User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Eastgate, Chichester

4 The Hornet
Chichester
PO19 7JG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


STEVEN YARDLEY left this review about The Eastgate

A vibrant locals pub in The Hornet always very busy, the downside is lack of seating especially if they have some entertainment on but that's due to the pubs layout. When having a night out in Chichester I always pop in for a pint it's worth the ten minute walk from the main centre. The Eastgate is a Fuller's pub which is not my favourite so I cant comment on the beer but they offer a full selection of Fuller's ales on tap.

On 5th September 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Eastgate

A proper, unpretentious pub with beers from Fullers and a guest. The front room has bare boards, with a slightly more confortable tabled area further back and sofas in the middle. Not sure about the fairy lights on the ceiling though! Nice little patio at rear.

On 26th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2566 recommendations about 2511 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about The Eastgate

A Saturday morning of ticking the 4 pubs that appear in the 2017 GBG, started here at this nice old Fullers pub which sits at the end of the High street coming from the Cathedral.

5 ales on the hand pumps with 4 offerings from Fuller's and the guest which was Castle Rock's Preservation @ 4.4%. I went for the guest and it was a good beer to start the day with.

A pleasant pub with modern décor in the front bar and a tad older style towards the rear. The clientele were mainly made up of over 60 yr old gentleman.

We only stopped for a pint before moving on as time was going against us. A thoroughly decent pub with good attentive service.

On 6th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Eastgate

The Eastgate is a welcoming enough town pub with an open-plan bar, a wood-burning stove and an area for diners. The front wooden floored bar space is small but has a spacious feel with a large red-walled pillar separating the front from the back. Beyond this is the carpeted lounge with woodburner stove and sofa making a centrepiece. Then there is a heated patio garden to the rear, which will be the venue for a beer festival in July according to the advertising posters. Also looked like music is a feature at the weekends as there were posters detailing Karaoke on the first Saturday of each month and live bands at least once a month.
It is another former Gales pub that is now run by Fullers. Five ale pumps available with two beers from the Fullers name and two from the Gales name in addition to a guest ale and for my visit Seafarers, Pride and HSB and ESB plus a guest in the shape of Buttcombe Bitter, and the Seafarers and HSB we tried were decent enough.
Although we didn’t try it, from what we could see it offers a good-quality traditional home-cooked pub food menu and there were home made scotch eggs served from the bar.
I found this a pleasant enough pub, but if you had time to do only one of the two Fullers outlets in town my view would be to duck this one in favour of the more characterful Park Tavern. But again to prove that opinions on what makes a good pub are purely subjective, my wife thought that the Eastgate was the best pub we visited in Chichester, and I am sure the fact that the Eastgate is run by two landladies and provided, in her view, a high level of cleanliness and especially the ladies toilets, which she considered as some of the best she has ever visited in a British pub, was the major influence for this statement.

On 20th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1807 recommendations about 1745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Eastgate Inn

Nice pub, opened up with high ceilings and a patio garden.

Tidy and traditional in a kind of Georgian way.

Service is very slow, but friendly and the beer is worth the wait with well kept Fullers and a guest, Castle Rock Harvest Pale on my visit.

Nice.

On 23rd August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Eastgate

A Fullers pub with five pumps ; Seafarers, Pride, HSB and ESB from the Fullers range, with Burton Bridge Gold as a guest. The ESB was fair if unspectacular, whilst the Burton Bridge was, in my opinion, undrinkable. The loud and inappropriate music summed up a fairly dire experience. The bar is located to the bare-boarded front of the pub, which is also home to an attractive fireplace but is otherwise fairly charmless.

On the back of this visit, do the Park Tavern if you want a Fuller’s pub in Chichester.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4361 recommendations about 4347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Eastgate Inn

A really good, friendly pub with a good mix of locals: thoroughly enjoyed coming here by evening this weekend. A Fullers house with five real ales - Pride, Seafarers, ESB, HSB, and Holt IPA as guest when we visited. The bar is at the front, there is a second area behind doubling as a dance floor when they have a DJ on Saturday nights, a beer garden out the back, and behind that there seems to be an outhouse with a pool table in it.

This is a very welcoming place as well as a traditional local. Cracking barmaids as well.

On 22nd May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Eastgate Inn

Has been refurbished since my last visit but is generally much the same layout inside but with bare floor boards in the front half of the pub and carpet in the area beyond the bar. A sofa gas now appeared facing the wood burner. 5 ales on, 4 being Fullers including ex Gales (this used to be a Gales pub) along with one guest which was Arkells brewery James Real Ale. A pleasant crowd of locals in here lunchtime but never been in here of an evening.

On 27th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Eastgate Inn

Small one room pub with a cosier, carpeted rear area just a short stroll from the city centre. There's a wood burner for the current cold spell, a range of pub grub and a beer garden. Friendly barman.

Beers were Gails HSB and Seafarers, Fullers ESB and London Pride. The only ciders were Strongbow and Magners unfortunately.

On 1st April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1789 recommendations about 1713 pubs]