User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Vine, Wolverhampton

35 Lichfield Road
Wednesfield
Postal town: Wolverhampton
WV11 1TN

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Vine Inn

Splendid, seemingly unspoiled, pub retaining its original public bar and smoke room (with front window glazing to match). Also has another lounge to the rear with the dartboard. All very traditional, but quite rightly popular with the aficionados. Ten handpumps on the main counter, with eight real ales and a cider available when I visited. The two Black Country Ales (BFG and Fireside) were outnumbered by three from Burton Bridge, but I opted for Sherwood from Lincoln Green (£3.10, and in fine form). Well worth seeking out.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Vine Inn

As noted at length below this is a classic inter-war pub which if it was in London would have been trashed years ago.
I came here on a Wednesday afternoon. As you enter there are doors on the left and right. I went for the left side which turned out to be carpeted and contained local older folk who all appeared to be discussing a starchy vegetable used in Afro-Caribbean cookery. It was good to see there were no bar stools obstructing the bar here.
My only reservation about the place was a TV showing horse racing (not too loud) and a poster advertising an Open Mic Night.
The bar has a hand pump for cider and nine for ales which had the three Black Country Regulars, Newark Five Point Five, Plain Ales Innocence, Derventio Gold & Lucretius Cherry Stout, Emal Castra and Quartz Blonde. I tried the Newark Five Point Five and the Derventio Lucretius Cherry Stout both of which were excellent at £3.10 with the Cherry Stout being particularly good.
While not as old as some of the area's classic boozers, to me this is one of them and easily the best BCA house visited so far. I loved it.

On 28th August 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Vine Inn

Have to agree with the Monster below, this pub definitely deserves a ten. The pub is truly unspoilt both inside and out. We called early doors, in the middle of the week. This gave us a good opportunity to sit at the bar counter and chat away to the friendly manager and to try all the ales. There were 9 ales on handpump. This pub is a true haven in Wednesfield.

On 5th November 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Vine Inn

Very basic place, its an old fashioned working class drinking hole, but an excellent version of one. Very Black Country, its neat and tidy and friendly. The Smoke Room has a small hatch servery, the main bar appears to be the main room. Nothing too exciting about the decor.

9 real ales and the beer was very well kept indeed, certainly better than some of the Black Country ales pubs I have been in. A bit too basic for me, but the beer makes up for it.

On 25th October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Vine Inn

This is a superb example of an unspoilt 1930’s pub which is grade II listed and owned by Black Country Traditional Inns. The exterior has unusual red brick mullioned windows and a nice detailed stone door frame. The interior has three rooms, a public bar on the left, a lounge on the right and a comfy snug at the back of the building. The public bar has a small bar counter on the right with a tiled fire place and cast grate opposite in the left hand wall, on the right hand wall between the door and the counter is a dart board with a large flat screen TV above, fitted wood settles, tiled floor and various brewery mirrors and memorabilia on the walls. The lounge or smoke room as the front window states has a small serving hatch from the public bar in the back left wall, a large stone fire place with stove in the right hand wall, fabric upholstered wood settles with original bell pushes fitted above the back rest, parquet wood floor and more brewery memorabilia on the walls. Both rooms have back doors that lead into a hallway with tiled floor and a piano in the left corner, off the hallway at the back of the building is the snug which has a second stone fire place with cast iron stove in the back wall, fabric bench seats and parquet floor also. There are two separate outside areas, one down the right hand side of the building and a tiny covered space at the back left corner.

Regular ales are Black Country Ales Fireside, Bradley’s Finest Golden and Pig on the Wall (Mild) with up to five changing guest beers which on this occasion were Morton Penkside Pale, Ludlow Boiling Well, Wincle Undertaker, Lentworth Lemonale and Wentworth Mild Chilli & Chocolate Stout (GBG 2012). I tried Fireside, Boiling Well and Undertaker and found them all in good condition.

A simply brilliant traditional working mans pub with tons of character. The pub won Wolverhampton CAMRA pub of the year in 2009 and is on the CAMRA National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors as it has changed very little since the late 1930’s. The building is easy to miss as it is set back from the road unlike the buildings on either side, the reason for this is that this pub was built behind an existing pub which was open while the new building was being worked on, when the new pub was ready the old building was demolished leaving a big gap. I totally agree with Soup Dragons comment about the pub looking “like it should be on a model railway”. I love this place and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good pint of ale in a genuine traditional environment.

On 20th October 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Vine Inn

A lovely little 1920/30s undressed brick building, with nice coloured glass windows set back slightly off the road, that looks a little like it should be on a model railway.

The interior has three rooms. On the left when entering there is the bar room. It, like the lounge is in white and a kind of wood colour walls, with white ceiling and lino floor. There is a TV, which had the footy on and a stone fireplace. There is a beer board in each room and no music. The lounge, to the right, is in the same decor, with a stone fireplace as well. It has so beer memorabilia on the walls and a wood floor. Food is served here and i have eaten here before and enjoyed it. There are bell-pushes on the seats. The last room is a games room accessed via a corridor, with a piano in it. There is a dart board and the darts team play in here! The service is very good and friendly, the place attracts a wider crowd than the other pubs in the village i feel, as it is the mecca here for real ale.

I have been a few times now and the beer choice is excellent. The three regular Black Country Ales on handpull; Pig on the Wall MILD, BFG and Firelighter. There are also 5 changing guests; (an old list)Rymney's Silver Drum, which was lovely, Wem's Golden Honey. which was ok, Salopian's Golden Thread, Moreton's Merry Mount, Worfield's Dabley Ale and the nicest, Goff's Galahad.

The place is CLASS

On 20th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Vine Inn

This pub was shut when I went to visit, despite the hours listed in the GBG. I will go back at some point & give it a chance, but just beware if you are early.

On 27th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Ince left this review about The Vine Inn

Under new management for 3 months, as at November 2008. The new landlord and lady, Carl & Trish, are doing a superb job. Ever changing variety of excellent real ales which are always well kept. Guiness and Carling too. Also serving fantastic pub food, good quality meals at good prices. You would have to go a long way to beat this place. The regulars, myself included, are a great bunch and offer a warm welcome to friends old and new. Definitely worth a visit. I love the place!

On 14th November 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ANDREW WELLS left this review about The Vine Inn

Good little pub in Wednesfield. Not very many of these public houses left with a warm atmosphere welcoming and friendly landlord. A pub that is really worth a visit with good range of top quality ales. Super little treasure in Wednesfield just 5-10 mins on the regular 559 bus route out of wolverhampton.

On 5th October 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about The Vine Inn

And I cannot agree more! Fantastic pub in every sense, great building, great landlord, great beer, what more do you want! Be sure you pay a visit and have a good look around it's a real gem and is getting better!

On 17th April 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]

Page: 1 2