User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with london calling on the Pub Forum

City Vaults, Bradford

33 Hustlergate
Bradford
BD1 1NS

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about City Vaults

Visited this afternoon. It's apparently had a bit of a refurb recently so thought I would give it a try, as I last visited back in 2017.

At the bar are five hand pulls, two of which were clipped for Saltaire Blonde, the others were Naylor's Yorkshire, Tetley's Cask and TT Landlord. A fairly dull line up. The Yorkshire was £1.60 for half a pint, but I wasn't that impressed with it, don't think there was anything wrong with it per se, it was just a bland watery bitter with a slight chemical taste.

In terms of the refurb, it doesn't look wildly different to how I remembered it, same general layout except that the area where the gents toilets used to be has been opened out into another seating area, and the gents have been relocated upstairs. Other than that plenty of old features still remain, with dark wood and stained glass and a rather elegant looking staircase. It's mainly the décor and seating that have been renewed, and the bar itself may have had a makeover too.

It seems to do good value food, which I shall bear in mind for the future, but I can't see me being back here just for beer.

On 10th March 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about City Vaults

Despite being in an old building, this felt very much like a designer's recreation of an old pub, with dark wood and modern stained glass features and different seating areas scattered about on different levels. Not unpleasant however. Draught ales on offer were Tetleys, Saltaire Blonde and the ubiquitous Doom Bar, with Cask Marque listing so in fair condition.

On 14th December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2268 recommendations about 2216 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about City Vaults

A typical inner city pub where you'll get a broad selection of inhabitants frequenting the place. This was the case on our visit after 6pm, some office workers, local builders, students and some nut jobs. There was one creepy one who was sat near the approach to the ladies toilets and made strange noises every time a lady passed.
As mentioned below, the staff are friendly and the beer is good, across their five handpumps. Wouldn't like to visit this pub late on.

On 5th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about City Vaults

Excellent split level city centre pub, numerous areas for sitting, including looking over Hustlergate. Old touches, new touches, beer & food, a good place to visit. In Good Beer Guide 2014 and the real ale is kept well.

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about City Vaults

An odd mix of victoriana and art nouveau in a funny shaped corner pub in the narrow city centre streets that retain the medieval layout but with some outstanding Victorian architecture. There's a fine carved counter running down one side of the main bar which forms the long side of an L, a conservatory like room sits in the angle and further back the pub is on several levels. Leaded stained glass windows, high quality tongue & groove and a lot of cast iron give a Victorian feel with art nouveau highlights provided by the light fittings and a skylight over part of the main bar. A small group of handpumps at one end of the counter provide a choice of mainly Yorkshire beers Tetleys (!), Black Sheep, Copper Dragon and Salamander in good nick, the service lacked a certain something though.

On 8th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about City Vaults

Multi level pub, very close to the main shopping areas. It's all dark wood etc, but it doesn't feel that old. Friendly bar staff and a decent selection of ales make this a good place to call in for one. My pint of a Salamander beer was in good condition. What a shame that there were 3 loud mouthed numpties in sitting at the bar fffing & blinding despite there being a couple of young kids in pushchairs in the pub. Get rid of the knobheads (who all knew the bar staff) and it'll be much better for it.

On 18th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Crewdson left this review about City Vaults

One of the best pubs in Bradford. Really good position for both railway stations and most bus routes. Serve beer from the local Salamander Brewery (Dudley Hill) along with other real ales, usually Black Sheep and Copper Dragon. EXCELLENT home made food. Live music on regularly. Fantastic interior. Get yer sen there!!

On 30th August 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about City Vaults

The City Vaults is in the middle of Bradford.
Once inside this pub there are lots of different drinking areas that are on different levels the bar is on the right as you go in here and i thought this was a fairly nice and comfortable pub.
I saw three real ales on the bar and i had a drink of Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and this was very nice the other beers were Black Sheep bitter and Tetley bitter.
The pub has still got its Mansfield signs outside.

On 19th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about City Vaults

Very nice multiple level bar in a narrow pedestrianised street. Had two Salamander ales on amongst the 5 or so hand pumps

On 29th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]