User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Great Western, Wolverhampton

Sun Street
Wolverhampton
WV10 0DJ
Phone: 01902351090

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Great Western

A tremendous boozer with a strong rail theme throughout and seperate dining area at the back. One of the three real coal fires was lit on a chilly May lunchtime which made the Great Western even more welcoming. There's a friendly atmosphere in this traditional boozer and they're good at showcasing the best of the West Midlands in terms of beer and food.
Seven handpumps have Holdens Mild, Golden Glow, Black Country Bitter and Black Country Special Bitter on as well as Bathams in addition to 2 guests, Enville Ginger and Blindmans Route 66 on our visit. The Bathams was top quality and has been every time I've visited.
In addition to a more extensive menu, hot rolls, both beef and pork, are offered and are well worth trying as are the pork scratchings.
A top pub richly deserving it's GBG 2011 entry and worth a very long detour to visit.

On 1st June 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Great Western

Tucked away behind the train station but does not suffer from a lack of passing traffic because it sells so great ales - Holden's, Batham's and Pardoe's all in one pub. The room behind the bar area is surprisingly long and therefore the pub accommodates more people than you would think just by looking at it from the outside.

I was like a kid in a sweet shop. I had to put football issues to one side and concede that Wolverhampton has a fantastic real ale pub. GBG 2011 entry.

It was the end of a long crawl but my clumsy fingers managed to type the following list into my mobile phone: Stella; Murphy's; Holden's: Golden Glow, Bitter Special and Mild; Batham's Bitter; Old Swan Entire and Bumblehole, Hung Drawn and Quartered; Kinver Khyber; Thornbridge Jaipur and TT Landlord. OK, that's more than the 7 handpulls they have on - some were on, others were on the chalk board but I'd had rather a good day by that time so I can't now remember which. Note to self: you have a perfect excuse to go back and make some more notes.....

On 28th November 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Great Western

One of our favourite pubs, we often visit especially when staying in the Premier Inn at the other end of the adjacent old Wolverhampton Low Level station. Even on match days this pub is still a very friendly place. Holdens Mild has been on every time we have been in here along with the other Holdens ales and guest ales. Sandwiches are served in here till 10 pm. the hot pork ones are well worth trying.

On 15th October 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Great Western

A Holden’s traditional pub, open plan with three distinct areas, bar, long narrow lounge on the left and a small snug with a dart board on the right. They are served by three real coal fires and are gathered around a small central bar which faces the main entrance. To the rear of the pub there is a conservatory, which is mainly used for dining. Decorations include steam railway, vintage bus and Wolves FC memorabilia. Gets very busy when Wolves are playing at home.

Regular Ales are Holden’s Bitter, Mild, Golden Glow, Special, Bathams Bitter and two changing guest beers usually from small breweries in the West Midlands or neighbouring counties (GBG2010).

Fantastic Traditional pub, a must if you’re a real ale fan in Wolverhampton or just visiting. I love this place.

On 14th March 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Great Western

Absolutely outstanding traditional boozer ,quite difficult to find behind the station.However full range of Holden beers and the wonderful Bathams Bitter all on top form make this pub a pleasure to drink in.Very easy to get thoroughly pissed in such a friendly atmosphere,even the vicar shows up to keep an eye on his flock.There is also an everchanging list of guests beers many of which are from close to the West Midlands.If only more pubs were like this......

On 15th February 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Great Western

A solitary brick built pub, with some white render and rear beer patio, near the old Wolverhampton Lower Level Station (GWR station). It is approached along cobbled streets that remind one of the old 'Hovis' adverts, or the London of Sherlock Holmes. This place isnt a pub, its an experience.

The interior is all open plan, with three areas. The bar faces you entry through the main door and here is the first seatong area, in bar style. Go around the bar to the right and there is a small dart room, with fireplace. Go to the left and there is a long room, more lounge style, that ends in a conservatory, where music and dance floor can be found. The decor is white, with a plethora of mainly railway memorabilia. The service is generally very good, the clientele mixed to mature - certainly those that know, or like real ale.

Beer; tap stuff, with Murphys. Handpulls include; Holdens MILD, Bitter, Golden Glow and Special, Bathams Bitter, with a couple of guests; Enville Ale and Salopian Golden Thread. The Holdens MILD, Special, Enville and Bathams were on top form, i am reliably informed, so was the Salopian.

The best place in Wolverhampton (a notable mention to the Posada though). I felt like Charlie Bucket finding the golden ticket when i saw my favourite MILD and arguably my top three bitters (Butty Bach is up there) arranged neatly at the same bar. I would have eaten, but i had missed the serving times. Take the time and find it, if you get lost, ask a barrow-boy.

On 11th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Great Western

It's not that easy to find this pub now the railway bridge over Sun Street is closed. You need to go under the subway to the left of the station main entrance and then turn right at the end and then keep going, even though it looks like a dead end. Multi roomed pub with two real fires on the go. Holdens pub with Mild, Bitter, Special and Golden Glow on, plus two "guest ales" according to their chalkboard, Holdens Old Ale and Devil Dunn. Someone needs to explain the meaning of "guest" to these guys. Had a pint of the Golden Glow and Devil Dunn, both were well kept and tasty. Good,quick, friendly service with a smile. Sat in the main long room. All the walls are covered with railway memorabilia as you might expect from the pub name. Pretty good this place.

On 29th July 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2939 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Great Western

What a joy to visit an old style pub with a fine aray of REAL ALES. On my visit Holdens staring at £1-90 a pint for mild plus a number of guests (Skinner's Heligan Honey on my visit with a total of 7 beers on hand pull.
Great Western Railway and Wolves memorabilia cover all walls in the pub. Arestaurant is situated at the rear but not sure when this is open.
Fences off car park at the rear plus an outdoor drinking area.
This pub has won many awards over the years and is a must for anyone visiting the area and a good excuse too miss a train or two from the near by station.

On 2nd April 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Miranda Mulch left this review about The Great Western

Best pub in Wolverhampton. Draught Batham's and Holden's plus guest beers.

On 28th September 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Edge left this review about The Great Western

This is THE premier real ale pub in Wolverhampton!!! Check out the good pub guide, CAMRA members actually meet here.

On 22nd July 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 14 recommendations about 14 pubs]

Page: 1 2