User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

Selden Arms, Worthing Central, Worthing

41 Lyndhurst Road
Worthing
BN11 2DB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


moby duck left this review about Selden Arms

A right proper boozer this one, It had a bit of a timeslip feel and appeared to be set somewhere in the 1970's but the beer choice was bang up to date with offerings from Burning Sky, Vibrant Forest,Pamona Island and Salopian along with a nod to tradition with some Harveys and Palmers.
Definitely a locals pub but very welcoming all the same. Top Notch.

On 3rd August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Selden Arms

A mainstay of Worthing’s beer scene for many years now, the Selden Arms is a classic free house on the fringes of the town centre, next to Worthing Hospital. It’s a simple, single room bar with a lopsided U-shaped layout which, judging by the two front doors, was previously a two bar set-up. The left hand side of the pub has padded banquettes and standard chairs under a high shelf crammed with old beer bottles. To the rear is a darts area with a couple of high tables and stools to one side and the board to the other. The pub seems to specialise in Belgian beer, so it’s no great surprise to find large collection of old Belgian beer bottles and crates dotted around the place as well as some canvases covered with beer bottle labels and framed collections of bottle caps lining the walls. There are also a few Belgian art prints on show, which give the place a nice retro, continental feel. The tongue and groove servery runs opposite the mid part of the front wall, where there is enough room to squeeze in a couple of small tables and stools before you reach the right hand side of the pub, which looked like a cosier spot, although it had been completely taken over by a bunch of folk musicians, making it tricky to have a proper look around. One feature that I couldn’t fail to notice though was the impressive collection of pump clips that covered the ceiling throughout the whole pub.
This was proof, should it be needed, of the pub’s commitment to real ale and the six hand pumps were offering a choice of Palmers 200, Great Heck Treasure IPA, Fallen Acorn IPA, Dorking Pilcrow Pale, Kissingate Powder Blue and Vibrant Forest Summerlands. The landlord seemed like a very friendly chap and he served me a very nice pint of the Treasure IPA which was a nice way to round out a great crawl around Worthing. There was a menu on my table running to countless pages, which listed all of the bottled Belgian beers available along with some helpful bits explaining the various styles and techniques common in Belgian brewing. There was a good crowd in and a lively atmosphere resulted, even though the musicians had hung up their instruments by the time I arrived.
This is a quality pub that will appeal to anyone looking for some interesting, well kept ales. The pub is very much in the traditional mould, offering a nice counterpoint to the town’s burgeoning micropub scene. I’m not sure why it took me so long to check this place out, as it is clearly up there with the best Worthing has to offer.

On 3rd July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Selden Arms

This is a proper decent pub, a sort of J-shaped carpeted room with regular style seating at mismatched chairs, a busy dartboard to the longer rear side, loads of stuff on the walls and shelves, photos, Bell's whisky "bells", gargoyle figures, cartwheel over the fireplace, the ceiling and upper walls are literally covered in beermats from those passing through. On the pumps were Flack Manor Black Jack and also Flack Catcher, Great Heck Chopper, Vibrant Forest Citra, Franklin's Resurrection, Fallen Acorn IPA Expedition, and South Down's Apple Cider. Friday night is curry night. Otherwise through the week there are hot proper pies at £4 and £6.50 with a pint. The prelims for the FA Cup final were on, but not noisily, I liked this pub, recommended to me during my excursion, certainly remains on the revisit list.

On 28th May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Selden Arms

A basic U-shaped boozer located opposite the gasometer. A bit worn round the edges and could do with a spruce-up here and there. Polished brass bar top with tongue-and-groove front fittings caught the eye, as did a number of black and white pictures of old Worthing and a dart board. Sports TV on quietly. Decent atmosphere inside. Four ales on, Kent Gold (a little lackadaisical), Oakleaf Whole Hearted, Palmers 200 and Downlands Pele (warm and flatlining). For a GBG pub on a (admittedly hot) Saturday afternoon I was pretty disappointed that I should have had one of the Meantime kegs for coolness. Perhaps I was unlucky?

On 20th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Selden Arms

The Selden Arms is a small U shaped boozer with an interesting premium draught range and I counted six hand pumps, four of which were drawing obscure (to me) ales. A television screen was showing muted horse racing and there is a dartboard around to the left of the bar. The seven or so regulars who were in attendance last Saturday afternoon were very friendly and the conversation created a good atmosphere.

This is certainly one of the better pubs I have been into in this area and I would have no hesitation in returning for a few beers.

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3458 recommendations about 3437 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Selden Arms

The Selden opens directly onto the street (no car park here). Going inside, you're straight into a U-shaped room, with the bar in the middle. 6 handpumps offer a good selection of (mainly) local micros. Draft taps include Guinness & Bitburger.

It's not a large place (tables and seats are rather squashed in) and, on occasion, the pub's popularity can exceed its capacity. The locals are friendly enough, though, so you should have a fine old time.

On 31st January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 267 recommendations about 258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Selden Arms

Very small pub that has got a very good range of changing real ales and I would imagine is one of the best in Worthing.A little bit of a walk from the railway station but well worth the effort.

On 4th February 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2038 recommendations about 2019 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Lethem left this review about Selden Arms

Samll back street pub opposite the gasometer and near the hospital. A proper pub with plenty of friendly banter over the bar. A good selection of real ales including Ringwood and Dark Star and changing microbrewery guests. Well worth visiting if in the area

On 26th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about Selden Arms

have been back a couple of times since we left the area, April 09 the last time and standards have been maintained. This is still probably the best pub in this area with probably the best range of real ales which are 'always' in tip-top condition - Don't miss it.

Great local boozer with a large regular clientèle. Dark Star Hophead and Ringwood Forty-Niner as regulars with 4 more pumps that rotate. has an annual beer festival with many great ales and a large range of bottled Belgium beers.
Well worth a visit, probably the best beer in Worthing.

On 14th April 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Selden Arms

Arundel Castle, Darkstar Hophead & Golden Gate, Ringwood Fortyniner, Hampshire Lionheart, Gadds Dogbolter (later Ringwood Porter). Small horseshoe bar faces entrance, carpetted surround, wood tables, cushioned stools chairs & barstools. Plasma to left of bar showing racing ystdy, with commentary, but unintrusive. Dartboard far end of left ‘spur', real fire to rt not lit, but must provide a warm welcome when required. Pub has a real local chatty feel, with punters evidently knowing each other & sharing a laugh with the guv behind bar. Various old photos to front of pub, the rear rt could do with a freshen up, some decorative hops looking a bit sorry for themselves. Two beers went during our brief visit but both were immediately changed, maintining six on offer. The only negative was an odd odour which one of the group described as 'wet-dog'; well, my dogs don't smell like that!

On 23rd November 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]