User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Fantasy Premier League 2023/2024 Season with PaulOfHorsham on the Pub Forum

The Starving Rascal, Stourbridge

1 Brettell Lane
Amblecote
Postal town: Stourbridge
DY8 4BN
Phone: 07843670163

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Starving Rascal

A random joker as it wasn’t on the list but on walking past I spotted the Black Country Ales livery. A classic BCA place inside with their usual decor. Buzzy atmosphere. Of unusual note is the brick vaulted room in the cellar. Usual gamble with the over-extended beer range, my Titanic Iceberg was a bit pump tired but fine for a swift chug (NBSS 2.5). Apparently named after its resident ghost.

On 20th January 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5185 recommendations about 5168 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Peculiar left this review about The Starving Rascal

Decided to pop in as they had the pub of the year award. Tried two different beers, both were fairly warm and were flat before I'd got half way down them. Not impressed!

On 4th May 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 97 recommendations about 92 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Starving Rascal

My first visit (albeit Covid rules) since the takeover. As I passed through the bar I saw about 6 or 7 beers on but my eye was drawn to Blue Monkey Infinity which was excellent. I will call again when restrictions are lifted.

On 6th May 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Starving Rascal

The Rascal has been taken on by Black Country Ales. They are hoping to be open before Christmas.

On 18th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Starving Rascal

Another good pub in this area. Always a choice of beers on including Enville and one from Salopian. The Enville was excellent. Well worth a visit.

On 24th December 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Starving Rascal

My best ale of the day was served here. Holden's Golden Glow was superb. Very quiet when we called today and has recently been refurbished. Different rooms with a pool table in one of them. Said to be haunted. There is a function room in the cellar.

On 25th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Starving Rascal

A decent haunted house this one and well worth a visit. I do like a good corner pub and this one ticked all the boxes. It was good to see that they always have three local ales on, which were two Enville and a Salopian, their two guest were Hobson's Twisted Spire and one from Tring Brewery. They also had a cider on handpump. A very pleasant and helpful manageress.

On 24th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3384 recommendations about 3383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Starving Rascal

Rather eclectic surroundings but a comfortable place to sample a good selection of beers (and whiskies)

On 28th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Starving Rascal

This is a plain, detached, slightly Georgian looking irregular shaped corner building. It is in white, with red around the windows, which are large multi-paned sash windows. There is a modestly decorated doorway. The interior had three rooms, but now all are technically open plan and served by a central serving bar. To the left on entry is a small pool area, in green, white and fake beam walls. The area to the left is the bar, being in the same decor, with a patterned carpet and a small grate fire. There was a TV here with sport on. The back area is more of a lounge. This room is in white and red, with patterned carpet and has a small fireplace, a bottle collection, beer mat collection, toby jugs and a few brasses for interest. There are a few prints on the walls and some weird dried flower arrangement hanging from the ceiling. The music was general and at a decent level. The service was great and a few locals were in. Beer; usual tap stuff with Castle Rock HPA, Enville White and Ale, Holden's Golden Glow and another pull that was in the process of being changed. A great pub, and one that advertises it was voted 'the most improved pub by CAMRA in their area last year. Definitely worth a visit, especially with good neighbouring pubs.

On 22nd May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Starving Rascal

Pub was formerly called the Dudley Arms - as can be seen in the first picture of the double-sided sign. It tells the story of a beggar who froze to death after being refused board & lodging for the night. His ghost returned to haunt the pub - and enjoy a pint!

On 21st April 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]