User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Fighting Cock, Listerhills, Bradford

23 Preston Street
Bradford
BD7 1JE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fighting Cock

A good destination pub and well worth a visit. Even on approach, observing the outside, I had a feeling this was going to be good one, with the large Hand Pulled Ales sign and old wall mounted pub sign and an array of numerous empty casks stacked up against the wall.
Another feature I liked was the corner entrance, with its two worn sandstone steps. The interior was basic, with worn timber boards throughout and a long timber bar running from the front room into the two side rooms. 12 handpumps, all in use, we went for the Magic Rock High Wire and the Glentworth Calypso, both were excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Only we were on a crawl, I would have spent more time in here.
The pub has also recently added a beer garden area, with bench seating and an aluminium frame set up stillage, for future beer fests.

On 31st October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Fighting Cock

It's quite a long walk through an old industrialised area to get here. Once you've negotiated the numerous car washes (are Bradford's cars really that dirty) and the multiple scrap yards (probably caused by over cleaning), you arrive at this gem of a pub. This has to be a destination pub, there's nothing else to come out here for. A real survivor. The pub is as described by OB below. 12 handpumps on the bar and all 12 were on. Both the beers I tried were in excellent condition and served to me by a friendly barman. It was fairly quiet on my Friday afternoon visit but I'm guessing it gets busier later on. I'll definitely be making my way out here again.

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Fighting Cock

A super, unspoiled boozer in a run down area a bit out of the city centre but well worth the walk and it's not that far from the New Beehive. A long thin bar is split into three rooms by partial dividing walls. Entering from the diagonally placed corner door you come into a basically furnished sitting room with an unusual double sided fireplace. The walls here have a selection of the many CAMRA awards won over the years and over the fireplace a board listing the beers available. The middle section of the pub is formed from a square alcove decorated with old photos of Bradford, pictures of guide dogs the pub has funded and some drawings of cocks, other pubs with cock in the name that is. The third section is similar in style being plain with wooden benches built in and round tables on a wooden board floor. The plain counter with its footrest shelf serves all three areas and is home to twelve pulls plus one for cider, six regular beers, three from Taylors, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and Greene King Abbot, the other six are changing guests from northern micros in the main. There are three ciders and three "Speciality" lagers listed, there are plenty of bottles too including emptys on display all round the plate rack in each room. Remarkably, and deservedly, busy early doors on a Saturday morning I was told it was quiet because City weren't at home otherwise it would have been rammed.

On 17th March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fighting Cock

A proper ale-house, in a rather unpromising area on the edge of some run-down industrial estates. Three room interior, with basic furniture and decor. Quite busy on a very cold Sunday night, with a good atmosphere. I think I counted 13 handpumps in total, wil an excellent range of (mostly local) beers, several from Timothy Taylor and Robinsons Tom & Berry (£2.90) from a bit further away. Overall, I wished I could have stayed longer, and it is certainly well worth taking the walk out from the city centre. (NB - Review dates from December 2012.)

On 9th February 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Crewdson left this review about The Fighting Cock

Along with the New Beehive Inn, this has to share the title of "Best Pub in Bradford". FANTASTIC authentic pub with one of the most wide ranging selections of real ales, real largers and real ciders from various micro-breweries. Very friendly staff and good atmosphere. Has won countless Camra awards and deserves every one!!

On 30th August 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Scott left this review about The Fighting Cock

The FC is still THE best of Bradford's ale houses - despite stiff competition ove the years - as witnessed by its ability to win CAMRA awards with unrelenting regularity. Apart from the beer - 12 handpumps always on, with a mix of regulars and ever-changing guests - one of its great attractions is the sheer variety of folks who use it: from business-folk during lunch time, students during the early evening, footie supports on saturdays, families on sunday afternnons, and various clubs and societies who meet there most evenings. Basic, but tasty and good-value, food is served weekday lunchtimes. The old adage "Often copied, never bettered" sits well here.

On 9th August 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Fighting Cock

Likeable, simple real ale haven in a perhaps less than appealing part of Bradford, close to the university. An excellent range of beers, both regular and guests from across Yorkshire; Breweries represented on my visit included Abbeydale, Kelham Island, Allgates, Ilkley and Timothy Taylor. There's a couple of tellies and a fruit machine but little else; The interior could fairly be filed under the 'spit & sawdust' category. Its still pretty good, as the positive comments on here testify.

On 2nd May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Fighting Cock

Regular beers from Red Lion, TT's, Theakstonb, Greene King and Copper Dragon plus 4 guest beers along with Erdinger Dunkel weissbeir.
Two traditional ciders.
Lunch served Mon - Sat.

On 28th December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ryan Bailey left this review about The Fighting Cock

Top quality! A range of ales, guest ales, speciality lagers and fruit beers/wine on offer. Freindly atmosphere, comfortable surroundings. Highly reccomended.

On 16th February 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Keith Taggart left this review about The Fighting Cock

THE classic ale house of Bradford. Many have tried to copy it but the Fighting Cock remains a legend in it's own lunchtime. Approx 12 beers always in superb condition and served all day long. Also good value snacks at lunchtime. If you are into classic pubs and classic beers this is a 'must visit'.

On 15th August 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 22 recommendations about 22 pubs]