User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

New Beehive Inn, Bradford

171 Westgate
Bradford
BD1 3AA
Phone: 01274721784

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about New Beehive Inn

We popped in here on a Tuesday afternoon and the place was empty. We went into the main bar where we came across the original large pine timbered bar a 1930's floor and a large photo of the pub in its hay day with a group of patrons standing out front. The pub also had two side rooms and a large back room, these were all unlit during the day, which made them even more uninviting looking. There were two hand pumps in operation, so I went for the Saltaire Cascade Pale ale, which was in good shape and prices reasonable. There is accommodation above the pub, maybe this pays to keep it open.

On 31st October 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about New Beehive Inn

Called in again on my crawl of Bradford. Friday early evening it was almost empty with only 3 of us in the bar. It's a massive pub, so it's not very cosy when there's no-one in. The log fire was burning away though on a chilly evening. 10 handpumps,only 3 on plus a real cider. My pint of Abbeydale Moonshine was in good nick though. I never called in this pub when it's been busy and I've been in quite a few times. It'll be in trouble if this continues.

On 12th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about New Beehive Inn

Old fashioned museum place of an interior, mirrors & bottles on shelves behind the bar. Old wallpaper and pictures

4 real ales

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about New Beehive Inn

Splendidly well-preserved interior, with a much-needed fire going on a cold winter night (and whilst it might be explained by the weather, I was the only customer there). Large oil painting of the main bar, in the main bar (date unknown, but not much has changed) plus two large paintings in the back bar of 'lost' rock stars by the same artist. Accommodation. Just two of ten handpumps were in operation, and I opted for the Mordue Northumbrian Blonde (£2.80). Overall, it's very faded but there is still some glory here. (NB - Review dates from December 2012.)

On 9th February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about New Beehive Inn

I called in on a Saturday lunchtime but it was like the Marie Celeste, so after a quick look round I went up the road for a pint elsewhere and returned a little later. This time I was fortunate to catch the landlord bottling up and so was able to get a pint - perhaps it's busier in the evenings? It is worth just a look round as it is a fine victorian multi room pub in original but slightly tatty condition and is listed on CAMRA's National Inventory. There are a front and back bar, a rear side room which looks more for dining and at the front left a pool room which may have been Billards and Snooker judging by the big c1920s photo over the rather basic fireplace of the pub and its regulars about to set off on a charabanc trip. There is also a drinking lobby with a hatch giving access to the counter of the front bar. Outside the building has a distinctive double dutch gable frontage, inside lincrusta and light wood prevails. There are 10 old fashioned pulls on the counter although only three were in use, there was also a collection of around 40 malts. The beer was of OK quality but maybe not all you might expect in a GBG pub.

On 8th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about New Beehive Inn

Great desription of the pub interior from John B. It's getting a bit tatty inside now as are some of the regulars. It can be very atmospheric when busy, but because of the sheer size of the place it can also feel very empty when there aren't many in. There were only about 6 people in on my Friday afternoon visit and none of them were talkative. There were 4 ales on the bar which are changing guests. My pint was OK, but not great. This pub is on CAMRA's National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors which it certainly should be. It's also in the GBG2012, which I'm not convinced it should on this showing. I'll call back again next time I'm in Bradford anyway.

On 6th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about New Beehive Inn

On the edge of the city centre is The New Beehive Inn, an imposing stand alone Edwardian stone built building that dates back to 1901 – note the date high up in the stonework at the front. Note the impressive semi circular coloured glass canopy above the entrance, although this is a replacement for the original one, apparently

It’s a traditional multi room pub with a small central wood panelled lobby leading off to the main bar on the right, a snooker room on the left and, to the back, a music room.

The main bar is gaslit, has an original oak bar counter and bar back with fixed bench seating along the back wall. Note the fine framed photo of a charabanc collecting customers outside the pub which dates back to the 1900’s. There’s a rather dark, but atmospheric feel to the room. This is where the regulars meet – based on my visit, there’s a few larger than life characters, but the atmosphere is warm and welcoming to all.

The snooker room on the left has fixed seating, bell pushes and is decorated with some old drinks posters and mirrors. Rather incongruously, high up on the wall, a stuffed stags head looks down on proceedings.

The pub is listed in CAMRA’s National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors ( the only one open now in the city, with the closure at present of The Cock and Bottle).

The principal feature of the back room is a series of painted murals of famous musicians – of whom even I recognised Stevie Wonder and several of the Beatles. On my visit it was Open Mic Night in this room, with the usual assortment of oddball studenty type singers and wacky poetry readers.

From the main bar, a tiled corridor leads to the gents toilets with a rather bracing air. There’s a large function room downstairs, apparently. Notably, there’s 14 rooms available for overnight stays, but this is definitely a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel.

On the real ale front, there’s a total of 10 handpumps in the front bar. 4 beers were on and I gather that this is the usual number of beers available at any one time. Being out of the city centre, there doesn’t appear much in the way of passing trade and I doubt there’s the volume for a more extensive range. Beers on were from Salamander, Spitting Feathers, Heritage ( which is also brewed by Spitting Feathers) and a new one to me, Landlords Friend, with prices ranging from £ 2.70p to £ 2.80p, which is a narrow price range given that the ABV’s ranged from 3.8% to 5.2%. Both beers sampled- Salamander Fiddlesticks and the Heritage Empire Ale - were in good form. The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular.

It’s well worth the short walk along Westgate out of the city centre to do this one

On 23rd March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Crewdson left this review about New Beehive Inn

Along with the Fighting Cock this has to be the best pub in Bradford. Always has a wide selection of real ales from micro-breweries changing regularly. Very friendly staff. FANTASTIC authentic interior listed on Camra's Heritage Register with original features such as gas lanterns and paintings of rock 'n' roll and blues stars in the function room. Four interior rooms with two bars. Two beer gardens. Cellar bar that features live music regularly. Give it a go!!

On 30th August 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about New Beehive Inn

we haven`t been to this pub for a few years and what used to be a fine pub with good beer and very busy has deteriorated some what we went in last saturday night at 21 15 to find the place virtually empty ie about two people and the beer was so bad i ended up having to drink bottled budvar !!!! and that was warm will be a long time before we go back so sad to see a very good pub detiorate

On 10th July 2011 - rating: 1
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about New Beehive Inn

The New Beehive is a large looking pub on a very busy road and close to the city centre.
Once inside this pub is pretty much unaltered and it has a few different rooms i went in the room at the front which was well furnished and warm on a cold day,there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Ossett Black Bull and this was a really nice drink the other beers were Phoenix Arizona and Taylor Landlord.
I thought this was a really nice pub to have a few drinks in.

On 20th January 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]