User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Pretty Bricks (New Inn), Walsall Central, Walsall

5 John Street
Walsall
WS2 8AF
Phone: 01922612553

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Pretty Bricks (New Inn)

I had been looking forward to visiting this iconic pub since reading about it in Camra's book of Real Heritage Pubs of the Midlands, and Luton Town's game at the Bescot Stadium gave me the opportunity. It's a 19th century building that was remodelled in the 1920s, which was when the glazed tile front would have been added, and the interior has remained largely unchanged since. There are 10 hand pumps around the central servery, with two real ciders and eight real ales all listed on a blackboard for ease of reference. There's an enthusiasm for real ale which, as BF says below, deserves a longer visit than my pre-football schedule would allow.

Date of visit: 29th December 2018

On 16th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pretty Bricks (New Inn)

The bricks are very pretty ,this is a fabulous Black Country boozer down a road leading to a trading estate.There is a front saloon and back lounge with lots of original features from etched glass to wooden surrounds around the bar and mosaic flooring in the corridor which retains a serving hatch and some seating.The saloon is lively with lots of character and characters,while the rear lounge has a small fireplace and is a quiet spot for a few pints with its own servery from the island bar .The corridor to the loos gives access to a courtyard for exterior drinking.
Operated by Black Country Ales ,the board gives 8 ales options ,namely on my trip Black Country Bradley Finest Golden,Pig on the Wall and Fireside with guests Pheasantry Dancing Dragonfly,Little Eaton Mill Plum ,Fixed Wheel Mr 60%,Branscome Summa This and a very decent Salopian Fault Line (£2.80).In addition there were 2 real ciders.
This is a must visit when in Walsall,there is so much authentic charm it is worth spending a long time here.

On 26th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Pretty Bricks (New Inn)

Cosy, neat, traditional street local, real fire and some rather nice low back church benches with cushioned seats. Old Walsall pictures on the wall.

lovely unspoilt pub with good beer

On 24th October 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pretty Bricks (New Inn)

As you can see, I've scored this a well deserving ten. This was our first pub on our short visit around Walsall and what an excellent pub to start off in. Especially if you like a good traditional back street pub, as I do, with a warm and friendly atmosphere and a good choice of beers. There were the three regular ales from Black Country and seven guest. We went for the Mantle Rock Steady and Coastal Mosaic Gold, both were in excellent shape. Also tried was the Black Wolf Lomond Gold, also in great shape. Pork pies and cobs were a pound each and Thurs night was curry night.

On 17th August 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Pretty Bricks (New Inns)

This is an excellent traditional back street pub which was acquired by the Black Country Ales Brewery towards the end of 2011, officially the pub is licensed as The New Inns but it has always been known as the Pretty Bricks by the locals due to the glazed bricks across the lower half of the frontage, and this has now been painted on the front name board of the pub although the pub sign still says The New Inns. The interior has two relatively small rooms, a public bar across the front and a lounge across the back of the building, these are both served by a central island bar counter and accessed by a short corridor down the left hand side of the building which has an unused serving hatch from the front bar. The public bar has the counter with snob screen in the middle of the back wall with seating areas at either end and red fabric bench seating arranged in to booths opposite the counter, there is a lovely cast iron fire place in the right wall with an elaborate patterned surround, a small collection of Toby jugs on shelves in the back left corner and the front windows are nicely etched. The lounge has the counter in the middle of the front wall but this side is partially enclosed with glass at one end, there is a brick fire place with wood surround and mantle piece in the right wall, red fabric bench seating fixed to the walls and a patterned carpet. There is a small court yard to the back right of the building which has a couple of picnic style tables.

Regular ales are Black Country Ales Fireside, Bradley’s Finest Golden and Pig on the Wall (Mild) with six changing guest beers which on this occasion were Wood Farm Union, Wyre Piddle Summerfall, Wentworth South Island Pale Ale, Plain Ales Inspiration, Salopian Piccadillo and Goffs Merlin. I tried the Inspiration and the Merlin which were both well kept in my opinion. The real ale is £2.10 a pint Monday to Friday between 12 and 6pm.

A great traditional back street drinkers pub with a large and interesting selection of real ales on offer. Pork pies and cobs are often available from the bar and they have held a couple of good beer festivals in the past year with a stillage along the right wall of the public bar, unfortunately obscuring any view of the impressive fire place. Its a bit of a walk from the town centre and its on a quiet side street, but it is definitely worth the effort and there are a couple of decent pubs on this side of the town. This pub would be a superb addition to any pub crawl of Walsall Central, I shall look forward to another visit soon.

On 14th November 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Pretty Bricks(New Inns)

When I visited Walsall last year, I was disappointed to discover that this well regarded pub had closed, so it was something of a relief to arrive in town twelve months later and find the place open and seemingly on top form. A ten minute or so walk from the train station or town centre, the pub gives a good first impression with its handsomely tiled facade, from which it takes its new name. The entrance leads you into a corridor from which you can turn right into the saloon bar or carry on to the lounge bar at the rear of the pub. The saloon bar is a pleasant space, with a nice carpeted floor and some U-shaped banquettes with a mixture of low stools and standard chairs creating comfortable seating options. There is some pleasing etched glass in the front windows as well as in a dividing screen at the bar counter. A recently lit fireplace on the far wall had a large mirror hung above it and there were a lot of posters for the Black Country Ales Brewery who have been instrumental in getting the pub re-opened by incorporating it into their chain. There are also some photos of the pub in its previous incarnation and a tap and spile display keeps alive the memory of the pub's former name.
The lounge bar looks like a narrower room with mainly bench style seating. It's wallpapered and has a part tiled floor, which you can follow in the direction of the paved garden. Music was playing when I arrive shortly after opening, but this was soon replaced with radio commentary from the West Midlands cup fixture between Birmingham and Wolves.
Eight hand pumps were dispensing Black Country Ales BFG, Pig on the Wall and Fireside, Purple Moose Glaslyn Ale (£2.80), Goffs Tournament, TSA Silver Mist, Sadler’s Red House Mild and Dancing Duck Dark Drake. I had a pint of the Glaslyn Ale which was in great shape and served up by a friendly barmaid.
I thought this was an excellent pub and, like Soupy, I could happily have spent the rest of my day here. If the beer quality and choice is always this good, then they should be a dead cert for inclusion in the next GBG and I would suggest that no serious crawl of Walsall would be complete without a visit here.

On 25th January 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Pretty Bricks(New Inns)

Time for a re-review after this pub has re-opened as a part of the Black Country Ales chain. The pub is called the New Inns, apart from a brief spell when it was known as the Tap & Spile (see Andy Ven's photo of the pub lantern, which i think was originally put up in 1950). The Pretty Bricks is a nickname based on the brown and cream ceramic tiled exterior. The rest of this detached pub is now in cream render, with some blue paintwork and etched windows. The pub is mid-Victorian and was a GBG regular. There is a rear patio area.

The interior - the layout of the pub is of course still the same - two rooms either side of a central wooden serving bar, with coloured glass. They are accessed by a corridor in cream patterned wallpaper and red walls. The front room is the bar room. It is in a mix of red and a salmony colour, with white ceiling and a patterned carpet. There is a stone fireplace at the end and some pew seating. BCA posters and a few old photos grace the walls, with a bookcase/dresser which displays ephemera in the corner as you enter. The lounge is in Cream patterned paper and red walls, again with a white ceiling and red patterned carpet. There is another stone fireplace, with a stove in it. The seats are red. There was no TV that i saw and the background music was general and very subdued. They do food in the day and cobs and things while they last! The service is friendly and the place was rammed out with a slightly more mature crowd.

Beer; usual tap stuff with 8 real ales on handpull. These inclue the three BCA regulars; Fireside (which was very good), Pig on the Wall MILD (about to go on) and BFG. The guests that i managed to note were Piddle's Yogi Beer, MHB Nightingale, Pot Belly Yellow Belly and Aisling and Falstaff Little Voice.

Back to class. Back to being a must do. I could sit in here all day. If this pub closes again, close Walsall.

On 3rd December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mikee Evans left this review about Pretty Bricks(New Inns)

Now back open and under the Black Country Ales group. About 8 real ales on. Roaring fire, and very welcoming. Nice to see this place open again

On 6th November 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 18 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Pretty Bricks(New Inns)

The pub has been taken over by the ex-gaffer of the Royal Exchange in Bloxwich. The number of real ales - including Highgate MILD had increased to the six or so that it used to have. There is now a TV in the bar. Service remains good - indeed, had a good chat to the gaffer. Back to being a must do place in Walsall.

On 25th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Pretty Bricks

The pub has returned to its original name, The New Inns. It is affectionally know as the Pretty Bricks, though it has never had that name officially, so the gaffer told me.

The exterior to this small detached pub has a top half of white render and a lower half of brown ceramic tile. It looks fantastic. There is a beer patio.

The interior has two rooms, either side of a central bar. The decor is a mix of wood panel, wallpaper and red walls. There are lots of old pictures and prints, some nice tiled fireplaces and a mix of pew seating in the bar and red leather in the lounge. Very traditional. The sevive is very good, clientele small that i have seen - most of the young 'uns go to the British Oak near next door. The also do food.

Beer; tap stuff, with Enville Ale (class), Theakston's Bitter and Abbot Ale on handpull. The place used to serve twice as many, but not since it re-opened.

A super little place - it would be great to see it expand again - though three pumps is really enough

On 13th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2