood barrels are on stillage,but rather that all ale supplied here arrives in wooden casks and is drawn from the cellar using the usual handpumps,of which there are 9.Six were dispensing on my trip and my Kirkstall 3 Swords was decent ,although I didn't have the nerve to tackle the 10% Kirkstall Drop Hammer ! There were a number of ales from Wishbone plus one from Stancill,I assume the choice will rotate regularly.
There is a building next door owned by the guv'nor which used to be a pub and in which he intends to open a brewery dedicated to using wood barrels.On my visit the SPBW were holding their first beer from the wood festival ,which was terrific.It is possible that this building may itself reopen as a pub sometime in the future,keep an eye out for developments.
This pub is the best option for real ale in town,and had a genuine boozer atmosphere with some fantastic 80's songs as muzak,so I would call in again without question.

On 8th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2229 recommendations about 2229 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Junction

I did'nt know anything about this pub prior to visiting it,so when i took a photo i thought this would be another keg only pub,yet again i was wrong.
Once inside i went into an L shaped room with the bar facing,the floor was wood,the seating pew type and small stools.
I was very surprised to see some real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Ridgeside SIB which went down very well,the other beer i noted was Stancill Blonde.
Background music was playing.
The pub was busy enough on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I found this to be a decent pub,a pleasant surprise.

Pub visited 29/7/2015

On 29th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Junction

On approach to this pub, I had high expectations of this corner Victorian establishment. Once through the doors, I saw nine handpumps, with only two on. This was a big let down. The pub's selling point, is that they source their ales in wooden barrels. So I went for the Wentworth WBA, which did have an unusual woody or different taste to it. Once half way down my pint, I decided to leave it, as it turned into a boring brown bitter. There were a couple of other drinkers in here, who were on the run-of-the-mill keg lager. The pub also had no atmosphere.

On 25th June 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Sausage Fingers left this review about The Junction

Excellent real ale pub, The best pub in Cas, loads of good ales and brilliant atmosphere added to by the log fire.

On 6th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Junction

A pub now becoming well regarded and famous for its support of "beers from the wood", it's being slowly and lovingly restored in a traditional manner. On a corner location, it has one long angled room with a glass-walled saloon in one corner. The furniture is traditional pub style with Britannia tables and bench seating. Spread along the counter are 9 pulls in the older Yorkshire style, all the beers are small breweries with Walls, Old Bear and notably Ridgeside being in wood. The blackboard behind the bar makes clear which are from the wood. Unsurprisingly this was the Society for the Preservation of Beers from the Wood (SPBW) West Riding branch's pub of the year for 2012 and CAMRA also recognises its excellence. Opens at 12.

On 10th June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2454 recommendations about 2248 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


maureen shaw left this review about The Junction

THE JUNCTION HAS A LIVE BAND ON SAT 5TH MAY. ( THE PROWLERS). BEERS FROM THE WOOD NOW AVAILABLE SMALL FUNCTION ROOM NOW OPEN FOR FREE.

On 26th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Junction

nice little pub very frendly very good excellent beer will come again cheers

On 22nd March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 86 pubs]

Page: 1 2