User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Posada, Wolverhampton

Lichfield Street
Wolverhampton
WV1 1DG

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Posada

Another old favourite of mine but the beer choice seems to narrow each time I visit; EPA, Ossett Blonde or Wye Valley HPA which was good, cider on another, two reversed. They may have taken on board recent blogosphere muttering about quality not quantity, a sentiment I thoroughly agree with, but the smaller choice needs to be well thought out.
The bogs have been refurbished but the hand driers are the bloody mice farting ones.

On 9th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Posada

Architecturally stunning pub. Perfect example of a Victorian Boozer.

Less than impressed with a cloudy Hobsons though. And I was the only punter, with Cold Play on the PA.

I would give it the benefit of the doubt and come back if in the area.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2ur3X4D

On 30th June 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Posada

A nice looking exterior and a not too shabby interior. Multi-roomed with the servery at the front. 6 handpumps dispensed 5 not particularly inspiring beers and an ubiquitous Old Rosie cider. Its a nice enough place to go though it could do with a more inspiring beer selection. Then again it hopefully does have a better choice than today. Bobby 'dale could possibly differ.

On 7th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Posada

Narrow frontage, comprising a fine bow window with a door on each side (but note that the one on the right is not in use) and the original tiled name sign above. Compact, traditional bar featuring an impressive bar-back behind, with two small rooms further back and a patio beer garden to the rear. Homemade cobs £1.50. Marston's EPA, Hobson's Town Crier, Pig Iron Rugby World Cup EPA, Sharp's Atlantic and a cider available from the total of six handpumps on this visit (with 20p off if you have a Camra membership card with you). Nice little Punch Taverns pub, and a rare survivor of this type on a main road through a city centre, but always surprisingly empty.

On 11th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Posada

Aqualung has nailed it ,good exterior ,some pleasing interior features and three very boring ales .CW Youngs Bitter,Marstons EPA and Castle Rock Harvest Pale resulted in a very short stay,there were few other punters inside.Not sure why it's in the GBG,there's a lot better elsewhere in town.

On 7th July 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Posada

This is an old pub with many interesting features, but all this is wasted if the beer selection is boring and limited and it certainly was on my visit. There were just four beers on Hobson's Best Bitter, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Young's Bitter and Marston's EPA. There was one pump taken up with Old Rosie cider. I went for the Hobson's Best (£2.70) which was in good nick but is an undistinguished Boring Brown Beer. It didn't impress me either the fact that it was served in a Bombardier glass. It doesn't say much for the CAMRA credentials of the place that the chalked list of cask ales available includes bottles of the highly overrated Brewdog Punk IPA.
The place was quiet on my Saturday afternoon visit and yet the other four GBG listed pubs visited were all doing a brisk trade.
This one was a major disappointment for me, I can only assume that it is owned by one of the big pubcos who restrict the beer choice unless you grease their palms in a big way. To do this would mean charging a lot more per pint and in an area like the Black Country where you don't get ripped off right left and centre people would just go elsewhere. If it was a genuine free house it could be a classic.

On 15th June 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Posada

I too noticed the small enclosed booth, positioned just after the bar on the same side. After reading the reviews below and some comments on the loos, I can add to this and say the toilets have been refurbished. We were lucky to get seating at the front next to the window. There were five ales on and one cider, I went for the Lancaster Brewery Lancaster Blonde. I would call again if passing.

On 15th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Posada

A small tiled frontage with fancy leaded windows above leads into a tiled front bar with a nicely carved counter. The front bar is mainly for vertical drinking although there is battered bench seating round the window. Six handpumps on the bar give a choice of beers from local and regional brewers
all I tried in good condition – the pub is a GBG regular. A seventh pull dispenses a cider. Behind is a small sitting room with two screens, a repro fire, a sign says don't put anything on it as it is gas.
There is a small cosy booth to one side. There is also another sitting room right at back but as it was full with a gaggle of noisy women I didn't bother checking it. A discount is offered for Camra members.

On 8th October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Posada

Old pub with fine exterior. However it never feels comfortable to me, there's lots of tiling but for me it feels like you're drinking in a subway or even a toilet! Maybe I went through the wrong door! There are some nice features, just not a pub for me I'm afraid, despite the reputatuion for good real ale.

On 30th August 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Posada

Initial impressions are promising – an eye-catching façade, with Victorian tiling and a beautiful large curved stained glass window. The interior is also quite interesting (snug areas at rear, stripped wooden floor, nice bar area) but looks very tatty and smells quite badly of old fags and well, wee. Five ales on the go – my last visit found Brew Dog Trashy Blonde (which drank fine), GK Abbot, Enville Ale, GK OSH and Adnams Broadside. CAMRA discount of 20p per pint (and 10p per half!) was welcome. Apparently ‘Posada’ is Spanish for ‘inn’ - not sure why Wolverhampton gets a pub named in Spanish but there you go.

I think it promises more than it delivers overall – it needs a good dose of TLC to get it up there. It’s still well-worth a visit but I doubt most casual visitors would stay beyond a pint.

On 19th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]

Page: 1 2