User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Wheatsheaf, Wolverhampton

Market Street
Wolverhampton
WV1 3AE
Phone: 01902593153

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Marston's town-centre boozer concentrating on real ale and TV sport, with a clientele almost 100% blokes as far as I could see (and it was crowded) late on a Saturday afternoon. Anyway, the 'L'-shaped bar area is a bit cramped along the frontage but there is more seating towards the back. The place has been refurbished recently, but the decor is still mostly Wolves-related. Music quite loud since the evening hadn't even started. Six different beers available from a total of ten handpumps, and my pint of Banks's Amber Bitter came in at a very reasonable £2.44.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

Located in a primarily retail based part of the city, just opposite the police station, this is a pretty good, down to earth boozer that is much bigger than initial impressions suggest. The front of the pub comprises a very narrow, snug-like space between the servery and front windows. A few locals were propping the bar up here and engaged in idle chat with the barmaids, with very limited padded bench seating, dated patterned wallpaper and Wolverhampton Wanderers flags and shirts on the ceiling rounding out the décor and furnishings. The room extends towards the rear, into a much comfier looking lounge where some nice fixed seating with plenty of cushions provided an appealing looking spot to relax, which I would have done had I not ended up chatting to one of the very amiable locals at the bar. A brief exploration behind the servery revealed a large games room to the far left with a pool table, basic banquette and standard chair seating and a few bits that suggested that food may normally be available in this room. In between this room and the lounge there is a covered courtyard which again looked appealing (or at least it would have if it weren't for the fact that it was blisteringly cold outside), with white walls making it a bright space to settle down on one of the chairs or benches provided. A bit of colour is provided by a large trellis and climbing plants. This is another pub that clearly states that only home fans can visit on match days, but I was able to gain entrance by covering up my colours and was soon engaged in a healthy post-match analysis with the locals.
This is a former Banks's house, now offering beers from the wider Marstons stable, although both Banks's Bitter and Sunbeam were available on this visit alongside Wychwood Dog's Bollocks and Ringwood XX Porter. I had a bit of trouble getting noticed by the bar staff, eventually enlisting the help of one of the regulars, but wound up with an excellent pint of Porter, so all was soon forgiven.
I was in two minds as to whether to include this place on my crawl, but I'm pleased that I did. It may be a bit rough around the edges compared to some of the city's more revered ale houses, but I found it the most welcoming pub of the day and enjoyed a quality pint to boot.

On 14th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

UPDATE: Time for a little re-review as a part of my Wolverhampton grand-tour. This place is a pub, eatery and hotel - rooms for £22 per night, and i had the fortune of meeting one guest. The building is in a Georgian style, predominantly in cream, with some rustication, pilasters and nice sash windows. The interior has three rooms and a covered courtyard. The main bar is at the front and is in white and wood, with a red floor. Behind, there is a lounge that is now the 'cafe' and another, L-shaped that is for the pub. This room is in white with a very worn carpet and seating. The covered courtyard has a pool table. There is a TV, showing general programmes and there was no music. The service was functional and the clientele, a mix of people shall we say. Beer; usual tap stuff with Banks's MILD (very good) and Bitter on handpull. This place really needs work, but it remains a place to pop into for a good MILD..... still wouldn't take Mrs Soup though.

***********************************************************************************
(Sep 2009) Traditional corner pub in the city centre. It has a small front snug with worn green leather seating round the outside. Three rooms at the back the left one and the right one are both lounges and the middle one is a covered courtyard leading to the toilets.

It can look a little scary in the bar, so we usually go in the lounge. The landlady is always friendly and down to earth

It is a nice stop for a consistantly great pint of Banks's MILD on handpull before we get the metro somewhere - last night being Bilston. It also has the Bitter and usual tosh, but this place never disappoints, its always worth a visit when with mates, perhaps not the kind of place i would take the wife though.

On 23rd June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

A little run down from its previous self, all a bit tired - needs a paint job & a bit of tlc, but still remains a classic pub.

The L-shaped lounge still has the (nonfunctional) press button service on the bencehes and a nice fire at one end

On 12th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

This is a fantastic Georgian style building which is also a good traditional Banks’s pub with a hallway leading to three small rooms. At the front of the building and immediately on the right of the entrance there is a traditional public bar with a counter across the back left of the room near to the door, it has green leather bench seats on the right with only a couple of tables, old photographs of Wolverhampton on the walls and etched windows. If you bypass the bar and follow the hallway then you will see the second room which is in the back left of the building, I would describe this as a sports room as it has a central pool table and a dart board on the left hand wall, there are red fabric bench seats around the perimeter of the room and a juke box on the right hand wall near the door, unfortunately the music in this room was extremely loud! Off the hallway in the back right of the building is a lounge with a serving hatch from the front public bar, a nice cast iron fire place with floral tiles in the back wall, an old TV in the front right corner opposite the door, purple fabric bench seats and several old photos of Wolverhampton on the walls and more etched windows. Between the two back rooms is a cobbled court yard which has been enclosed and fitted with a roof, this is where the pool table used to be. A short lunch time menu was posted on the wall of the lounge which was basic but reasonably priced.

Regular ales are Banks’s Mild and Bitter with no changing guest beers. For many years this place was considered to have one of the best pints of Banks’s in Wolverhampton and although the landlord has changed in the last 18 months I think the quality has been successfully maintained.

A great pub with genuine traditional character, a working mans kind of pub. I don’t know for certain but I would guess that the beer choice, interior layout and furnishings have remained virtually unchanged for many years, no gimmicks here. The music in the sports room was deafening but thankfully this did not have an impact on the other two rooms. I would gladly return for a drink.

On 29th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

This is a proper traditional workingman's boozer in the city centre. It has a small front snug with worn, but not tatty, green leather seating round the outside. Three rooms at the back the left one and the right one are both lounges and the middle one is a covered courtyard leading to the toilets. In the front snug there were a couple of flat caps in evidence and a couple of beanie hats as well. I'm 51 and the average age in the snug was reduced considerably when I walked in! There was a load of amusing banter going on between the barmaid and some of the regulars in one of the lounges. She seemed to have a nickname for each of them, most seemed to involve the word knob! There are 4 handpumps with Banks's Original and Bitter doubling up. The Original was in very good nick, one of the best pints of this beer I've had in ages and at £2.15 it was a bargain. They advertise that they do midweek lunches for 99p with a list on the wall including faggots and peas, sausage casserole and catch of the day and chips. It's not what you would call genteel and I wouldn't bring the other half in, but I'd be happy to call in again.

On 7th May 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3025 recommendations about 2940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

when you first walk into the pub it looks very small with a small cramped bar to the right as you walk through the entrance, but you will later find that the pub is massive with a very large room at the back with old style juke box on the wall with old music from the fiftys and sixtys, very nice beer and friendly people and atmosphere, very close to the city centre.

On 9th May 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Frosty Jack left this review about The Wheatsheaf Hotel

Lunchtime 23rd October 2007
This is an old fashioned pub, mostly unaffected by time. The only concession is to the smoking ban which has improved the place no end. It is ideal for the quick lunch-time drink when you fancy a packet of “scratchins” rather than pâté de foie gras. It is sad that the city is loosing these establishments.

On 2nd November 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 11 recommendations about 11 pubs]