User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Castle, Bradford

20 Grattan Road
Bradford
BD1 2LU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Castle

I'm afraid today has to be written off as a bad night. This is number 3 on a list of pubs in a crawl from this site. There are two other punters. One of those is a bin man in his work clothes. He has just been headbutted by a foreigner (his words, not mine). To be fair, the pint of Cumberland was OK, but once the headbutted bin man had gone, I felt like I was sitting in someone's front room. I have been to many cities and taken part in random pub crawls but I dont think I have been as scared and disappointed as I have in Bradford.

On 20th March 2015 - rating: 1
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Castle

Edge of town, slightly down at heel boozer, probably quite grand at one time, now a beer haven drinking den.

There is an electric organ tucked away in one corner threatening light entertainment evenings around the wulitzer.

6 real ales, kept ok & a good choice.

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Castle

Oh dear, I must have caught the Castle on a really bad day. Firstly, it didn't open until 1½ hours after its advertised opening time; and secondly, the place was absolutely freezing inside. However, on the plus side, it is a fine-looking place and has a very friendly landlord. The interior has been partly opened out to form two 'L'-shaped rooms on either either side of bar which features a scattering of handpumps (not all in use) on various parts of the counter. In addition to the regular Cumberland, Empire Primal, Ringwood XXXX Porter (£3.00, and disappointing) and Broadoak KB cider were available. Overall, despite the issues, there is obviously enough here to make me want to re-visit next time I am in Bradford.

On 10th December 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Castle Hotel

Large imposing stone building with crenellations, it proudly proclaims its record of CAMRA awards for the last 10 years. A comfortable but unexciting interior, basically a L shaped counter in an uneven U shaped open plan room. There are screens and machines and yes there was racing on the TV. It's a nice friendly pub and the beers are well kept and a good mix of the ordinary from Marstons and the more unusual on the eight pulls, although only six were in use. I don't know why the pub's sign has the Allen coat of arms rather than a picture of some castle or other. It's probably as close to a don't miss as central Bradford is going to get.

On 8th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Castle Hotel

Good looking pub on the outskirts of the city centre. For some reason it always smells a bit musty in here. It's now an opened out one roomer, but with two distinct areas. The area on the left always seems to have a horse racing channel showing on the TV, usually with a couple of punters watching. Half a dozen handpumps on the bar serving Jennings Cumberland Ale and changing guests, although only 3 guests were available on my Friday late afternoon visit. It's a friendly pub and I could happily while away an hour or so here, but I was on a mission. So I just had one pint and moved on. This pub is listed in the GBG2012 and quite rightly so. I always call in here when I'm in Bradford.

On 7th July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Crewdson left this review about Castle Hotel

One of Bradford City Centre's best real ale pubs with regular ales served from the Old Spot Brewery (Cullingworth) and Cumberland Brewery. Usually also serve fresh bar snacks like sandwiches. Friendly landlord. Nice atmosphere. Give it a go!

On 7th July 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Castle Hotel

The Castle is a large looking stone built pub that is in Bradford city centre.
Once inside here there was one large room that was more like a lounge but this seemed a bit jaded.
There were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Old Spot Pale Ale and this was a very nice drink there was also Old Spot Mince Pie and Mansfield cask bitter.
The beer was nice here but i was'nt that struck on the pub.

On 19th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Castle Hotel

Regular beers from Fullers, Jennings and Mansfields plus guest beers.
Live music on Sundays.

On 28th December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Hall left this review about Castle Hotel

An excellent free house that focuses on quality (usually local) real ale.

There are also regular acoustic jam / folk sessions as well as beer festivals - details are on the web site (including current real ale list).

On 20th January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]