User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

St Matthews Hall (Lloyds No 1), Walsall Central, Walsall

Old Court House, Lichfield Street
Walsall
WS1 1SX
Phone: 01922700820

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about St Matthews Hall (Lloyds No 1)

Nice building and always busy. There was a choice of 4 ales on but 3 of them were porter's / stout's. The other was a fairly awful "fruity" beer, the name of which I seem to have blocked from my memory! Having said that I always call in when I am in the area.

On 5th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about St Matthews Hall (Lloyds No 1)

Fairly average sort of Wetherspoon's in an historic building. Beer seemed in good condition though.

On 24th March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about St Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No 1)

This Lloyds No 1 (or is it now a regular 'spoons?) is housed in a very grand old building (at least at the front but perhaps not the conservatory extension at the back...), being an old courthouse (and originally a Victorian subscription library). The interior, however, is a bit of a disappointment with little character left. Features quite a lot of patio tables out in the square (although hardly the weather for that when I visited). Reasonable selection of real ales from two banks of five handpumps, including two from Sadler's (from which I went for the Peaky Blinders black IPA).

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

This was a fleeting visit, after being spoilt for choice in the Fountain and Pretty Bricks. There were two banks of five handpumps, with four pumps out of action and some usual Green King suspects. So the only real choice left was to go for the Inveralmond Lea Fail, which was decent enough. The pub was quite busy on our Thurs eve visit, with the majority of customers calling for a bite to eat, so the overall aroma of saturated fat took over the place.

On 18th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

What looks like a very small Wethers on entering is actually not so. Depending on which entrance you use you will find the bar to your, right if you use the side entrance or ahead of you if you use the front. Its basically a 3 area pub with a conservatory, a room to the side of the bar and the main area where the servery is. Not the best selection of real ales on this visit but its a nice enough Wethers.

On 25th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

This is set in a grand listed building as can be seen from the pictures. There is little external signage possibly because of the listed building status.
Inside it's smaller than you would think from the exterior and has a generally more modern look. The bar is on the right as you enter up the steps and there is a conservatory and patio at the rear. The fixtures and fittings are a bit more varied than the norm and better quality. It is a Lloyds so probably turns into a nightmare late on Friday and Saturday night, although the only evidence of it being one on my Saturday morning visit was the fact that the menus were in Landscape format rather than the usual Portrait.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which on my visit had the two GK beers doubled up, Doom Bore, Everard's Nutcracker, AJ's Stuck Blonde, a cider, Salopian Lemon Dream and Backyard Bad Santa. I went for the Backyard Bad Santa at £2.70 which sounds expensive but is a 6.8% beer.
I liked this Spoons especially considering it's a Lloyds.

On 23rd December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

Called in for a quick one yesterday before going into Walsall beer festival. Their beer festival had recently started so we had an American ale plus Elgoods and Robinsons beers. They also had the Lancaster one plus usual Wetherspoon beers, so not a bad selection. Service was ok when we were there. Different levels split it a bit so it did not look like a big barn of a place.

On 6th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bing Crossfire left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

Left before being served after a ridiculously long wait. Staff should also be aware of who needs serving next, not just flounce in and say "Who's next?". There's too much emphasis on tea and coffee in this "pub". Really wanted to enjoy myself here, but how can you?

On 16th August 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about St. Matthews Hall (Lloyd's No. 1)

A detached Wetherspoons Lloyds Bar with a rear patio area. The building is rather incongruous, being a neo-classical styled Doric columned temple in Walsall! The building was formerly Martha's Vinyard. In previous incarnations it was a courthouse and originally the first library in Walsall.

The interior is an open plan straight room, with a side area, a conservatory down a few steps and the serving bar to the left on entry. The decor is a complete mix including; terquoise, wood panel and exposed brick in the main room and dark green, red and wood floor in the side area. It is of course laid out for food and the food is of general Spoons standard. There are histoical information boards and famous Walsall people info panels, as well as some old pennies hanging from the ceiling and old books as a homage to the building's past. There is no TV and there was no music. The service is better than most Spoons and the clintele more mature than the Spoons norm.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Abbott, Ruddles, Hobgoblin, Butcombe Bitter, Exmoor Stallion and Cotleigh Sea Hawk on handpull. The quality was the usual up and down. I have visited on three occasions and have had a couple of decent pints, a couple of mediocre and couple of flatter pints.

It currently looks more decent and cleaner than other Spoons and there seems to be more and friendlier staff, as well as a nicer clientele. The food and beer seems to be of similar quality.

On 10th August 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mikee Evans left this review about Martha's Vineyard

Re-opening on July 22nd as a Wetherspoons Lloyds No 1 bar

On 7th July 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 18 pubs]