User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Kings Arms, Sutton Coldfield Central, Sutton Coldfield

Coleshill Road
Sutton Coldfield
B75 7AA
Phone: 01213554192

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Kings Arms

Substantial 1930s corner pub with a central bar area and near-separate side rooms (one with the pool table and the other trying to be more of a lounge, although the false bookcase and wine-crate wallpaper fail to impress). Apart from that, formulaic furniture and decor in the central area and a few patio tables outside. Two of four handpumps in operation on this visit, offering Wainwright and Bombardier (£3.30).

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Kings Arms

Thought it was time for a new review.

I have now eaten many a meal here and the portions are immense! The food is unpretentious, but, as I said, plentiful and delicious.

The real ale is always in good condition, but usually not an imaginative choice - Young's and Deuchars for example. The Theakston's Traditional Mild is my drink of choice in here. Its very tasty. They also have Theakston's Dark Smooth on.

The atmosphere in the pub is always friendly and welcoming and the clientele are also friendly and mixed, ranging from young to old.

I have taken several people to the King's Arms and they have all liked it and complimented its food and ambiance. Even the unpubby Mrs Staal is happy to visit it.

This is a pub I would return to again and again. I have only one complaint - it needs to be a mile and half nearer to my house!

Still highly recommended

On 18th June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Kings Arms

This is a Thirties(ish) estate pub with one large room. It looks like there were originally two rooms, but if it was, one wall has been removed to create the L shaped room that curves around the bar.

The shorter leg of the L has comfy seats and tables and seems more 'foody'. The same can be said of the end of the longer leg of the L. The area in front of the bar has more usual seats and tables.

The decor is, more or less, as described by the Soup Dragon in his review of 15 August. I actually quite liked the decor. But then that's my taste!

There was the usual suspects when it comes to beer. They had a Theakston's Dark Smooth on. Real Ale wise, they had on Theakston's Mild, Wells Bombardier and a Caledonian Chocolate beer of which I can't remember the name!

We had a pint each of the Chocolate beer and the barmaid told us it was the end of the barrel. We got half way down our pints and decided it was off. I told the barmaid and asked for the Real Mild, expecting to pay for it as we'd got a fair way down our pints. But she insisted that she simply exchange the beer and apologised for the off beer. This was excellent customer service.

###Addendum 18/7/11### I have returned to this pub a number of times since my first review. The service from all the bar staff is consistently excellent. The food is also delicious. I recommend a bowl of sweet potato fries with your beer. Delicious!

I looked at the menu and, although I didn't eat, the selection of food looked good. The stuff others were eating looked very tasty.

The place was very busy, although it was Friday, and the customer base was mixed.

I liked it in here and will return.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Robert Ellett-Metcalfe left this review about The Kings Arms

The NEW Kings Arms, re-launched this summer and has surprised the whole town of Sutton Coldfield with its smart stylish decor and exceptional service, led by two guys who are dedicated to their roles. Food here has been sampled and is of a generous quantity by portion and comes with a home-cooked feel. It was also nice to see some genuine imported beers, not just products produced under licence...
Weve been back many times, it just gets busier, packed with locals all of a decent standing. This bar now sells Hobgoblin real ale, and I have been told there is more to come.
Well done Kings!

On 19th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Kings Arms

A detached 1930s looking undressed and part white painted brick pub/eatery, with balcony and a patio area.

The interior is an open plan room forming a rough U-shape around the serving bar. Whilst there are three separated areas, they are all pretty much the same. The decor is a mix of plain green, or patterned green wallpaper, with grey upper wall and white wood panel lower wall. There is a white ceiling and wood floor throughout. There is a mix of sofas and tables and chairs - with lots of cushions and bright covers for the seats. Candles are on the tables, so the place does a small menu (i didn't see Swahili food, as per previous comment). There are lamps, little statues, chandeliers, arty pictures, bits of brown wallpaper - framed like a picture, some goldy painted furniture - the kind of place that you will love, or chuck-up over. I don't like it, but many will and there was a nice little tiled fireplace in the one 'area'. There is a TV in the main area, showing something or other, the background music is general and at a decent level, the service was friendly and the mixed clientele all sitting outside!

Beer; all tap stuff, with a decent enough Theakston's MILD and Dark Smooth. No real ale.

The fact that you wash your hands in 'Midnight Shimmer Hand Potion' kind of sums it up. I am so pleased i went and i will love to read other comments, as opinion will likely be divided on the decor.

On 15th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


al rogols left this review about The Kings Arms

now serving authentic Swahili delicious cousine and bbq game menu available by pre-bookings. great food

On 26th May 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]